wazua Mon, Feb 3, 2025

Lecturer salaries
pariah
#1 Posted : Thursday, September 20, 2012 1:24:23 PM

Now with 7.8billion addition to lecturer salaries, would knowledgeable wazuans let us know what typical lecturer salaries are going to be.
sky5
#2 Posted : Thursday, September 20, 2012 2:10:34 PM

It (Govt) proposes to raise the pay of a professor to a maximum of Sh400,000, up from the current 165,000 a month, and a new house allowance of Sh95,000 up from Sh64,000.

An associate professor’s salary would rise to Sh298,000, moving from Sh135,000 and a house allowance of Sh85,000.

A senior lecturer would earn Sh221,000 and a house allowance of Sh75,000, lecturer Sh165,000 and a house allowance of Sh70,000 and an assistant lecturer Sh121,000 plus Sh55,000 for housing.

Similarly, pay of a graduate assistant lecturer - the lowest paid -- should rise to Sh78,000 and Sh45,000 for housing from the current Sh40,000 and Sh30,000 for housing, a month.

source:Daily Nation
#3 Posted : Thursday, September 20, 2012 2:37:57 PM

sky5 wrote:
It (Govt) proposes to raise the pay of a professor to a maximum of Sh400,000, up from the current 165,000 a month, and a new house allowance of Sh95,000 up from Sh64,000.

An associate professor’s salary would rise to Sh298,000, moving from Sh135,000 and a house allowance of Sh85,000.

A senior lecturer would earn Sh221,000 and a house allowance of Sh75,000, lecturer Sh165,000 and a house allowance of Sh70,000 and an assistant lecturer Sh121,000 plus Sh55,000 for housing.

Similarly, pay of a graduate assistant lecturer - the lowest paid -- should rise to Sh78,000 and Sh45,000 for housing from the current Sh40,000 and Sh30,000 for housing, a month.

Bado sitahama corporate.
How many years will it take me to be a fully fledged prof?

keraka
#4 Posted : Thursday, September 20, 2012 3:57:42 PM

sky5 wrote:

Bado sitahama corporate.

MMMMMMMMMMMM Now i know.No wonder i rightly adviced myself to only teach on part time.

The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.
rock
#5 Posted : Thursday, September 20, 2012 4:10:32 PM

Enyewe how long does it take?I know a prof who allegedly took 2 years distance learning to finish.
#6 Posted : Thursday, September 20, 2012 4:13:00 PM

rock wrote:

Enyewe how long does it take?I know a prof who allegedly took 2 years distance learning to finish.

I know a "prof" who has been associate prof for his entire active professional life...30 years to be precise.
And he is the only "prof" of a certain engineering unit in the entire country.

rock
#7 Posted : Thursday, September 20, 2012 4:17:50 PM

rock wrote:

I know a "prof" who has been associate prof for his entire active professional life...30 years to be precise.
And he is the only "prof" of a certain engineering unit in the entire country.

Guess it also depends on the unit plus where you do your PhD.From what i've gathered i would say SA is favored by kenyans.
pariah
#8 Posted : Thursday, September 20, 2012 4:28:07 PM

sky5 wrote:

Bado sitahama corporate.

i dint know you are trained to be a prof, isnt a prof title something that a university department confers on you depending on your achieveents? The youngest prof I know is 34 in Maseno University
mdudu
#9 Posted : Thursday, September 20, 2012 4:31:28 PM

pariah wrote:
sky5 wrote:

Bado sitahama corporate.

i dint know you are trained to be a prof, isnt a prof title something that a university department confers on you depending on your achieveents? The youngest prof I know is 34 in Maseno University

A PhD plus teaching and research at the university.
#10 Posted : Thursday, September 20, 2012 4:36:34 PM

rock wrote:

...maybe he was doing PhD, you don't take a course to be a professor, you practice!!!!!
keraka
#11 Posted : Thursday, September 20, 2012 4:51:46 PM

rock wrote:

...maybe he was doing PhD, you don't take a course to be a professor, you practice!!!!!

Btwn You can be a prof without being a PHD.Examples all over including Kina prof.Luvai of maseno.The Us system refers to all senior lecturers as profs. in their field.

A thirty something year old prof. in Maseno,Quite an achievement that is,I know of guys at UON who have continuously dedicated themselves to teaching, research and publishing but are still associates.
#12 Posted : Thursday, September 20, 2012 4:57:53 PM

keraka wrote:
rock wrote:

Btwn You can be a prof without being a PHD.Examples all over including Kina prof.Luvai of maseno.The Us system refers to all senior lecturers as profs. in their field.

A thirty something year old prof. in Maseno,Quite an achievement that is,i know of guys at UON who have continuously dedicated themselves to teaching, research and publishing but are still associates.

Very true, a PhD is an academic qualification, a prof is a rank at the university..reminds me Prof. Acholla of UoN Chiromo who it is alleged did not finish his PhD after it was stolen by some lady and he decided never to pursue it again, he is now a prof!!!
rock
#13 Posted : Thursday, September 20, 2012 5:08:25 PM

keraka wrote:
rock wrote:

A thirty something year old prof. in Maseno,Quite an achievement that is,i know of guys at UON who have continuously dedicated themselves to teaching, research and publishing but are still associates.

Very true, a PhD is an academic qualification, a prof is a rank at the university..reminds me Prof. Acholla of UoN Chiromo who it is alleged did not finish his PhD after it was stolen by some lady and he decided never to pursue it again, he is now a prof!!!

Ok,thats informative.So after PhD you are called daktari not prof..when i googled most people are saying it takes an average of 5 years to do your doctorate studies which seems too long imo or what am i not getting.Can one do it in less time?
keraka
#14 Posted : Thursday, September 20, 2012 5:22:30 PM

rock wrote:
keraka wrote:
rock wrote:

Ok,thats informative.So after PhD you are called daktari not prof..when i googled most people are saying it takes an average of 5 years to do your doctorate studies which seems too long imo or what am i not getting.Can one do it in less time?

Yes you can do a PHD in less than two years moreso in some foreighn Universities.Most PHD coursework takes between 1 and 1.5 years the rest of the time will be wasted in thesis writting.It might take you 1 year to conceive a research topic and another year for it to be accepted,dont forget youll be travelling allover kenya looking for your prof. to do a grammatical correction for your research topic.My spouse was so psyched to achieve the highest in academia,only to be frustrated in writing her masters research work for four Years(In fact her supervisor died along the way) since then hataki "ujinga" ya academia.

I know most of us here have the masters paper lakini project tunajua tuu abstract coz it was written by some freelancers.Iko chida hapo but its good to try.

In India you do your PHD in two years flat na pia unapatiwa ka bachelor/Diploma certificate upelekee mama incase she dint have any.I think its the best.
pariah
#15 Posted : Thursday, September 20, 2012 5:25:51 PM

pariah wrote:
how much do lecturers earn in the following positions

1. Tutorial fellow
2. Ass Lecturer
3. Lecturer
3. Seniour Lecturer
4. Associate Prof
5 Prof
#16 Posted : Thursday, September 20, 2012 5:28:19 PM

keraka wrote:

In India you do your PHD in two years flat na pia unapatiwa ka bachelor/Diploma certificate upelekee mama incase she dint have any.I think its the best.

i hope hauko seriousLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#17 Posted : Thursday, September 20, 2012 5:39:57 PM

shida yetu ni ati we feel - ENTITLED TO EARN. If you were important you would earn more. My heart goes out to the Teachers but lecturers...NEVER!
pariah
#18 Posted : Thursday, September 20, 2012 5:42:43 PM

shida yetu ni ati we feel - ENTITLED TO EARN. If you were important you would earn more. My heart goes out to the Teachers but lecturers...NEVER!

teachers work 9 months a year,
#19 Posted : Thursday, September 20, 2012 7:50:10 PM

sky5 wrote:

Hii ni porojo tupu!!!

This is what UASU was demanding. The goverment's offer will be nowhere close to this!

The 7.5B is for ALL university staff - teaching and none teaching and it includes backdated salaries for 3 years and the total increment for the year. Even UASU officials don't know what it translates to and they have asked for time to do the calculation. When the calculation is done, it might translate to only a few thousands!

The goverment arrived at this figure using some formula but there is a good reason they mentioned a round figure instead of a percentage increase. To make the amount LOOK huge. Why not simply say "We have increased the salaries by x%"? Because x% might be 4%. I'm just saying. Watch this space!
#20 Posted : Thursday, September 20, 2012 10:59:06 PM

Let me try to address the some of the issues raised here.

1) How do you become a Prof. This is decided by a high ranking univesity committee. You need to have a Phd., kibao research, teaching experience, supervised a good number of masters and Phd. students, have enough publications, written univesity level books or quite a number of chapters in various books etc. etc. The problem is that there is no specific/exact number and combination of these things that you must have to become a Prof. and this makes the process very subjective. Public universities have traditionally been economical when it comes to the issue of professors and as a result there are several people who have achieved the above and much more and they are still Dr. so and so.

2) Can you become a Prof. without a Phd? In Kenya, your chances are between zero and none. The Kenyan system is very rigid. Phd. then the above. If you get your professorship elsewhere and come back to Kenya, lucky you. It cannot be reversed - if it is from a recognized university.

3) How long does it take to do a Phd.? It will take you a minimum of three years even if you are doing it full time in a foreign university. In Kenya, it can take you up to ten years! I'm sure most of you read "Sitting on your papers" in the Daily Nation some time back. There are people who go to the River Road of India. Those ones I will not discuss. Hizo ni degree za kununua and they will not get you far in Kenya!!!