3 Pages<123
#peremende movement
#41 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2012 1:46:35 PM

Kudos @YesuWangu

Let's get to the issues.

They've gone all gang ho on twitter thinking that we are stupid and have never dealt with "Kenyan doctors" before.

The problem is the whole medical system that we know needs change.

But right now, all they want is their pay increased.

I'm willing to bet and put my reputation on the line right here on Wazua.

If these doctors get a pay rise as they are demanding, they will not, and I repeat this,

they will not demand gloves be in the hospitals.

They will go back to work on Monday and pretend that nothing has happened.

They will not investigate malpractices amongst themselves.

They will not demand screened blood before they use it on a patient

They will not demand better facilities at KNH

They will not reduce the cost of medical care to the poor.

They will not be on time on their next surgery

They will not change a single IOTA.

All that will change is that they will get higher pay.

So let us be honest with ourselves. Its for the money the rest is politics.

@Alma.. so what issues above changed after your lunch???? You think they would not report back to work on Monday if they got the hike today?????Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar I could bet you a probox....
MKWASI
#42 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2012 1:58:04 PM

After seeing my posts here, a doc friend called me for lunch.

He gave me a very long lecture.

I've changed my mind. Let the docs go on strike. In fact, I will picket for them.

I only have one condition. Let it be possible for a commoner like me to sue a doctor. On that I'm not budging.

Tukale peremende.

If I were the doc I would also have carried a cane. Just in case I needed it during my long lecturesmile smile smile
jamplu
#43 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2012 2:06:29 PM

I've changed my mind. Let the docs go on strike. In fact, I will picket for them.

I only have one condition. Let it be possible for a commoner like me to sue a doctor. On that I'm not budging.

Tukale peremende.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly What changed?
#44 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2012 2:17:45 PM

kamundu wrote:
Sorting out this mess was easy. Just absorb the registrars into GOK then BOND them

I think am getting confused here. Wasn't the strike originally supposed to be in solidarity with the privately sponsored Registrars who wanted some 92k pm from GoK? And now it has morphed to higher pay for all doctors?
#45 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2012 2:19:14 PM

jamplu wrote:

Tukale peremende.

Yes, tell us... What changed?
#46 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2012 2:22:46 PM

Oh have seen the doctors demands. Doctors pay is not one of them.

http://www.nation.co.ke/...6/-/wk4joj/-/index.html

What Doctors are pushing for:

1. Implementation of the Musyimi taskforce report on improvement of infrastructure.
2. Medical Services ministry to explain whereabouts of Sh200 million post-graduate fees released by Treasury for their training.
3. Reinstatement of 393 striking trainee doctors who were suspended for demanding payment of a Sh92,000 monthly stipend at KNH and Mathare Hospitals.
#47 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2012 2:36:48 PM

jamplu wrote:

Tukale peremende.

First the lunch was not ugali. This is important as I prefer very sweet things like chocolates when I eat. So I found out he had learned the art of softening the target after dealing with Anyang Nyongo

My beef has been that I thought the money was the main issue. Then he started crying like a baby telling me the 1k he borrowed from me last year, which he hasn't paid,was for fueling his bijuti for a month.

I had to remind him that since he'd bought lunch the debt was offset.

Then he started talking about his life as a medic.

Let me assure you, the reason why grown men don't cry is because we are very pathetic creatures when we do. He told his story and started crying. He looked pathetic and I had to hold his hand. Even though I wasn't vying for a seat in Kiambu, I just had to hold this sorry ass's hand.

Then I started crying too when he showed me the pics of some of the babies he'd treated. Now we were two pathetic old men drinking chocolate crying and it wasn't funny.

In short, if a grown man like him can cry, then things are elephant in these hospitals.

We should be very very worried.

There is a sense in the young docs to do something about healthcare not only their salaries. The old mzees used to their old system are against this strike.

Let's give these young ones a chance to speak their minds. I heard what I needed to hear and support them.

Only on condition they treat the very sick even as they strike. Then also allow me to sue them when they mess up.

Kenyans, shit is happening in these hospitals and we should be very very worried.
#48 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2012 2:41:30 PM

I dont think the strike is justified and here are my reasons based on their grievances:

http://www.nation.co.ke/...6/-/wk4joj/-/index.html

What Doctors are pushing for:

1. Implementation of the Musyimi taskforce report on improvement of infrastructure. Infrastructure can not be improved by calling for a strike. It takes resources and time, it's a long term goal. Even the Akiwumi, Kreigler etc reports were not implemented in one day
2. Medical Services ministry to explain whereabouts of Sh200 million post-graduate fees released by Treasury for their training. Valid question but govt can only pay for students they have sponsored, and not privately sponsored ones, whether doctors, engineers, teachers etc. Its only the GoK sponsored students who should be asking that question, or potential students.
3. Reinstatement of 393 striking trainee doctors who were suspended for demanding payment of a Sh92,000 monthly stipend at KNH and Mathare Hospitals. How can a trainee privately sponsored student go on strike eti because he wants to be paid? The student should be requesting for scholarships from available donors, including GoK, for the studies, not demanding, striking and throwing tantrums

#49 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2012 3:13:41 PM

Doctors are not on strike for pay.

http://www.nation.co.ke/...98/-/bxvsk4/-/index.html
jamplu
#50 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2012 3:20:58 PM

jamplu wrote:

Tukale peremende.

First the lunch was not ugali. This is important as I prefer very sweet things like chocolates when I eat. So I found out he had learned the art of softening the target after dealing with Anyang Nyongo

My beef has been that I thought the money was the main issue. Then he started crying like a baby telling me the 1k he borrowed from me last year, which he hasn't paid,was for fueling his bijuti for a month.

I had to remind him that since he'd bought lunch the debt was offset.

Then he started talking about his life as a medic.

Let me assure you, the reason why grown men don't cry is because we are very pathetic creatures when we do. He told his story and started crying. He looked pathetic and I had to hold his hand. Even though I wasn't vying for a seat in Kiambu, I just had to hold this sorry ass's hand.

Then I started crying too when he showed me the pics of some of the babies he'd treated. Now we were two pathetic old men drinking chocolate crying and it wasn't funny.

In short, if a grown man like him can cry, then things are elephant in these hospitals.

We should be very very worried.

There is a sense in the young docs to do something about healthcare not only their salaries. The old mzees used to their old system are against this strike.

Let's give these young ones a chance to speak their minds. I heard what I needed to hear and support them.

Only on condition they treat the very sick even as they strike. Then also allow me to sue them when they mess up.

Kenyans, shit is happening in these hospitals and we should be very very worried.

@alma let me not talk about the chocolate and the two old men sobbing publicly smile ....but at least you now have an idea how bad things are.
sitaki.kujulikana
#51 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2012 4:08:33 PM

He looked pathetic and I had to hold his hand. Even though I wasn't vying for a seat in Kiambu,

#52 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2012 4:21:48 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

He looked pathetic and I had to hold his hand. Even though I wasn't vying for a seat in Kiambu,

Eish..!!! You started with those 'Zingers' Obama is accused of not using last debate..

but Alma... You like chocolates, and cried.. yet you keep referring to 'holding hands though not vying for Kiambu'???? hapo kuna kitu haiongezekani..
Mkimwa
#53 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2012 7:24:17 PM

The public health care is in a bad mess. Its very rotten.

Just have a look at the striking doctors. They are very very young, most of them less than 5 years in practice. Most are in their 30's. That the young people of this country are not taking the crap thrown at them, and are fighting for a change is very commendable. Whether how they are doing it is the best way, is open to debate.

You have a choice, work within the system, and be part of it, or demand for the change you want. The doctors have made theirs - will you?

Kenya needs radical measures for things to reform. I believe this is just one of them in the health care sector. We need the same in other sectors.

My only condition is - when they agree to go back to work, the govt should not pay their salaries for the time they have not been working. No work, No pay. Its time someone learns that striking does have consequences on their pockets as well.
#54 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2012 10:09:31 PM

It's over, for now...
IS THIS THE SIGNED AGREEMENT TO END THE STRIKE
n brief.....moms to absorb the registrars, psc to write a letter for reinstating Dr. Onyimbo Kerama, DJGP not possible esp due to doctors in Job group P where do they Go? CBA to be concluded in 30 days, drs due for promotion to be Promoted in october, HSC to go thru cabinet in 14 days
rock
#55 Posted : Friday, October 05, 2012 9:36:38 AM

Phewks!!Another reason i'm glad the strike is over is they'll be back to work and busy coz those medics can really go on and on about aspirin. *yawn*
rock
#56 Posted : Friday, October 05, 2012 8:55:59 PM

@MKWASI, wasn't Mutulu also very arrogant to the teachers, their strike has since ended, there is more than meets the eye here, the painful/avoidable deaths aint necessary, they must stop......the onus is on the Govt (Nyongo is part of it) and the doctors to stop this shyt!!!

I am with you kabisa on this one..nyongo has apologised to kenyans for the strike..have you ever been a supervisor/top management in an institution and you're the spokesperson with your hands tied behind your back?! Those offensive remarks are made by someone being defensive (cornered) and am sure most of us can relate to that.
#57 Posted : Friday, October 05, 2012 11:00:56 PM

Deleted