wazua Fri, Jan 10, 2025

pessimisim cannot take us where we want
BAAK
#1 Posted : Wednesday, March 18, 2009 10:19:00 AM

Once upon a time,there were three farmers. They used to rear dairy cows.

It so happened that there was a severe draught in the land at one time. Fearing that the cows might perish,one farmer woke up one morning and took his cow to the local market. Along the way,he lamented how weak his cow had become. He wondered loudly whether anyone would be interested in buying it. Once at the market,he told all potential buyers 'This cow is very weak. Am not even sure it will reach your destination once you buy it. Am selling it because I fear it may perish in my hands'.

Nobody offered to buy his cow.

The second farmer was in the same situation as the first. Only that he kept a positive attitude. Along the way to the market,he told everyone that his cow was very good,the only problem is that there was a draught but that the cow would recover once the rains start. He repeated the same at the market. Him he was able to fetch a reasonable price for his cow.

Now this is the same thing happening at SK. When one tells everyone to sell because the market is about to collapse and that they do not see any recovery soon,they are behaving like farmer No. 1. In this category I put. Jammo,Simonkabs,Mainat seles,Sober,etc.

When one tells us that what we are seeing is only a temporary setback,they are behaving like farmer No. 2 In this category I put Ectasy

Someone will say that at SK we are very few compared to the investors at NSE. But among us we have jounalists who can influence opinion (remember what KTN business reporter said yesterday about the recent bull run?),fund managers who control billions,high net worth individuals,foreign investors who have no other way of knowing what is happening locally,etc,etc

Let us stop being to too pessimistic and announcing the same at the roof top. Most of this dip is all due to our pessimisim
The General
#2 Posted : Wednesday, March 18, 2009 10:46:00 AM

what of those who make their decisions on other info,and not the comments made here....?

The thicker the thigh the sweeter the pie.
mozenrat
#3 Posted : Wednesday, March 18, 2009 12:37:00 PM

But Bwana BAAK,lower is where some of us want to be,after hoarding cash for such a long time the rock bottom prices are looking very attractive. Much as I like Equity,I would never have bought it at 250 or 300 but at 93-100,hell yeah.
#4 Posted : Wednesday, March 18, 2009 1:03:00 PM

As Richard Branson said yesterday,this is the once in a lifetime opportunity for the next generation to be 'millionaires'.
Brewer
#5 Posted : Wednesday, March 18, 2009 1:22:00 PM

The cows actually died,didn't they?And the third farmer did not take the cow to the market and it died,right?

Am also sure Richard Branson did not say the market has bottomed out or he knows how low it will really get.
#6 Posted : Wednesday, March 18, 2009 1:34:00 PM

@baak,since we now know therez no bullrun at least this year apart fm a few calves,the lower the better. Even if we cheer lyk ecstacy,we wont change the CC n neither reverse the xpected recession. We r waiting down here 4 lower brother!

Truest proverb: Mwenda pole hajikwai
#7 Posted : Wednesday, March 18, 2009 1:36:00 PM

this is not about the market bottom..but since you've mentioned.. you can only know the bottom in hindsight..true? I'm investing for the mid-long term. I see a resistance level develop for a 'value' (not necessarily cheap) counter I'm interested and I simply go invest..slow and staggered.
Trump
#8 Posted : Wednesday, March 18, 2009 1:42:00 PM

Spot on. We should be optimistic. As you have rightly stated,all sorts of people are on stockskenya and you would be shocked at the kind of money they control. Actually,i know some portfolio managers who dont rely on fancy analysis to make decisions-just sentiment from the market and sk is one of the best places to get it.

Life is what you make it !!!
Just do it!
eli
#9 Posted : Wednesday, March 18, 2009 1:47:00 PM

at BAAK.

Please tell me! If you knew,like you knew,like knew,that for sure,Equity will drop to 93bob,and will rise to 135bob make your 40bob in a period of 1 week,and make super profits. Would you do that? Ama you would just sit there and see 'other farmers' making cash and laughing all the way to the bank! I dont want to know what you would do,but one thing I know! You love cash and I do as well.

This market is being controlled by pure,expert speculators! Not investors. They know the entry point (They guess right the entry point) and after making some nice 20-30% gain,they jump out the boat by taking profits. They have mastered the system so well,that they make quick cash just like that! While you are complaining of pessimism,they are happy taking profits to the bank and are 'optimistic' waiting for the shares to drop!

Well,there are many people who live on stocks. Pay rent,bills,school fees,etc by trading in stocks. You cant tell them to stop. No you cant. They are not pessimistic. You are! They have mastered the system. Well,the whole world economy is 'pessimistic' and speculators are very happy about it,raking in profits at the appropriate time! Can I get some Amen!

Please BAAK. Stop complaining. Learn the trick of trade and make the same profits as well.

Sample this:
Mumias was 3.2bob on 10th March and was 4.6bob on 17th March. Well,that is well over 40% in less than 2 weeks! Who can resist such! Not even Government papers comes close!

But you shall remember the LORD your God,for it is He who is giving you power to make wealth,that He may confirm His covenant which He swore to your fathers,as it is this day. Deu 8:18
#10 Posted : Wednesday, March 18, 2009 2:06:00 PM

To the average NSE investor..would you speculate with your pension? If not,in a recession where cash is king,don't even attempt it. The joke is on you.
BAAK
#11 Posted : Wednesday, March 18, 2009 3:07:00 PM

@eli

The third farmer did not own cows. He was a broker. What you may call speculator in our modern day terms. So he camped at the market day in day out,lamenting at how bad the famine was,saying that the prices of cows should come down further now that there was nothing to feed them on. Of course,by doing this,he was hoping to bring down the prices so he could buy cheap and sell high later…So what happened? The farmers,realizing that the market had been spoilt by the broker slowly shifted to crop farming

Our speculators who keep casting gloomy picture so prices come down and they sell high are like the third farmer. They risk being left alone at the market,just like the third farmer.

Let’s be optimistic and look forward for a win-win situation for everyone. Let's allow the market to grow naturally
#12 Posted : Wednesday, March 18, 2009 3:46:00 PM

@ BAAK,

WB said that investors should be greedy when other investors are fearful and fearful when others are greedy in a normal market set up.

You see for a market like the NSE in a time like this,it is fairly easy to predict where the stock prices will be within a given period as the indicators are very conspicuous....how will the optimism help,knowing and seeing that the prices are tumbling right infront of your very own eyes?

I bet there should have been a fourth farmer whose cow was too beaten up by the drought that it could hardly walk on its own...and this farmer full of optimism that he will have to sell the cow,hired a pick-up truck to deliver it to the market to sell. Unfortunately when the farmer had just unloaded it,it died...right there in the market....

NEVER TALK OF A RHINO IF THERE IS NO TREE NEAREBY - ZULU PROVERB
#13 Posted : Wednesday, March 18, 2009 3:51:00 PM

Seven things to remember in bear run ....... http://economictimes.ind...id-2883025,flstry-1.cms

If you have money that you expect to start using in five years,it does not belong in stocks.
#14 Posted : Wednesday, March 18, 2009 4:10:00 PM

@kingfisher,ua link's dead,copy paste the article here pliz.

Truest proverb: Mwenda pole hajikwai
eli
#15 Posted : Wednesday, March 18, 2009 4:17:00 PM

@ BAAK
Win - Win situation? That happens in normal business. Not in the stock market. Here fools get slaughtered. Fools feed on fools. Hapa ni kichinjio bwana! You better arm yourself with some knowledge upstairs or else you might have to hold ( after buying high) onto your shares for the next 3 years!

Zig Ziglar on his book closing the sale,sings of win - win - win situation! Well,that happens in business ( I will repeat that a hundred times so that you can get it right). Here you joke around and you get slaughered and slaughtered real well. Your 1M could be 0.3M very fast!

Speculators are ' optimistic ' by nature that the prices will go south ( hence buy)!

But you shall remember the LORD your God,for it is He who is giving you power to make wealth,that He may confirm His covenant which He swore to your fathers,as it is this day. Deu 8:18
Tusker Baridi
#16 Posted : Wednesday, March 18, 2009 4:31:00 PM

@BAAK

Live and learn,remember the NSE index was trading at above 6,000 not too long ago,some of us said it was due for a major correction and we were run out of town in a hail of insults for being too pessimistic. You know what happenned.

I'll say it again just like I did back then,dont try to catch falling knives,wait until they hit the ground and then safely pluck the good ones from the ground. The market is not bearish because of pessimism from investors,its bearish coz the fundamentals of the economy are weak.
jammo
#17 Posted : Wednesday, March 18, 2009 5:21:00 PM

Hey! I am not pessimistic! I just need a little more time to get all money i can and buy all i can n then i'll be set for a bull,price hike.... whatever... Heh! Heh!

The race is not always to the swift..nor the battle always to the strong..nor food always to the wise..nor riches always to the intelligent..favor is not always to the skilled..or learned..but time and chance happens to all. Ecl9:5..
Mainat
#18 Posted : Wednesday, March 18, 2009 8:56:00 PM

Whether pessimist or optimist,the only question is this.
Are you getting returns?

www.mjengakenya.blogspot.com
Sehemu ndio nyumba
Tusker Baridi
#19 Posted : Wednesday, March 18, 2009 9:19:00 PM

@Mainat,shorting is illegal in Kenya otherwise some of us would have made a tonne of money.
mukwano
#20 Posted : Thursday, March 19, 2009 1:04:00 AM

nice try my friend but you forgot one fact

the buyers at the market are broke. they drove there in cars bought on loans,dressed in suits bought on loans took expensive holidays and paid on credit. worse,the bank wants their homes. to be honest,they really can't afford beef right now ..

there is no optimistic way to look at the bottom line. but the people will eat beef again one day,till then relax,read silly storos in the other discussion segment. if you have grass doing nothing in your shamba,fatten the cow ...