wazua Mon, Feb 3, 2025

What is a fake phone??
#1 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2012 5:16:20 AM

Kuuliza si ujinga kwa hivyo msinichekelee. When you buy a SAMSNUNG is it not an original SAMSNUNG?? It is not a fake SAMSUNG. Ubaya uko wapi? If the quality is bad then the consumer will just have a bad product that fails to meet his expectations but he already has discounted that by the price he paid in the first place so where is the problem?

Someone please educate me on the disadvantages of so called fake phones? I can understand disadvantages of fake batteries when they kill the local industry but what is in it for us to require Kenyans to buy expensive foreign made phones when there are cheap foreign made phones out there that work just as well? What does the Kenyan government owe Samsung or Apple??
Spend.thrift
#2 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2012 7:27:48 AM

Kuuliza si ujinga kwa hivyo msinichekelee. When you buy a SAMSNUNG is it not an original SAMSNUNG?? It is not a fake SAMSUNG. Ubaya uko wapi? If the quality is bad then the consumer will just have a bad product that fails to meet his expectations but he already has discounted that by the price he paid in the first place so where is the problem?

Someone please educate me on the disadvantages of so called fake phones? I can understand disadvantages of fake batteries when they kill the local industry but what is in it for us to require Kenyans to buy expensive foreign made phones when there are cheap foreign made phones out there that work just as well? What does the Kenyan government owe Samsung or Apple??

Why do Kenyans ALWAYS read conspiracy into every move? Anyway it is good you said you need some education.

Every genuine mobile phone has a serial number to register it to a carrier network like Safaricom, Yu et.c. This number is called the International Mobile Equipment Identity (IMEI) number. The IMEI number can be used to verify the legitimacy of a phone.

Often counterfeit models won’t have an IMEI number or use a fake one because they imitate already researched, tested and marketed brand names like NOKIA and Samsung. Counterfeiters don’t have to invest in product research, design and safety testing . Counterfeit phones are made from cheap substandard components allowing them to be produced at a fraction of the price of genuine handsets. For this reason they will not be assigned an IMEI number and therefore may copy another existing or previous IMEI number or not have one at all. They are also likely to interfere with carrier's network efficiency.

Imagine 4 phones with the same IMEI number, Can the service provider identify a user, say in case of crime?

If you want affordable phone, you don't have to buy expensive. You can still buy affordable but genuine phones like Techno, Dorado, Bird e.t.c.

However, a relevant question is whether a genuine phone with an unregistered module is better than a counterfeit phone with a registered SIM. You know the answer.
sitaki.kujulikana
#3 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2012 7:35:21 AM

The IMEI number is used by a GSM network to identify valid devices, lakini they still can be changed on a phone, so you can't use that to determine if a phone is fake.

a fake phone is what the operator decides to switch off
#4 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2012 7:43:52 AM

@kusadikika i agree with you,why cant they tell the people producing the knock offs to weka an IMEI no. thats recognisable?is it China,s fault that they can produce cheap handsets with cheap labour?This is the same scenario like when Obama ran to WTO crying that China is making cheap cars and parts...I Know of a contractor who has 2 chinese double cabin pickups and they are working fine and the cost is more than half of this famous common brands...maybe when it comes to security there is an issue but not that they arent working properly.
#5 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2012 7:52:41 AM

Strangely the fake phones that i know have bee switched of are mostly of the popular brands sasasana the Nokia mulika mwizi that most wananchi buy. How a wananchi is expected to know that a Nokia is fake?
#6 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2012 8:31:13 AM

I think there is enough fodder for a huge class action suit! I have asked the following:
- who stands to gain from all this?
- the patent for the cell phone expired in 1989, who says that I cannot/should not use a derivative of Openmoko and call it KIGOGO?
- the GSM chipset determines the IMEI, who says i cannot buy the same chipset from huawei and put it in my KIGOGO phone
#7 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2012 10:57:43 AM

I think there is enough fodder for a huge class action suit! I have asked the following:
- who stands to gain from all this? Good question. Though interestingly Kenyans shall in the long term be the major beneficiaries if this is sustained lawfully and transparently. No chance of that though
- the patent for the cell phone expired in 1989, who says that I cannot/should not use a derivative of Openmoko and call it KIGOGO? There are several patents still live in respect of mobile phones. But that is not relevant, it is more about trade marks and the devices needing to be type approved by CCK before they can be used in Kenya otherwise it would be illegal to sell, own or use them.
- the GSM chipset determines the IMEI, who says i cannot buy the same chipset from huawei and put it in my KIGOGO phone. I agree with you though it might end up being in contravention of some provision somewhere in the Communication Act

conos
#8 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2012 1:49:17 PM

d'oh! d'oh! a fake 4ne is one that keeps reminding u that u have insufficient bla bla..... even when ur credit balance is three figure d'oh!
ukiona choo kwa ndoto usiingie, ni mtego!