obsession with "most expensive"
essyk wrote:mkonomtupu wrote:Gosh, kumbe i belong to the lower class i do not own a home i rent on the outskirts of nairobi i like the ambience and my rent is 15k yet my dividends from KCB can pay rent for whole year with cash to spare some of us are a God forsaken lot. We don't even qualify to be referred to as classy. Ruggedy it is. @Sikujali, Your last paragraph is harsh. If you compare your life with others, 2 things will happen. 1.Feel superior 2.Feel inferior Then one comes up with false judgements. Whether we like it or not, there are people who will choose to spend on anything because it's their money. You cannot for instance stop the likes of Abramovich from building yachts like game. They got the cash and a whole Industry to cater for such people only! not everybody. Woe unto you if you try to do the same with your meagre income. My advice? stick to your league and never try to be what you are not. And you shall live happily thereafter. ...ha ha sufferer wa mungu,we are just surviving. possunt quia posse videntur
poundfoolish wrote:jaggernaut wrote:@elder those are just my thoughts. I could be wrong. I think basically anyone who can afford not to live in the slums but on the hand can't afford to live in Muthaiga, Runda etc is middle class. Walalalalala..... from previous definitions, i didnt even need to read twice.. nimejiona pap!! kanyumba kakurent, outskirts za Jiji.... JALOPY! ....Jalopy? woishe my humble KA* is indeed a Jalopy im a spit away from category:poor? Yaani umaskini iko hapa na hapa na mimi..doesnt take much: just a single glance & i fall into category poor? lets do this... lets create a special class and lump the Ndegwas & Kenyattas there.. then we split Upperclass into upper and lower.. move current uppermid to upper class & create new group describing lower upper.. kisha everybody else remaining moves a step up.. Hivyo hata mimi nihepe 'one glance behind to poverty'. Maskini add them more groups eg Hohehahe, hobelahobela...chakari i know its late, but if we pass my motion above into bill; nobody will lynch us... Hehehe eti 'lower upperclass'? You are either upperclass or not. You either own the industry etc or are an employee of the industry. Just the way a tenant cannot be upgraded and called a 'minilandlord' or 'lower landlord' just because he pays 250k rent pm.
poundfoolish wrote:jaggernaut wrote:@elder those are just my thoughts. I could be wrong. I think basically anyone who can afford not to live in the slums but on the hand can't afford to live in Muthaiga, Runda etc is middle class. Walalalalala..... from previous definitions, i didnt even need to read twice.. nimejiona pap!! kanyumba kakurent, outskirts za Jiji.... JALOPY! ....Jalopy? woishe my humble KA* is indeed a Jalopy im a spit away from category:poor? Yaani umaskini iko hapa na hapa na mimi..doesnt take much: just a single glance & i fall into category poor? lets do this... lets create a special class and lump the Ndegwas & Kenyattas there.. then we split Upperclass into upper and lower.. move current uppermid to upper class & create new group describing lower upper.. kisha everybody else remaining moves a step up.. Hivyo hata mimi nihepe 'one glance behind to poverty'. Maskini add them more groups eg Hohehahe, hobelahobela...chakari i know its late, but if we pass my motion above into bill; nobody will lynch us... ...i vote aye lol  possunt quia posse videntur
essyk wrote:hehehehe. I use Forward Travellers  na kuna watu wanadrive, who keep borrowing me money for fuel!! nkt.  na mwi sacco!
wanyee wrote:As for some of the stratification criteria am seeing here....it just smacks bits of ignorance and a minimalist view of how one may perceive wealth versus being rich. So how will you classify a person living in donholm and owns 200 acres of wheat and barley farm in Uasin Ngishu (eldoret) with a combine harvester and a pickup but drives a toyota saloon when in Nairobi ? or one living in Ngumba and has 1000 plus heard of livestock in Marsabit but commutes to work. plus many other ordinary examples in places in and outside of Nairobi.
What is strikingly peculiar though is that Kenyan habit having of trying to put someone in a box and labeling it( albeit wrongly most of the time) oooh he lives in runda he is rich oooh he drives a jalopy he is poor ..and so much more none sense like the way some ass kiss whites thinking they are superior or something like that. That is peculiarly Kenyan and something that be taken advantage for to good use by clever chaps. So just get on with life and let people spend their monies.
 Using spending habits as the only yardstick is very misleading!!
Rank: Veteran Joined: 2/2/2012 Posts: 1,134 Location: Nairobi
jaggernaut wrote:poundfoolish wrote:jaggernaut wrote:@elder those are just my thoughts. I could be wrong. I think basically anyone who can afford not to live in the slums but on the hand can't afford to live in Muthaiga, Runda etc is middle class. Walalalalala..... from previous definitions, i didnt even need to read twice.. nimejiona pap!! kanyumba kakurent, outskirts za Jiji.... JALOPY! ....Jalopy? woishe my humble KA* is indeed a Jalopy im a spit away from category:poor? Yaani umaskini iko hapa na hapa na mimi..doesnt take much: just a single glance & i fall into category poor? lets do this... lets create a special class and lump the Ndegwas & Kenyattas there.. then we split Upperclass into upper and lower.. move current uppermid to upper class & create new group describing lower upper.. kisha everybody else remaining moves a step up.. Hivyo hata mimi nihepe 'one glance behind to poverty'. Maskini add them more groups eg Hohehahe, hobelahobela...chakari i know its late, but if we pass my motion above into bill; nobody will lynch us... Hehehe eti 'lower upperclass'? You are either upperclass or not. You either own the industry etc or are an employee of the industry. Just the way a tenant cannot be upgraded and called a 'minilandlord' or 'lower landlord' just because he pays 250k rent pm. Actually, one can be a sub-landlord; if one leases 5,000 sq-feet of office space, then sub-divided it into 50 100-sq-ft units and sub-lets them. And don't say that sub-letting is not allowed. It all depends on the wording of the lease agreement.... it'sthe sort of thing Nakumatt did at the Lifestyle centre in CBD - the landlord is NSSF, Nakumatt is the head tenant and all the others a sub-tenants of Nakumatt; Therefore Nakumatt is a SUB-LANDLORD!!
Rank: Veteran Joined: 2/3/2010 Posts: 1,797 Location: Kenya
maka wrote:poundfoolish wrote:jaggernaut wrote:@elder those are just my thoughts. I could be wrong. I think basically anyone who can afford not to live in the slums but on the hand can't afford to live in Muthaiga, Runda etc is middle class. Walalalalala..... from previous definitions, i didnt even need to read twice.. nimejiona pap!! kanyumba kakurent, outskirts za Jiji.... JALOPY! ....Jalopy? woishe my humble KA* is indeed a Jalopy im a spit away from category:poor? Yaani umaskini iko hapa na hapa na mimi..doesnt take much: just a single glance & i fall into category poor? lets do this... lets create a special class and lump the Ndegwas & Kenyattas there.. then we split Upperclass into upper and lower.. move current uppermid to upper class & create new group describing lower upper.. kisha everybody else remaining moves a step up.. Hivyo hata mimi nihepe 'one glance behind to poverty'. Maskini add them more groups eg Hohehahe, hobelahobela...chakari i know its late, but if we pass my motion above into bill; nobody will lynch us... ...i vote aye lol  thirded! I may be wrong..but then I could be right
digitek1 wrote:maka wrote:poundfoolish wrote:jaggernaut wrote:@elder those are just my thoughts. I could be wrong. I think basically anyone who can afford not to live in the slums but on the hand can't afford to live in Muthaiga, Runda etc is middle class. Walalalalala..... from previous definitions, i didnt even need to read twice.. nimejiona pap!! kanyumba kakurent, outskirts za Jiji.... JALOPY! ....Jalopy? woishe my humble KA* is indeed a Jalopy im a spit away from category:poor? Yaani umaskini iko hapa na hapa na mimi..doesnt take much: just a single glance & i fall into category poor? lets do this... lets create a special class and lump the Ndegwas & Kenyattas there.. then we split Upperclass into upper and lower.. move current uppermid to upper class & create new group describing lower upper.. kisha everybody else remaining moves a step up.. Hivyo hata mimi nihepe 'one glance behind to poverty'. Maskini add them more groups eg Hohehahe, hobelahobela...chakari i know its late, but if we pass my motion above into bill; nobody will lynch us... ...i vote aye lol  thirded! ...the Aye,s have it @poundfoolish where do guys who have a car year of manufacture 94 and makes so much noise when you are on a rough road,you,d think you are on a wheelbarrow,the AC has to be on to prevent overheating somehow,the car just nywesed kidogo it would be having a carburettor,insurance kama kawa ni 3rd party...hii nitakuwa class gani? possunt quia posse videntur
Quote:Given the American definition, one needs to get the wage distribution data. From the Kenya National Bureau of Statistics, then mathematically the middle class can be defined as anyone earning between Kshs 8,000 ($100) and Kshs 25,000 ($314) dollars per month. This translates to an earnings range of Kshs 96,000 ($1,200) and Kshs 300,000($3,750) per annum. http://futurecapitalkeny...ho-are-middle-class.html"Never regret, if its good, its wonderful. If its bad, its experience."
Rank: Veteran Joined: 2/2/2012 Posts: 1,134 Location: Nairobi
All in all; I think that anyone who would buy the more expensive item simply because it is more expensive is plain stupid!
But having said that; people who are not spending their own money easily fall into that trap. So you find them picking a sh100k computer for the office while a sh50k one would have been adequate. They do that because the budget allowed for sh100k for the computer.
However, the same person will bargain vehemently when buying his/her personal computer from his/her own pocket... unless, of course he/she is plain stupid!
obsession with "most expensive"