wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

6 Pages<1234>»
Aga Khan Hospital Maternity Services
njokishk
#21 Posted : Friday, September 28, 2012 8:57:14 AM

Nairobi Women's is out of question have heard bad tales about the hospital,death of unborn babies due to doctor carelessness.
#22 Posted : Friday, September 28, 2012 9:21:53 AM

njokishk wrote:
Nairobi Women's is out of question have heard bad tales about the hospital,death of unborn babies due to doctor carelessness.

I think deaths are evrywhere. My best friend lost the wife during delivery at the Agakhan just a few months ago. Yet my niece had the best treatment there during her time
#23 Posted : Friday, September 28, 2012 10:07:58 AM

bkismat wrote:
Looks like elective cs is very popular these days.

I hope you are not implying that "elective" in the sense of "too posh to push"

In many instances it is elective on serious medical grounds, e.g., recent fibroid removal, emergency CS on last pregnancy, fistula on last delivery etc.
#24 Posted : Friday, September 28, 2012 10:09:32 AM

njokishk wrote:
Thanks guys for your contribution, i think it's a good a hospital i will personally go there and get the details for her.
She has been seeing a gyna at upper hill medical centre and was just sourcing for a good hospital.

...if she,s insured a C-section will be upwards of 200k.

Kwani there are rates for insured and self-paying patients?
#25 Posted : Friday, September 28, 2012 10:15:29 AM

mukiha wrote:
njokishk wrote:
Thanks guys for your contribution, i think it's a good a hospital i will personally go there and get the details for her.
She has been seeing a gyna at upper hill medical centre and was just sourcing for a good hospital.

@Mukiha, most hospitals seem to get excited by insurance cards, the tests become more and limitless, dakatari visits mengin sana, at the end of the day, a bigger bill!!!!
#26 Posted : Friday, September 28, 2012 12:17:42 PM

mukiha wrote:
bkismat wrote:

In many instances it is elective on serious medical grounds, e.g., recent fibroid removal, emergency CS on last pregnancy, fistula on last delivery etc.

Actually, if you are using Aga Khan doctors, they discourage CS unless absolutely necessary. You actually get a hard time trying to get them to put you under CS if you have no problems.
QD
#27 Posted : Friday, September 28, 2012 12:21:06 PM

njokishk wrote:

If seing a gyna from UHMC why not nairobi? just got my two QDs there the other day and service was great cost fair as was set back around 270 for the twins and was as well ECS.
The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts while the stupid ones are full of confidence
#28 Posted : Friday, September 28, 2012 12:43:25 PM

mukiha wrote:
bkismat wrote:

Actually, if you are using Aga Khan doctors, they discourage CS unless absolutely necessary. You actually get a hard time trying to get them to put you under CS if you have no problems.

Kweli kabisa. Waz there at a point, pain was too much and wanted CS. The docs blatantly refused.
#29 Posted : Friday, September 28, 2012 12:56:21 PM

My daughter was born in Nairobi Hospital and i found their services to be quite good. We couldn't avoid C section which goes for about 200k.....probably because of the insurance part! Like someone has said it all depends on personal experience, i know several couples who have bad ones in Nairobi, Aga Khan and Nairobi Women. I don't think there's any hosp which has a clean record so all you can do is just pray that everything goes well as you make your choice.
#30 Posted : Friday, September 28, 2012 1:52:28 PM

mukiha wrote:
njokishk wrote:

...yes there are diff rates,kwanza kuna mtu amepewa quotation ya 280k,a haemorrodoctomy(sp),is 37k if you are not insured the moment you chuck an insurance card it goes to 90k.
#31 Posted : Friday, September 28, 2012 2:04:45 PM

My daughter was born in Nairobi Hospital and i found their services to be quite good. We couldn't avoid C section which goes for about 200k.....probably because of the insurance part! Like someone has said it all depends on personal experience, i know several couples who have bad ones in Nairobi, Aga Khan and Nairobi Women. I don't think there's any hosp which has a clean record so all you can do is just pray that everything goes well as you make your choice.

Hapo kweli kabisa,
I used Nairobi and it was great!!!!
#32 Posted : Friday, September 28, 2012 2:11:05 PM

If you want to know you are in trouble, then let someone tell you, "all hospitals are the same", "no hospital has a clean record", "anything can happen", "its by God's grace you get a child"

Some of us were born while our mothers were in the shamba. So we don't buy that nonsense.

If a hospital has a bad rep, iko kitu. I for one wouldn't risk my family's life. Lakini unaweza pereka wako huko.

Why doesn't anyone talk about Kijabe. Cheap and has the best care.
njokishk
#33 Posted : Friday, September 28, 2012 3:34:57 PM

She's is choosing elective Cesarean, since she has high blood pressure and doesn't want to risk her life and that of the unborn. with Nairobi Hospital we were told it Ksh.210,000 with their doctor and with your private doctor the charges are high depending with the doctor. How much do this private doctors (gyna) charge if you use them?
#34 Posted : Friday, September 28, 2012 4:01:23 PM

mukiha wrote:
njokishk wrote:

...yes there are diff rates,kwanza kuna mtu amepewa quotation ya 280k,a haemorrodoctomy(sp),is 37k if you are not insured the moment you chuck an insurance card it goes to 90k.

@Maka, you are well versed with this costs. Ooops sorry i have just remembered what you are going though with the piles.
richdad
#35 Posted : Friday, September 28, 2012 5:34:27 PM

You are all scaring the hell out of all bachelors here....
Keep it simple
#36 Posted : Friday, September 28, 2012 7:26:15 PM

mukiha wrote:
njokishk wrote:

@Maka, you are well versed with this costs. Ooops sorry i have just remembered what you are going though with the piles.

nimepona naweza piga hata sama sasa..
#37 Posted : Friday, September 28, 2012 7:31:44 PM

richdad wrote:

...he he in what way the figures?as someone said watu wengi sana wamezaliwa shambani,kwa stage,kwa nyumba and they are well,if ua folks are around 70 they most likely were born at home ama with the help of a traditional birth attendant na wako poa wamekuzaa,its all in Gods hands.
#38 Posted : Monday, October 01, 2012 10:02:48 AM

njokishk wrote:
She's is choosing elective Cesarean, since she has high blood pressure and doesn't want to risk her life and that of the unborn. with Nairobi Hospital we were told it Ksh.210,000 with their doctor and with your private doctor the charges are high depending with the doctor. How much do this private doctors (gyna) charge if you use them?

Depends on the doc. One doc i know charges 100k - current charge. and he's a good doc. Based in UHMC with rights at NH.
pariah
#39 Posted : Monday, October 01, 2012 10:39:50 AM

richdad wrote:

ditto, dint know downloading was such expensive business!!!!!
MKWASI
#40 Posted : Monday, October 01, 2012 12:01:07 PM

pariah wrote:
richdad wrote:

ditto, dint know downloading was such expensive business!!!!!

That is just a drop in the ocean...wait untill you make a few more trips to those hospitals with the child after birth...You will realise where Nairobi parents invest!!