Market
Pennywise
Car loan - to take or not?
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:I know if i keep looking at wazua for long, someone will advise against eating as it consumes cash that you can save. Say 500 a day for 365 days wasted on food amounts to Sh 182,500 that could have otherwise been invested in shares or a plot ROR You kill bird...bird dead snake come.
jaggernaut wrote:Sometimes I think the worst decision I made was to buy a car. And am on my 3rd one in 10yrs. Yes, it gives you comfort and covenience but looking back its a big liability.
Kitambo before the car all I needed to get to work and back was 100 bob using a mat. But now I need a minimum of 600bob for the fuel and 140 bob for the parking. So that's 740 bob a day, or 3700 a week or 14800 a month or 177,000 bob pa. Weekend errands at 1500 a weekend give 78,000 pa. Insurance at 42000pa. Servicing at 6000 x 3 times giving 18000. Tyres 15000 x 4 = 60000 bob running for 2 years (thus 30,000 for tyres per year). Depreciation 150,000 per yr. Thus total cost of running the car is 495,000 pa. A matatu would have cost me 150bob daily to get to work or 750bob a week or 39000 per yr, meaning i'd have saved 456,000 bob per yr or 4,560,000 for the 10yrs I have been driving. Add another 1,000,000 for the car purchase and the set back is 5,560,000 Bob. Enough money to buy an apartment at Nyayo Embakasi.
And car ownership comes with other hidden expenses like more phombe (coz you know you will still get home even at 3am), more female company that thinks you are loaded and thus should foot all the pub bills etc (and of course more landings). So if you were taking 4 tuskers (800bob) and then catching a mat to get home, now you will most likely be taking double that i.e 1600 coz you have wheels to get you home. Add the usual female company or the 'mboys' etc doubles that amount to 3200 bob for just one day of phombe. Throw in some nyam chom at 600 bob and you are at 3800. That's an extra 3000 bob 'attributable to the car'. If you drink twice in a week thats 6000 bob 'car induced damage' or 24,000 a month or 288,000 bob a year extra for your pub bill.
A car will also make you to move house since you don't want to park your newly imported 1m corolla in some parts of Eastlando or in Uthiru etc where it might be stolen in no time. Thus instead of paying 20,000 rent in some 'perceived car unsafe area' areas, you will end up paying 40,000 in a 'car safe neighbourhood'. That's a total of 240,000 bob additional rent per year due to the car.
Summing up the above figures, a car will add 456,000 bob to your annual transport cost, 288,000 to your phombe/entertainment bill and 240,000 to your housing bill. That's a total of 984,000 bob a year. Imagine if this amount was used to invest in income generating assets instead of the car?
imagine without the car and you moved to kibera or mathare - you would add the following to your savings: 20,000 - 800 in rent = 230,400 3,000 - 200 in water, elec bills = 33,600 39,000 - 0 in transport (walking) = 39,000 800 - 80 in the phobe = 8,640 Total anual = 311,640 Annual savings in ten years you would have an extra 3.1 millions which you can buy two units of a 2 bedroom house at kaputei from jamii bora at 1.5m each
Lol@ jaggernaut, youre blaming your car for everything! I was waiting for you to blame it for the high bride price you paid for Mrs. Do this, take 2 weeks off and jav to work. Use it on weekends only. Tell us how it goes
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/2/2009 Posts: 2,458 Location: Nairobi
This has been one of the best reads i have come across in Wazua..
I bought one.. interest free loan.. only goes when its needed.. meetings, far off trips, etc
but still it is a ripper.. esp when it comes to fueling..
my advice is buy a car (loan or cash) if 1. it wont put a strain on you financially. 2. It is for convenience...
salf wrote:I strongly believe that you only buy a personal car cash if you have no better use for that cash. Loan is the way to go because all other expenses for the car are same except for the interest you pay. Buy the car on loan.
without a vision,a people perish Tick "The longer the fuse the mightier the blast!"
banyamulenge wrote:salf wrote:I strongly believe that you only buy a personal car cash if you have no better use for that cash. Loan is the way to go because all other expenses for the car are same except for the interest you pay. Buy the car on loan.
without a vision,a people perish Tick Nditto! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2012 Posts: 3,855 Location: Othumo
Impunity wrote:banyamulenge wrote:salf wrote:I strongly believe that you only buy a personal car cash if you have no better use for that cash. Loan is the way to go because all other expenses for the car are same except for the interest you pay. Buy the car on loan.
without a vision,a people perish Tick Nditto! Take loans, use this facilities. Without debt, you cant develop and hence staunted growth. Thieves
Lolest! wrote:Lol@ jaggernaut, youre blaming your car for everything! I was waiting for you to blame it for the high bride price you paid for Mrs. Do this, take 2 weeks off and jav to work. Use it on weekends only. Tell us how it goes I am very sure the 'bride price to be asked' went up significantly after they saw my Toyota.
Rank: Member Joined: 9/12/2008 Posts: 436 Location: illobi
Lolest! wrote:Lol@ jaggernaut, youre blaming your car for everything! I was waiting for you to blame it for the high bride price you paid for Mrs. Do this, take 2 weeks off and jav to work. Use it on weekends only. Tell us how it goes he can't hack it! i can bet on that A successful man is one who makes more money than his wife can spend. A successful woman is one who can find such a man
lol.. This thread had me laughing like a crazy person esp @jaggernaut Anyway when the time comes for me to buy a car, I will do so on loan, it's the only way that makes some sense to me, my savings belong to investments..
Why do we live? Everyone has his/her own answer. When I'm stressed, I don't feel alive. If the car will reduce my stress, I'll go for it. If it will increase the stress, I'll do without. If I can use the money I have to make more, than interest payable on a loan.. I'll take the loan. If not, and I'd rather avoid the stress of a bank loan, I'll use my cash. That said, I bought my first car, cash. I was very young then.
Fast forward 3 years later:
Got a deal where I was offered interest-free car loan by employer. Invested my cash into stocks and other things, and making some decent returns.
Was it a good decision - definitely! The car has earned its value, now using it for a side hussle i have. Can I survive without a car? Probably not - major reasons - side hussle, family, convenience. I sometimes use matatu, when it makes more sense, e.g. everytime i have to go to CBD, hussles to do with parking, sijui side mirrors, jam..
And yes, i sold those Kenya Re shares.
If you need to get a loan for the cheapest price possible, find one that is offered by a lender directly. Don't get indirect loans from places that lend other peoples' money. Indirect loans may have extra fees assessed to the them. Look into any guarantees offered by loan companies. Lots of these sorts of companies tend to be predatory lenders. Their main source of income is from fees assessed on poorer borrowers who cannot easily repay their loan. There is usually a catch to every promise or guarantee, so watch out for that. http://foxcarloans.com.au/
Having a family car is no longer a luxury. 20 years ago having a landline was a mark of 'reaching there' and those who had cell-phones were angelic beings visiting earth. However, today even the poorest need, guess what, not a landline but a cell-phone!
20 years ago, a family car was sort of a luxury. Today it is not. It is a necessity, whether you drive to work daily or the weekend together with family convenience.
Having a computer at home was a sign of 'being there' but today it is not. I've been to several homes in Kibera where besides the TV they have desktops.
My take, go for the loan and pay it with proceeds from your investments.
Newly employed, earning net of alil bit over 100k per month. Single, no children. 25years. Looking to buy a BMW 3 series or Merc C class. Second hand imports or locally used. Then i stumbled on this thread while looking for consumer reviews. Budget is 800k supplemented by sale or trade in of my Impreza Manual. Any user experience from wazuans, or any advice. Itll be useful for my career that requires mobility. Thinking if taking a loan from asacco to finance the 800k, as opposedto my savings that id wanna invest in t bills,stocks etc
how exactly in your right mind do you buy a car through a loan that you are paying interest.unless is a vintage car that will appreciate in value over time it doesnot make financial sense to buy a car through a bank loan
Rank: Member Joined: 1/30/2016 Posts: 332 Location: Rift Valley
Cornelius Vanderbilt wrote:how exactly in your right mind do you buy a car through a loan that you are paying interest.unless is a vintage car that will appreciate in value over time it doesnot make financial sense to buy a car through a bank loan You actually contradict yourself by citing vintage cars that appreciate in value Anyone with economic sense would get a loan to purchase the car and invest the hard cash in something that will bring returns.
chemirocha wrote:Cornelius Vanderbilt wrote:how exactly in your right mind do you buy a car through a loan that you are paying interest.unless is a vintage car that will appreciate in value over time it doesnot make financial sense to buy a car through a bank loan You actually contradict yourself by citing vintage cars that appreciate in value Anyone with economic sense would get a loan to purchase the car and invest the hard cash in something that will bring returns. If the loan was a reasonable, single digit percentage, then yes, your reasoning would hold up. But if the loan is the typical Kenyan double digit shark loan, then no thanks.
Market
Pennywise
Car loan - to take or not?