wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

6 Pages«<3456>
Aga Khan Hospital Maternity Services
#81 Posted : Wednesday, October 03, 2012 10:54:57 AM

willin2learn wrote:
Aga khan is fine but no need to go with your Doc. unless there is foreseen complications. Wife was admitted there 2 weeks ago with a private doc. One night she was in pain and the nurses tried to call her Doc. from 2.a.m in vain. The call finally went through at 7.a.m in the morning while the doc. himself showed up at 11. Thank God all went well.

From that experience and a previous one in the same hospital, use their doctors.

True kabisa They always ask 'Huyu ni wetu?' when one goes into labour.
Alert your private doc hours before check in, because he will leave/give instructions to the nurses should anything go wrong while he's on duty elsewhere.
Nurses have this 'we can't touch her,ako na na doc wake'ATT.

And the private doctor will still demand his 80k after the patient has undergone such 'mistreatment'? I thought at 80k he should be on your side round the clock until the baby is born. Why pay so much for a doctor who won't be there during the critical moment, your fate being in the hands of reluctant nurses? The worst part is that the nurses and resident docs will not touch you despite you lying there in pain in the best hospital.
#82 Posted : Wednesday, October 03, 2012 11:18:01 AM

And the private doctor will still demand his 80k after the patient has undergone such 'mistreatment'? I thought at 80k he should be on your side round the clock until the baby is born. Why pay so much for a doctor who won't be there during the critical moment, your fate being in the hands of reluctant nurses? The worst part is that the nurses and resident docs will not touch you despite you lying there in pain in the best hospital.

You aint his only private patient you know.
He's got a couple in Karen,Nbo and some in Kenyatta begging his attention.
What I have seen them do is check u up,leave you under the nurses care.If he doesn't do that ,then you are on your own.The nurses will do as instructed.
Woe unto you if he's caught up in traffic or he has another emergency around the same time.
I wonder how they manage.
#83 Posted : Wednesday, October 03, 2012 11:41:20 AM

These anesthetists are the most expensive.

...in India they earn as little as 500 rupees per procedure,thats as little as 9sok
#84 Posted : Wednesday, October 03, 2012 11:52:04 AM

Yet it's the second highest paying job in US, after Surgeons.(google)

But it's probably cz 5 out of every 10 medics there are anesthesists.Saturated.

#85 Posted : Wednesday, October 03, 2012 8:30:38 PM

@Mukiha wrote;

@murenj; our gynae confirmed what you say. He told us that 95% of pregnant women can deliver their own babies without any assistance from anybody! That's how God made it.
Only 5% get complications....90% of which can be sorted out by a mid-wife. He said he makes his money from the remaining 0.5% that need a doctor's help and the FEAR of the 99.5% who eventually deliver their babies without any problem.
That was very honest of him.

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote;
If I was you,I would be having this discussion with the wifes Gyno. He needs to tell you the plan of delivery etc.

My wife had our kid at Nairobi Hospital,and to be honest it left a bad taste in my mouth. Blame was both to the Gyno who was soo busy with 100+ other patients and the Hosi that was unwilling to touch her,as they said they did not have the personal doctor's authority.

The delivery was eventually successful,but this was after a very uncomfortably long labour. You pay money to be comfortable during the process,and I would say it was definitely not worth the money.

Do note that mine was an Isolated case.

Have you talked to her about being there??......The first time i tried to follow her to the labour ward,nilikula kofi moja kali sana...!!.....i'd get her to the hos halafu ananifukuza mpaka the following morning......I never got to understand why...

Alfa wrote;
Hi all.....
We decided on MATER thro Cs and the bill was 222k (used private room and private doctor) for CS using standard room and hospital Doc,the bill will be appromximately 150000 if no complications after birth

All the best

This thread shades alot of insight on the matter;

http://www.wazua.co.ke/f....aspx?g=posts&t=2999
#86 Posted : Wednesday, October 03, 2012 8:35:22 PM

Also, if there is cover then go for the best the cover can offer, not a congested mission hospital when you have a cover of Kshs 150k or even 100k.
#87 Posted : Wednesday, October 03, 2012 8:58:54 PM

And this was the qn @Greatefull asked on "How long after". Memories are made of these (2009, where was impunity?)!!!

http://www.wazua.co.ke/f....aspx?g=posts&t=5129
#88 Posted : Wednesday, October 03, 2012 9:05:21 PM

Very insightful,i dont think am getting kids at this rate.
#89 Posted : Wednesday, October 03, 2012 9:14:54 PM

Get a pet.smile preferably a kanyau.
#90 Posted : Wednesday, October 03, 2012 11:17:56 PM

If you say very insightful, it should mean that now you know what to do!!!
MKWASI
#91 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2012 8:10:59 AM

Ama you try being the "Kiambu Senator". You will be assured of zero kids but don't say we didn't warn you!!
#92 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2012 9:30:23 AM

MKWASI wrote:

Ama you try being the "Kiambu Senator". You will be assured of zero kids but don't say we didn't warn you!!

And have a neat budget for diapers.
#93 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2012 10:26:54 AM

Kuzaa sio kazi, kazi no kulea.
njokishk
#94 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2012 11:05:18 AM

What about Mater Hospital, how are their services any experience?
kindly share.
#95 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2012 11:30:46 AM

njokishk wrote:
kindly share.

Mater Mater Mater..... I have had not very good experiences there. The last one being when my son fell off his bike. I rush the lad there and after afew minutes the watchie comes to ask me funny questions.. I later infered that they thought I was lying and had probably beaten the boy or run him over with my car or something. I was standing for three hours that evening part of it as my story was being checked out!!! nkt!!

Just had it!!!
Spend.thrift
#96 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2012 11:40:56 AM

bwenyenye wrote:
njokishk wrote:
kindly share.

Mater Mater Mater..... I have had not very good experiences there. The last one being when my son fell off his bike. I rush the lad there and after afew minutes the watchie comes to ask me funny questions.. I later infered that they thought I was lying and had probably beaten the boy or run him over with my car or something. I was standing for three hours that evening part of it as my story was being checked out!!! nkt!!

Just had it!!!

I'd say this was a sign of a socially responsible hospital. You should only complain if they delayed to or never attended to your son. Its not uncommon to have parants beat up kids so badly or run them over accidentally - in which case you shouldnt cover up with bike accidents.

I was in primary school with some guy whose dad once beat up so badly with a slasher. Maybe the doc or nurse was my schoolmate and sent the watchie to confirm. This is the kind of hospital we should have.

But now about births, I think it has become an industry complete with designer deliveries, that some women love to brag about. I was born at home and while I would not advocate it now since I know that with lifestyles we are leading, childbirth is a life and death experience where smiles can rapidly be transformed into tears within the span of minutes. All the same, get good ante natal care and from these visits, you can judge whether to deliver there or not. Expensive is not necessarily better and I have to repeat that the saddest misfortune in the whole healthcare system is the plastic health insurance cards we carry around- it is these that have made private hospitals especially in Nairobi greedy. At one of these hospitals, when you fill your patient form at the first visit, theres a section where you are expected to indicate your income range - Why the smoking hell do they need to know?
#97 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2012 12:50:18 PM

willin2learn wrote:
Aga khan is fine but no need to go with your Doc. unless there is foreseen complications. Wife was admitted there 2 weeks ago with a private doc. One night she was in pain and the nurses tried to call her Doc. from 2.a.m in vain. The call finally went through at 7.a.m in the morning while the doc. himself showed up at 11. Thank God all went well.

From that experience and a previous one in the same hospital, use their doctors.

True kabisa They always ask 'Huyu ni wetu?' when one goes into labour.
Alert your private doc hours before check in, because he will leave/give instructions to the nurses should anything go wrong while he's on duty elsewhere.
Nurses have this 'we can't touch her,ako na na doc wake'ATT.

That's why i decided that unless private doctor is the spouse who can be around 24 hours it's better to go with the hospital doctors.

#98 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2012 1:16:53 PM

Spend.thrift wrote:

But now about births, I think it has become an industry complete with designer deliveries, that some women love to brag about. I was born at home and while I would not advocate it now since I know that with lifestyles we are leading, childbirth is a life and death experience where smiles can rapidly be transformed into tears within the span of minutes. All the same, get good ante natal care and from these visits, you can judge whether to deliver there or not. Expensive is not necessarily better and I have to repeat that the saddest misfortune in the whole healthcare system is the plastic health insurance cards we carry around- it is these that have made private hospitals especially in Nairobi greedy. At one of these hospitals, when you fill your patient form at the first visit, theres a section where you are expected to indicate your income range - Why the smoking hell do they need to know?

Pray Pray Pray
#99 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2012 3:31:19 PM

I
Spend.thrift wrote:

Pray Pray Pray

...eish hii nikuzidi.
#100 Posted : Sunday, October 07, 2012 12:54:13 PM

Kwani where were wazuans born?I was born in Kenyatta and going by this thread it seems the more expensive the hospital the better to wazuans.Aga Khan should hike their charges to 500k to attract some wazuans.Kenya has a population of over 30m majority who were not born in those expensive boutique hospitals.