wazua Thu, Jan 16, 2025

6 Pages<12345>»
Where would you invest 7 million shillings?
#41 Posted : Tuesday, September 25, 2012 6:25:12 PM

Drunkard wrote:
can someone advice me on how to invest this tidy sum.

All these people are excited and unrealistics, it is only one guy here who talked about risk profile and that I think is the only person who you should pay a little more attention to because he probably understand something about investment.

Mine is to tell you what not to do.

1)First if you're not yet marry, do not get married, thats the worst thing you can do at the moment.
2)If you've never had a hooker, do not get one and this is very important, if you've never been to a strip club do not go there. But if you really want to go to strip club start with training yourself by watching porn movies, if you watch porn movies 2 weeks straight you'll be so used to naked women that when you go to strip club you'll not be excited about nudity so you won't drop cash easly. Infact you'll be able to make great investment research at a strip club, I alway read WSJ at tit bars.
3)I know you're Masukuma you probably think kshs 7million is alot of money but it is not so do not let it get in your mind.
4)Do not give 10% to your church it is a reap off.
5)Don't come here expecting any advices!

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Masukuma I hope u made up your mind. If not...start hanging out with wazee's or those chama women. You will be surprised at how much you can learn from these people.
Drunkard
#42 Posted : Tuesday, September 25, 2012 6:29:02 PM

KenyanLyrics wrote:
The repetitiveness of the suggestions betrays how narrow Kenyans' thinking is when it comes to investing. No wonder random Wahindis, Wazungus and Wachina come to our country and swiftly become mega-rich in a matter of 5 years or less.

While we are busy doing traditional stocks+bonds+realestate investments, the foreigners come in, spot virgin niches and attack them with no mercy, making out like bandits in the end. Take for example that oil in Turkana. The Mkenya saw that the best investment he could make would be the usual buy a plot -> sell it later formula. The Mzungu saw oil below that plot and is now mining. Fine, the Mkenya has some change in pocket, but the Mzungu now has money beyond his wildest dreams.

Bwana masukuma, I urge you to expand your mind and find the many poorly served niches we have in Africa. The greatest financial rewards lie there.

Kshs 7million or 7 billion? Kenyanlyrics, stick to music these money thing is too complex! Which virginity are you talking about? with 7 million I guess you're talking about female virginity because yes! you can drive up until Central Africa conquiring villages full of virgin girls infact you'll be lucky to get there before you run out of money, thats the only virginity you can spot with Kshs 7 Million!
KenyanLyrics
#43 Posted : Tuesday, September 25, 2012 6:55:10 PM

guru267 wrote:
KenyanLyrics wrote:

While we are busy doing traditional stocks+bonds+realestate investments, the foreigners come in, spot virgin niches and attack them with no mercy, making out like bandits in the end. Take for example that oil in Turkana. The Mkenya saw that the best investment he could make would be the usual buy a plot -> sell it later formula. The Mzungu saw oil below that plot and is now mining..

KYL = Know Your Level

Akina wachina have billions of dollars while our friend has a meagre 7million Kshs ($80,000)...

Even Wazungu cannot do much with ($80,000)!

you seem to be the one with a shallow mind as you do not seem to know the level of experience, passion, CAPITAL, time & sweat that is needed to make any venture successful!

So according to your KYL mantra, Kenyans are on a lower level than the Wazungu/Wahindi expats? Witness the effects of colonialism.

I believe it is you who may have underestimated my experience in making a successful venture. For one, I know that no entrepreneur worth his salt gives CAPITAL as a primary excuse for not diving into something.

And let's not restrict my example to oil alone. My example was just to show about how Kenyans let opportunities go simply because of fear and lazy investing habits formed over the years.
#44 Posted : Tuesday, September 25, 2012 7:04:45 PM

KenyanLyrics wrote:
guru267 wrote:
KenyanLyrics wrote:

While we are busy doing traditional stocks+bonds+realestate investments, the foreigners come in, spot virgin niches and attack them with no mercy, making out like bandits in the end. Take for example that oil in Turkana. The Mkenya saw that the best investment he could make would be the usual buy a plot -> sell it later formula. The Mzungu saw oil below that plot and is now mining..

KYL = Know Your Level

Akina wachina have billions of dollars while our friend has a meagre 7million Kshs ($80,000)...

Even Wazungu cannot do much with ($80,000)!

you seem to be the one with a shallow mind as you do not seem to know the level of experience, passion, CAPITAL, time & sweat that is needed to make any venture successful!

So according to your KYL mantra, Kenyans are on a lower level than the Wazungu/Wahindi expats? Witness the effects of colonialism.

I believe it is you who may have underestimated my experience in making a successful venture. For one, I know that no entrepreneur worth his salt gives CAPITAL as a primary excuse for not diving into something.

And let's not restrict my example to oil alone. My example was just to show about how Kenyans let opportunities go simply because of fear and lazy investing habits formed over the years.

Really!!! Why not tell masukuma what you think he should do with his money instead of coming here and abusing everyone else genius!
#45 Posted : Tuesday, September 25, 2012 7:06:53 PM

can someone advice me on how to invest this tidy sum.

...Ok since we,ve bin asked by @kenyanlyrics to think outside the box,buy some 10 acres somewhere then drill a borehole put up lyk 10 greenhouses and cultivate a lot of marijuana ul make millions...or get a bond wth a coupon rate of around 12% after tax you,l be netting around 65k a month,frm this start setting aside probably half of it to buy equities,the rest think of a business to do...
#46 Posted : Tuesday, September 25, 2012 7:45:41 PM

KenyanLyrics wrote:

Kindly bless with your uncolonized genius and give us examples of wahindi/Wazungu who have made it bigger than us colonized Kenyans with only 7million shs starting capital...

KenyanLyrics
#47 Posted : Tuesday, September 25, 2012 9:56:28 PM

Really!!! Why not tell masukuma what you think he should do with his money instead of coming here and abusing everyone else genius!

Well since you asked so kindly, my suggestion would be to set up an app development firm for iOS. 5 Objective C developers, a high speed internet connection and you're good to go. Sell enterprise apps on iTunes, targeting US market. Would take less than 4m and potential revenue is in millions per month.
young
#48 Posted : Tuesday, September 25, 2012 10:35:39 PM

@kenyalyrics

If you don't mind please give a breakdown of how less
than 4m ksh can be used to set up your
suggested ICt biz to our friend taking into
consideration.
- Rental cost for 2 years in a good location not
in kitengela or kawagware it has to be in central
nairobi.
- Cost of Furnishing and sundry.
- Cost of acquisition of computer hardware as a training
center you need min of 4 systems
- Cost of software licence enterprise licence not single user licences
- Working capital for salary and sundry
expenses
- Cost for utilities, Stationery
- Cost of registeation of biz name and advertising including
statutory sign post charges for city council of
nairobi
- cost of training our friend to acquire this
specific ICT skill to be competent
- Cost of marketing
- Other charges and expenses

Let us know your estimated turnover in the short
term and the projected profit.
Educate us on how you will spend less than 4
million shillings in year 2012 not 2002 to set up this biz
Explain also how to get clientele because this
kind of business require some time up to
2 years to get client as it is very competetive and
in requires some time to earn client confidence
in such a start up with no previous reference
point or experience.

Regards
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
#49 Posted : Tuesday, September 25, 2012 10:55:32 PM

KenyanLyrics wrote:

Well since you asked so kindly, my suggestion would be to set up an app development firm for iOS. 5 Objective C developers, a high speed internet connection and you're good to go. Sell enterprise apps on iTunes, targeting US market. Would take less than 4m and potential revenue is in millions per month.

Let me give u free advice from the Richest Man in Babylon.

1. Gold cometh gladly and in increasing quantity to any man who will put not less than one tenth of his earnings to create an estate for his future and that of his family. (Pay thy self first)

2. Gold laboreth diligently and contentedly for the wise owner who finds for it profitable employement, multiplying even as flocks of the field. (Invest and build more wealth)

3. Gold clingeth to the protection of the cautious owner who invests it under the advise of wise men in its handling. (Read, study, seek qualified advise)

4. Gold slippeth away from the man who invests it in business or purpose with which he is not familiar or which are not approaved by those skilled in its keep. (Know your business)

5. Gold flees the man who would force it to impossible earnings or who followeth the alluring advice of tricksters and schemers or who trusts it to his own inexperience and romantic desires in investment.
(Dont be greedy)

I dont know what makes you think that Masukuma has any interest or skill in ICT to even have any interest in investing in programming and software let alone market it.

But heed to the red part and you shall never regret.
#50 Posted : Tuesday, September 25, 2012 11:50:53 PM

I'd suggest that you do real estate. Get an eighth acre at 1m at mwiki, ruai etc. It can fit 7 one bedroom flats on each floor. Each unit at 30m2. Build 2 floors ie ground and 1st floor, a total of 14 units. Construction cost will be 14units x 30m2 @15000 which totals to 6.3m. Rental income will be 14 units x 8,000 each totaling 112,000. Using the rent proceeds you can now choose where to rent a house for you to live in at maybe 40k and pocket the 72k balance every month.

With time and using the rent generated, you can add another 4 floors pole pole, maybe 1 floor per Yr, bringing the total no. of units to 42 and a monthly income of KES 336,000. This amount will be enough for you to rent a luxury apartment at Le Mac Westlands (at only 150k pm). Then you can get another 1/8th and do it again.....and again.
hamburglar
#51 Posted : Wednesday, September 26, 2012 12:12:44 AM

I'd suggest that you do real estate. Get an eighth acre at 1m at mwiki, ruai etc. It can fit 7 one bedroom flats on each floor. Each unit at 30m2. Build 2 floors ie ground and 1st floor, a total of 14 units. Construction cost will be 14units x 30m2 @15000 which totals to 6.3m. Rental income will be 14 units x 8,000 each totaling 112,000. Using the rent proceeds you can now choose where to rent a house for you to live in at maybe 40k and pocket the 72k balance every month.

With time and using the rent generated, you can add another 4 floors pole pole, maybe 1 floor per Yr, bringing the total no. of units to 42 and a monthly income of KES 336,000. This amount will be enough for you to rent a luxury apartment at Le Mac Westlands (at only 150k pm). Then you can get another 1/8th and do it again.....and again.

Brilliant idea....I know a guy that did exactly what you are advising this guy to do and relocated back to Kenya from the US to live off of the rent proceeds after he was done...Real estate is king, big or small like the suggestion you just made, you can never go wrong.
#52 Posted : Wednesday, September 26, 2012 8:07:07 AM

KenyanLyrics wrote:

1. Gold cometh gladly and in increasing quantity to any man who will put not less than one tenth of his earnings to create an estate for his future and that of his family. (Pay thy self first)

2. Gold laboreth diligently and contentedly for the wise owner who finds for it profitable employement, multiplying even as flocks of the field. (Invest and build more wealth)

3. Gold clingeth to the protection of the cautious owner who invests it under the advise of wise men in its handling. (Read, study, seek qualified advise)

4. Gold slippeth away from the man who invests it in business or purpose with which he is not familiar or which are not approaved by those skilled in its keep. (Know your business)

5. Gold flees the man who would force it to impossible earnings or who followeth the alluring advice of tricksters and schemers or who trusts it to his own inexperience and romantic desires in investment.
(Dont be greedy)

I dont know what makes you think that Masukuma has any interest or skill in ICT to even have any interest in investing in programming and software let alone market it.

Actually I am an IT Guy... world reknown in my field of specialization...i however dislike Apple :)
#53 Posted : Wednesday, September 26, 2012 8:29:36 AM

KenyanLyrics wrote:

(Dont be greedy)

Actually I am an IT Guy... world reknown in my field of specialization...i however dislike Apple :)

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Well well well...then ur one hard nut
mwekez@ji
#54 Posted : Wednesday, September 26, 2012 10:17:03 AM

KenyanLyrics wrote:

(Dont be greedy)

@masukuma, why the dislike? @kenyalyrics, et al, fill us in on the details of this idea as requested by @young #post48
KenyanLyrics
#55 Posted : Wednesday, September 26, 2012 10:56:41 AM

@murchr Does your book have anything on quick assumptions of low skill?

@masukuma Apple have created the most profitable software platform in the world with iTunes. Create mobile app > sell to rich US citizens > profit. I would strongly advise you to reconsider your position. For business' sake.

@mwekezaji the idea is basically to get a bunch of mobile application developers together and make applications for iPhone and iPad owners. They would be sold via an Apple program called iTunes. The revenue potential is massive because the client base consists mostly of rich US citizens. That, plus the low initial capital needed makes it a juicy investment opportunity.
justKiwi
#56 Posted : Wednesday, September 26, 2012 11:10:30 AM

I don't own any but i hear wazees talk of small risks in this real estate investment.

What about transport services? Options -
2. Buying muguu kumi FVZ, Tata,Scania etc and supply constuction materials such as sand, kokoto, and if you buy a tipper you can also do soil dumping. For FVZ you will have to tim up 7m to 8.5m but can find second hand with that amount. For others may be you can buy cash.
3. Medium load transport. Buy Isuzu FRR, OR MIT FH and transport goods, Mbao, Ndizi, cement, sokeri, etc
4. Buy a bus (coach) and ferry people from town to town e.g Kisumu kenya to Malindi via Mombasa Kenya etc
5.Mathree?

If you are not yet decided don't let your money stay with the banks. Risk something and buy plots/land in developing areas. Give youself time while the value of land is appr...

By the way are you a home owner? If not and you have a family or starting one, just have it in mind that you need your own house. I won't write here that you take all 7m to a house. But you can build it this way. Identify a place buy a GENUINE plot. If not so developed don't even fence but ensure you can see all the beacons. If dev.. consider fencing and planting some trees. You will put your house here. Then Buy 1 or two more plots that you will sell later after a yr or so. This will give you money to build hs. 3m gone

Still too all depends with you and your lifestyle. Degrees or not take heed to graduation ceremonies and see for yrself the multitude. (I cant do that bcoz i am that)
Then don't be so exited to include everyone, f members etc to your 7m.
Last don't invest everything and leave nothing for your expenses. If you have some sources fine. if not just make sure you have enough to take u thru b4 reaping from invest..
Finally .....Blessed is the hand that giveth than the one that taketh.... Invest first and generously give the fruits

Sincere wishes
subzero
#57 Posted : Wednesday, September 26, 2012 11:11:08 AM

You can also consider farming fresh vegetables or food processing for export, Or even for consumption locally,

You can buy or rent some land in a remote place, with reliable water supply like a borehole.
KenyanLyrics
#58 Posted : Wednesday, September 26, 2012 11:17:24 AM

young wrote:
@kenyalyrics

If you don't mind please give a breakdown of how less
than 4m ksh can be used to set up your
suggested ICt biz to our friend taking into
consideration.
- Rental cost for 2 years in a good location not
in kitengela or kawagware it has to be in central
nairobi.
- Cost of Furnishing and sundry.
- Cost of acquisition of computer hardware as a training
center you need min of 4 systems
- Cost of software licence enterprise licence not single user licences
- Working capital for salary and sundry
expenses
- Cost for utilities, Stationery
- Cost of registeation of biz name and advertising including
statutory sign post charges for city council of
nairobi
- cost of training our friend to acquire this
specific ICT skill to be competent
- Cost of marketing
- Other charges and expenses

Let us know your estimated turnover in the short
term and the projected profit.
Educate us on how you will spend less than 4
million shillings in year 2012 not 2002 to set up this biz
Explain also how to get clientele because this
kind of business require some time up to
2 years to get client as it is very competetive and
in requires some time to earn client confidence
in such a start up with no previous reference
point or experience.

Regards

@Young, I am speaking from my experience. I am a software developer and most of my friends are as well. I know of friends who've managed to set up Java mobile application development companies for as low as 1m. An iOS development company would need Objective C developers, who are rarer and thus more expensive, so I simply tripled my lowest estimate.

But for your sake, I will try a breakdown:

- Physical location does not matter in a mobile app company. They would be selling applications on iTunes to US citizens. So the only location that matters is whether the app is prominently displayed on iTunes or not. This means that @masukuma can house the developers even in his home if he wishes. Location cost: immaterial.

- cost of furnishing and sundry: immaterial. As I said, @masukuma can even house them in his home.

- cost of acquisition of computer hardware: (Assuming 5 iMacs capable of running Software Development Kits) around 500k. Take note that a lot of developers have their own computers, so this cost might even come to be zero.

- cost of software license: Apple computers come bundled with licensed software, so this cost is in the 500k above. The only other software overhead is the iTunes subscription fee, which is 100 dollars a year.

- cost of salaries: depends. From my experience, 50k average. Meaning 250k a month.

- cost for utilities and stationery: software development companies are usually paperless offices, so this cost is immaterial as well.

- cost of registration and biz name: 50k

- cost of advertising and marketing: could be zero if your applications could be shared via social media or word-of-mouth

That comes to WAY less than 4m capital. But I suggested 4m because I know s**t happens in business.
richdad
#59 Posted : Wednesday, September 26, 2012 11:33:13 AM

Just to add on the @KenyanLyrics idea, online work in the thing.

Might take one - two years to get any profit depending on how well you manage the staff (They are key to this).

You will offer software development/internet marketing services to local and international(better) clients, long before you make it big in APP sales.

Have a look at this: http://nix_solutions_ltd.elance.com (The guy has made $2,050,655 in the last 12 months. Thats more than Kshs 10m per month. ).

WHY CAN'T PEOPLE WITH SOME MORE CASH INVEST IN THIS? I have been following online work trends and feel this is the thing to invest in NOW.

I once worked for a Kenyan living in US with a software development company- registered in US and Kenya. All development work is done here in Kenya. In some rooms in one of the middle class estates.

Keep it simple
#60 Posted : Wednesday, September 26, 2012 5:39:07 PM

KenyanLyrics wrote:

@murchr Does your book have anything on quick assumptions of low skill?

@masukuma Apple have created the most profitable software platform in the world with iTunes. Create mobile app > sell to rich US citizens > profit. I would strongly advise you to reconsider your position. For business' sake.

@mwekezaji the idea is basically to get a bunch of mobile application developers together and make applications for iPhone and iPad owners. They would be sold via an Apple program called iTunes. The revenue potential is massive because the client base consists mostly of rich US citizens. That, plus the low initial capital needed makes it a juicy investment opportunity.

@Kenyanlyrics Who has ever succeeded in anything they don't like doing? How many people have created apps and are not able to sell them either on itunes or Android market?