wazua Sat, May 16, 2026

11 Pages<12345>»
obsession with "most expensive"
#21 Posted : Monday, October 08, 2012 10:36:15 AM

One colleague who is looking into some business told me that she was told by a mzungu enterprenuer who has been in the country that "Kenyans do not make quality, but they love quality. If you bring in quality, they will buy at whatever the cost". Well, some guys have known this and sometimes they will bring in "not so quality" and sell it at "high quality" prices. No wonder MJ said we have peculiar (consumption? spending?) habits.
#22 Posted : Monday, October 08, 2012 10:45:01 AM

@ Sitaki.kujulikana.....Like someone said in a different topic if you can afford it then go for it, If you prefer those "cheaper alternatives" well good for you. Kila nyani na starehe zake! People have different priorities in life.
#23 Posted : Monday, October 08, 2012 10:58:53 AM

@ Sitaki.kujulikana.....Like someone said in a different topic if you can afford it then go for it, If you prefer those "cheaper alternatives" well good for you. Kila nyani na starehe zake! People have different priorities in life.

hapo sawa, mie sioni chida!!!!
#24 Posted : Monday, October 08, 2012 11:19:35 AM

Elder wrote:

In Kenya if you have yourself access to the internet and can post on Wazua you tend to call yourself middle class. Just peruse the posts here and see how people call themselves that, especially when comparing themselves to the 'non-middle class Kenyans' who are being 'lied' to by the politicians.

Eish!LOL
Eti now having access to internet makes one a middle class?
Ngai! Vanity!

mkeiyd
#25 Posted : Monday, October 08, 2012 11:22:20 AM

I love this obsession, it's entertaining and it really tells you how stupid, that class of people is . There are threads here on wazua that will cement this position.Look at the ones talking about hospitals n schools.
It is reflected on our roads, dudes make some money, buy a ride and they want to be and be treated like gods. They obey no traffic rules [mostly coz they are ignorant], they drive with their full lights on even on the well lit roads.
It's good having them when you are not on the receiving end otherwise i wish thunder strike on them.
But the best part has to be with the iphone/samsung/bb craze. Why would one have an iphone, a bb, one of the tabs and still be contemplating buying S lll?
I guess i'll never know.
With the touch screen phones, those things have turned people into idiots,robots, brainless bunch of flesh. What's the point of just scrolling thru' phone book,photos,apps etc for minutes just to be seen holding one?
I see it every single day in queues,the activity is pronounced where an appealing member of the opposite sex is in the vicinity.
Once people have seen, then what? That is self-torture.They should know we still have Carlos Slim, Gates,Oracle of Omaha etc, out there, and the sun keeps rising and setting.
If only people could buy what they need and not what they'll be seen to have.
This bunch of people hardly pays back debts,won't pay, can't pay.
Anyway, back to my slow day.
#26 Posted : Monday, October 08, 2012 11:33:26 AM

I learnt sometime back that we are all the same.

Irrespective of what we have, what we've achieved or whom we think we are. If I have spare change and like something thats abit over priced, I'll go for it, but that would not mean that I'm better or worse than anyone else.

sitaki.kujulikana
#27 Posted : Monday, October 08, 2012 11:40:42 AM

its just a discussion, I wasstarting not that am aganist anyone's choice.just that I find it odd that an individual can choose a more expensive choice while there is a cheaper alternative.

the other day I was waiting for a mat, and the first one that came along was charging 70 bob, then another one came and I think they wanted to fill up fast and the conductor charged 60 bob, and funny enough guys were still streaming to the more expensive one - despite the two mats being roughly the same.
#28 Posted : Monday, October 08, 2012 11:46:55 AM

well in kenya the middle class are defined by where they reside,wear,eat and what they drive.Laughing out loudly
so a dude moves from mukuru kwa reuben to a karen sq and automatically calls himself middleclass while he struggles to adopt the karen way of life.

That's why image matters here, not normalcy.

.......Carries packed lunch and parks his/her mitumba vehicle next to Hilton or the Stanley, and when they receive a call on their not so smartphones at lunch hour they will gladly say "I'm taking lunch at The Stanley Hotel"smile
#29 Posted : Monday, October 08, 2012 11:48:54 AM

I think we are starting to generalise too much
There is nothing wrong in loving quality cz we all do.

Problem comes in when ones'lifestyle starts affecting the people around them in a negative way.
When one becomes a burden,through constant borrowing to finance their insane lifestyle.
Always in debt that when people see you approach, they take off.
But if you can afford? hey go for the best money can buy.It's your money not mine.

At times it's not so much the price but the service!
I can buy a bunch of sewage sukumawikis at sh5 then end up spending sh 5000 to treat my diarrhoea.
But common sense commands me to go for normal sukuma at say sh10 then save myself future headache.

Thing is can I afford the 10/=? If not then I will not buy the sewage sukuma! I d rather eat coriander(dhania) with Ugali.Laughing out loudly .

#30 Posted : Monday, October 08, 2012 12:41:57 PM

Define the kenyan middle class.
11 Pages<12345>»