wazua Sat, May 16, 2026

11 Pages«<23456>»
obsession with "most expensive"
#31 Posted : Monday, October 08, 2012 12:54:08 PM

I think we are starting to generalise too much
There is nothing wrong in loving quality cz we all do.

Problem comes in when ones'lifestyle starts affecting the people around them in a negative way.
When one becomes a burden,through constant borrowing to finance their insane lifestyle.
Always in debt that when people see you approach, they take off.
But if you can afford? hey go for the best money can buy.It's your money not mine.

At times it's not so much the price but the service!
I can buy a bunch of sewage sukumawikis at sh5 then end up spending sh 5000 to treat my diarrhoea.
But common sense commands me to go for normal sukuma at say sh10 then save myself future headache.

Thing is can I afford the 10/=? If not then I will not buy the sewage sukuma! I d rather eat coriander(dhania) with Ugali.Laughing out loudly .

...true it all boils down to financial prudence,be smart with your money and never ever live a financial lie...i might love and want to drive a 5m plus high end car but If am not able too i,d be better off sticking with my small toyota,if someone else can well and good,i shouldnt go out and financially strain myslef to get what is out of my reach...
sitaki.kujulikana
#32 Posted : Monday, October 08, 2012 12:58:57 PM

Define the kenyan middle class.

if your daily expenditure is between US$4 and $20, wewe uko ndani ya kenyan middle class club.
#33 Posted : Monday, October 08, 2012 1:00:48 PM

roflol.
Kenyan middle class make the loudest noise like people on this thread.Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
They complain too much because they cannot afford the lifestyle of their upper class counterparts.

Give us a range of classes in kenya and everyone shall know where they belong.
MKWASI
#34 Posted : Monday, October 08, 2012 1:01:03 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
the middle class in kenya is obsessed with expensive products and services.

from - hospitals (child birth), car servicing (the monroes and robs), education (the academies), shopping (the nakumatts).

all these are way too expensive and the odd thing is that, there are relatively cheaper alternatives.
these guys know this and price their products / services very high and are making a killing.

Perhaps it would be better to advice them on where to go for relatively cheaper alternatives. Thinking a loud too, life is all about being happy. If they can afford, then let them be - after all life is about choices.
#35 Posted : Monday, October 08, 2012 2:17:28 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

from - hospitals (child birth) What is exactly wrong in wanting to have the best medical care if you can afford it? And with a medical cover it is affordable for most people with stable income. , car servicing (the monroes and robs - If these (monroes and robs) provide specific solutions for Kenyan problems (roads) and are value for money then it would be pretty stupid for one who can afford it not to go for it. And it sounds wise for one to take his/her car for service to a mechanic/company that is competent and has good referral than to risk it on a cheaper alternative after sinking hundreds of thousands into buying a car), education (the academies) - When I was growing up I never did academies and stuff and turned out ok. However now things are very competitive and if you don't give your kids a good education then pray that you only give birth to geniuses. And good eduction will never be cheap. , shopping (the nakumatts) - first time I come across this gem that Nakumatt is expensive and shopping there is a sign of obsession with expensive products and services.

all these are way too expensive and the odd thing is that, there are relatively cheaper alternatives. According to you what are the relatively cheaper alternatives to the services you have detailed above?
these guys know this and price their products / services very high and are making a killing.

I would understand if you accused people for paying over the odds but as I have tried to show above i) expensive is relative and ii) expensive does not necessarily mean lack of value for money.
BGL
#36 Posted : Monday, October 08, 2012 2:22:13 PM

When 'we' talk of middle class whom are we referring to.
History will not remember you for your IQ. It will remember you for what you did. “Genius is 1 percent inspiration, 99 percent perspiration.” Thomas Edison
MKWASI
#37 Posted : Monday, October 08, 2012 2:26:05 PM

mkeiyd wrote:
I love this obsession, it's entertaining and it really tells you how stupid, that class of people is . There are threads here on wazua that will cement this position.Look at the ones talking about hospitals n schools.
It is reflected on our roads, dudes make some money, buy a ride and they want to be and be treated like gods. They obey no traffic rules [mostly coz they are ignorant], they drive with their full lights on even on the well lit roads.
It's good having them when you are not on the receiving end otherwise i wish thunder strike on them.
But the best part has to be with the iphone/samsung/bb craze. Why would one have an iphone, a bb, one of the tabs and still be contemplating buying S lll?
I guess i'll never know.
With the touch screen phones, those things have turned people into idiots,robots, brainless bunch of flesh. What's the point of just scrolling thru' phone book,photos,apps etc for minutes just to be seen holding one?
I see it every single day in queues,the activity is pronounced where an appealing member of the opposite sex is in the vicinity.
Once people have seen, then what? That is self-torture.They should know we still have Carlos Slim, Gates,Oracle of Omaha etc, out there, and the sun keeps rising and setting.
If only people could buy what they need and not what they'll be seen to have.
This bunch of people hardly pays back debts,won't pay, can't pay.
Anyway, back to my slow day.

I hear you my mblo...
#38 Posted : Monday, October 08, 2012 2:42:29 PM

roflol.
Kenyan middle class make the loudest noise like people on this thread.Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
They complain too much because they cannot afford the lifestyle of their upper class counterparts.

Give us a range of classes in kenya and everyone shall know where they belong.

Ok, let me try:

1. Upper class - Land barons, Business owners, industrialists etc e.g Kenyattas, Mois, Delameres, Chandarias, Kibakis, Michukis, Ndegwas etc live in own homes in Muthaiga, Karen, Runda, lavington in stand alone homes. Are employers. Do not need to work to survive. Buy top of range cars eg mercs, rangerovers, toyota VXs etc from show rooms. Kids attend international schools locally or abroad.

2. Middle class - are people who need to have a job and earn a salary to survive. Can be categorised into 3 broad groups

2(a). Upper middle class - CEOs, top managers, top civil servants, parastatal chiefs etc. Live in company houses or own homes in runda, Muthaiga, lavington, Ridgeways etc. Most own homes or pay rent 150-250k. They do not live in apartments but rather stand alone homes. Biggest buyers of homes going for 30-40m in Karen etc. Also includes expatriates in top NGOs eg UN. Earn over 500k net pm. Most have graduate degrees plus MBAs. Some buy new cars but most buy top of range Mitumbas eg. used range rovers, mercs, VXs, Prados etc. Kids in top local private schools.

2 (b) Mid middle class - most middle level managers, most professionals eg doctors, accountants, engineers, IT, lecturers, lawyers etc. They earn below 300k net pm. Live in apartments (their own or rented) in Westlands,lavington, kileleshwa etc. since they cannot afford stand alone homes in those areas. Some own homes in areas such as South C, B, Syokimau, Buru, langata etc. Can afford homes worth upto 20m. Most pay rents of 40-100k pm. Most have undergraduate degrees. Drive 'newer' used mitumbas e.g. prados, Rav 4s, premios, Mark X, subarus etc depending on income. Kids in 'mid-cost' private schools. Very showy class that apes and pretends to be upper middle class.

2 (c) Lower middle class - ordinary professional employees who carry out day to day activities in companies, organisations, institutions eg. ordinary civil servants, junior bank employees/tellers, teachers. Many do not own homes and can only rent. Majority live in rented houses in eastlands, Rongai, Kitengela etc. Most earn below 150k and pay rents of 20-50k. May have Bachelors degrees, diplomas. Some drive old mitumbas. Kids may attend low cost private schools.

3. Lower class: have blue collar jobs e.g drivers, production line employees, junior clerks etc. Most live in eastlands, Kangemi, Kawangware, kayole etc or even in slums. Most earn below 50k net. Pay rents below 15k. They do not have degrees. Most do not drive. Kids in public schools.

4. Underclass - don't have formal employment eg mjengo guys, makangas, househelps, petty traders etc. Earn less than 20k pm. Most live in the slums and pay rents of 1-8k. Kids in public schools.

mkonomtupu
#39 Posted : Monday, October 08, 2012 2:55:24 PM

Gosh, kumbe i belong to the lower class i do not own a home i rent on the outskirts of nairobi i like the ambience and my rent is 15k yet my dividends from KCB can pay rent for whole year with cash to spare
sitaki.kujulikana
#40 Posted : Monday, October 08, 2012 2:58:27 PM

Elder wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

from - hospitals (child birth) What is exactly wrong in wanting to have the best medical care if you can afford it? And with a medical cover it is affordable for most people with stable income. , car servicing (the monroes and robs - If these (monroes and robs) provide specific solutions for Kenyan problems (roads) and are value for money then it would be pretty stupid for one who can afford it not to go for it. And it sounds wise for one to take his/her car for service to a mechanic/company that is competent and has good referral than to risk it on a cheaper alternative after sinking hundreds of thousands into buying a car), education (the academies) - When I was growing up I never did academies and stuff and turned out ok. However now things are very competitive and if you don't give your kids a good education then pray that you only give birth to geniuses. And good eduction will never be cheap. , shopping (the nakumatts) - first time I come across this gem that Nakumatt is expensive and shopping there is a sign of obsession with expensive products and services.

all these are way too expensive and the odd thing is that, there are relatively cheaper alternatives. According to you what are the relatively cheaper alternatives to the services you have detailed above?

I would understand if you accused people for paying over the odds but as I have tried to show above i) expensive is relative and ii) expensive does not necessarily mean lack of value for money.

sorry, if I struck a wrong nerve, you are very right in your observations, if you can afford it go for the most expensive. after all you will get the best medical care, your car will be the most stable and will get the best service, your kids will turn out best and your shopping will always be without a hitch.
11 Pages«<23456>»