wazua Thu, Jan 16, 2025

6 Pages<1234>»
Where would you invest 7 million shillings?
Vall
#21 Posted : Tuesday, September 25, 2012 12:34:03 PM

Marry me smile
S.Mutaga III
#22 Posted : Tuesday, September 25, 2012 12:41:45 PM

ProverB wrote:
better still...whatever gave you the 7million....keep doing it. smile

what if it was inheritance???...food for thought...if you follow the advice,you will become a serial killer millionaire...lol
A successful man is not he who gets the best, it is he who makes the best from what he gets.
ProverB
#23 Posted : Tuesday, September 25, 2012 12:43:40 PM

Alternatively, assuming you are well versed with business management... you can get into Venture Capital.. where you leverage your management skills (especially financial) for part ownership in brilliant business ideas..

...a reality TV series Shark Tank or Dragon's Den can give you a rapid tutorial in venture capital.

..it's quite fun and really an eye opener... above that..you get a chance to really affect another's life..

..But hey! that's just me..

1. Spread buy into one counter.. (those preaching diversify are actually doing so out of fear..after all..even in your house...all eggs are in one tray smile

2. Keep doing what you did to get the 7m...unless it was the death of a rich relative.. smile

3. Venture Capital... find someone with the idea..passion..skill..time..heart...but no cash..come to an agreement of some sort..
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
#24 Posted : Tuesday, September 25, 2012 1:13:14 PM

guru267 wrote:
Put in KCB or HFCK..

It will be worth 14million in a years time while you earn a cool 60k per month just in dividends!

Nothing can beat that!

Are you sure? Double in one year? Why?

KCB will announce an EPS of 5bob and a DPS of 2.6
HFCK will announce an EPS of 3bob and a DPS of 1.5..

With a conservative P/E of 10 and a dividend yield of 5% it gives a price of 50bob and 30bob respectively
ProverB
#25 Posted : Tuesday, September 25, 2012 1:29:03 PM

guru267 wrote:

With a conservative P/E of 10 and a dividend yield of 5% it gives a price of 50bob and 30bob respectively

Ceteris Paribus.

..which is improbable.. i doubt nse will remain unshaken by politics.

..interesting..HFCK is one of worst performers within last 52 weeks..infact it is down 17% ...kcb on the other hand is 3rd best performer after Uchumi and BAT..

#prices as at Oct 24th 2011 smile
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
Aguytrying
#26 Posted : Tuesday, September 25, 2012 1:46:26 PM

ProverB wrote:
guru267 wrote:

Ceteris Paribus.

..interesting..HFCK is one of worst performers within last 52 weeks..infact it is down 17% ...kcb on the other hand is 3rd best performer after Uchumi and BAT..

I largely agree with guru.

@proverb. That sounds like good news to someone who wants to buy HFCK, No?
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
#27 Posted : Tuesday, September 25, 2012 2:10:14 PM

Am not a fun of speculative land buying but as someone said earlier get a place with a clean title and buy some acreage there,focus on areas just outside nairobi,the suburbs.If am not wrong thika is like 50 to 60 kms from nairobi,an acre of land there has reached astronomical figures on the other hand a place just past corner baridi is almost the same distance and land is like 20 to 30 times cheaper in a few years time factoring growth and development you,l get value for your money maybe 4 to 5 times wht u put in...if it were me i,d put it in 2 baskets land and stocks...3.5-3.5
#28 Posted : Tuesday, September 25, 2012 2:13:35 PM

ProverB wrote:

1. Spread buy into one counter.. (those preaching diversify are actually doing so out of fear..after all..even in your house...all eggs are in one tray smile

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
mwekez@ji
#29 Posted : Tuesday, September 25, 2012 2:19:04 PM

Aguytrying wrote:
ProverB wrote:
guru267 wrote:

Ceteris Paribus.

I largely agree with guru.

@proverb. That sounds like good news to someone who wants to buy HFCK, No?

To add, that HFCK forward EPS is on point. I concur with the Target Price
MKWASI
#30 Posted : Tuesday, September 25, 2012 2:36:52 PM

I would go for a few properties in the counties say 5 million. 1.5 Million in stocks and bonds. Unless its windfall income, you may also need to treat yourself that is invest some of it in happiness but make sure you don't visit dubai otherwise your milli would be up in smoke.
#31 Posted : Tuesday, September 25, 2012 3:30:23 PM

MKWASI wrote:
I would go for a few properties in the counties say 5 million. 1.5 Million in stocks and bonds. Unless its windfall income, you may also need to treat yourself that is invest some of it in happiness but make sure you don't visit dubai otherwise your milli would be up in smoke.

hizo hazitoki hapa!
#32 Posted : Tuesday, September 25, 2012 3:33:24 PM

ProverB wrote:
better still...whatever gave you the 7million....keep doing it. smile

Hah hah hah! A good one.

Go to Dubai with a DIVA and relax. The rest is history!
#33 Posted : Tuesday, September 25, 2012 4:51:55 PM

ProverB wrote:
i doubt nse will remain unshaken by politics

Boss a P/E of 10 & a dividend of 5% is considered very fair in many markets..

What politics?? We will have a peaceful elections and all the prophets of doom will all be tripping over themselves to buy stocks after its over...

Why not get in now??
KenyanLyrics
#34 Posted : Tuesday, September 25, 2012 5:17:18 PM

The repetitiveness of the suggestions betrays how narrow Kenyans' thinking is when it comes to investing. No wonder random Wahindis, Wazungus and Wachina come to our country and swiftly become mega-rich in a matter of 5 years or less.

While we are busy doing traditional stocks+bonds+realestate investments, the foreigners come in, spot virgin niches and attack them with no mercy, making out like bandits in the end. Take for example that oil in Turkana. The Mkenya saw that the best investment he could make would be the usual buy a plot -> sell it later formula. The Mzungu saw oil below that plot and is now mining. Fine, the Mkenya has some change in pocket, but the Mzungu now has money beyond his wildest dreams.

Bwana masukuma, I urge you to expand your mind and find the many poorly served niches we have in Africa. The greatest financial rewards lie there.
#35 Posted : Tuesday, September 25, 2012 5:22:45 PM

Vall wrote:
Marry me smile

EPIC Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Take for example that oil in Turkana.

@Kenyanlyrics....even if i have Iron ore in my backyard, the barrier that will hinder me into extracting it is the cost and knowledge of the how to go about it. We are just being real...
#36 Posted : Tuesday, September 25, 2012 5:32:34 PM

KenyanLyrics wrote:

While we are busy doing traditional stocks+bonds+realestate investments, the foreigners come in, spot virgin niches and attack them with no mercy, making out like bandits in the end. Take for example that oil in Turkana. The Mkenya saw that the best investment he could make would be the usual buy a plot -> sell it later formula. The Mzungu saw oil below that plot and is now mining..

KYL = Know Your Level

Akina wachina have billions of dollars while our friend has a meagre 7million Kshs ($80,000)...

Even Wazungu cannot do much with ($80,000)!

you seem to be the one with a shallow mind as you do not seem to know the level of experience, passion, CAPITAL, time & sweat that is needed to make any venture successful!

Drunkard
#37 Posted : Tuesday, September 25, 2012 5:43:43 PM

can someone advice me on how to invest this tidy sum.

All these people are excited and unrealistics, it is only one guy here who talked about risk profile and that I think is the only person who you should pay a little more attention to because he probably understand something about investment.

Mine is to tell you what not to do.

1)First if you're not yet marry, do not get married, thats the worst thing you can do at the moment.
2)If you've never had a hooker, do not get one and this is very important, if you've never been to a strip club do not go there. But if you really want to go to strip club start with training yourself by watching porn movies, if you watch porn movies 2 weeks straight you'll be so used to naked women that when you go to strip club you'll not be excited about nudity so you won't drop cash easly. Infact you'll be able to make great investment research at a strip club, I alway read WSJ at tit bars.
3)I know you're Masukuma you probably think kshs 7million is alot of money but it is not so do not let it get in your mind.
4)Do not give 10% to your church it is a reap off.
5)Don't come here expecting any advices!
young
#38 Posted : Tuesday, September 25, 2012 5:43:49 PM

guru267 wrote:
KenyanLyrics wrote:

While we are busy doing traditional stocks+bonds+realestate investments, the foreigners come in, spot virgin niches and attack them with no mercy, making out like bandits in the end. Take for example that oil in Turkana. The Mkenya saw that the best investment he could make would be the usual buy a plot -> sell it later formula. The Mzungu saw oil below that plot and is now mining..

KYL = Know Your Level

Akina wachina have billions of dollars while our friend has a meagre 7million Kshs ($80,000)...

you seem to be the one with a shallow mind as you do not seem to know the level of experience, passion, CAPITAL, time & sweat that is needed to make any venture successful!

Market cap of NSE is 12.5 Billion USD,
Market cap of Tullow Oil a small player in oil
business is 28 Billion USD.
Big players like Eni Italy where I work in their local subsidiary in Nigeria have a market cap of 83.5 Billion USD. Eni has won prospecting licence in Kenya but refused in Uganda due to alledged bribe (not proven) Uganda
energy minister of 300,000 USD ie 240 Million Kenyan shillings and a ship load of Uganda shillings if you multiply 320 Million Ksh by 29 Ugandan shillings???

How much then is 7 million Ksh ????

There is nothing to compare my friend.
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
Jamani
#39 Posted : Tuesday, September 25, 2012 5:58:15 PM

young wrote:
guru267 wrote:
KenyanLyrics wrote:

KYL = Know Your Level

Market cap of NSE is 12.5 Billion USD,
Market cap of Tullow Oil a small player in oil
business is 28 Billion USD.
Big players like Eni Italy where I work in their local subsidiary in Nigeria have a market cap of 83.5 Billion USD. Eni has won prospecting licence in Kenya but refused in Uganda due to alledged bribe (not proven) Uganda
energy minister of 300,000 USD ie 240 Million Kenyan shillings and a ship load of Uganda shillings if you multiply 320 Million Ksh by 29 Ugandan shillings???

How much then is 7 million Ksh ????

There is nothing to compare my friend.

Enough said (s)he has heard you.....
#40 Posted : Tuesday, September 25, 2012 6:20:35 PM

Vie for a parliamentary seat and make money after winning the elections,he he