New NHIF rates to take effect October 1
#1 Posted : Friday, September 14, 2012 12:20:02 PM

High income earners (over sh100,000) to pay sh2,000 monthly
Lowest income earners (sh6,000 and below) to pay sh150
MutantJ
#2 Posted : Friday, September 14, 2012 1:07:13 PM

...Now everybody should go on strike!...Who will help Kenyans?...I will vote for whoever promises to remove this oppression.
...We must either find a way or make one...
#3 Posted : Friday, September 14, 2012 1:25:15 PM

Amount too high. The taxpayer should be given a concession. Maybe making it deductible for PAYE calculation purposes.
#4 Posted : Friday, September 14, 2012 3:06:54 PM

We wait for another court order!!!
Museveni
#5 Posted : Friday, September 14, 2012 3:13:48 PM

Amount too high. The taxpayer should be given a concession. Maybe making it deductible for PAYE calculation purposes.

This will be like taking from the right hand giving to the left hand, which means consequently the P.A.Y.E rates will be reviewed to cater for the 'lost' revenue
Live and learn; and don’t forget, nothing ventured, nothing gained.
GGK
#6 Posted : Friday, September 14, 2012 3:17:45 PM

Is it the same NHIF that could not manage a scheme for the civil servants. Does this mean Clinix -Reloaded?
"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
FancyFace
#7 Posted : Friday, September 14, 2012 3:26:38 PM

pesa ya campaign..

Problems can get out of proportion, and not only in the wee small hours. Don't let the problems eclipse the Master. Let the Master eclipse the problems.
MutantJ
#8 Posted : Friday, September 14, 2012 4:18:56 PM

...Who will go to court this time...COTU, Pray Sad
...We must either find a way or make one...
mmunguti
#9 Posted : Friday, September 14, 2012 5:50:51 PM

MutantJ wrote:

...Who will go to court this time...COTU, Pray Sad

we could always join hands and go to court. i dont mind paying more moey...i just want it to be put to good use. i want a financial report at the end of every year. acountability!
abdulrahman
#10 Posted : Monday, September 17, 2012 9:57:10 AM

mibbz
#11 Posted : Monday, September 17, 2012 10:45:31 AM

pesa ya campaign and we shall not allow it.1st they removed the ksh1600 monthly medical allowance in the pretext that it shall be moved to nhif,now they want to add another ksh2000 to it.a total of ksh43,200 per year from each civil servant to be given to hoospitals that lack the besic infrastructure to offer such services.this is impunity!!
#12 Posted : Monday, September 17, 2012 11:07:27 AM

(150/6000)x 100 .........= 2.5%
(2000/100,000)x100.......= 2.0%
(me/yangu)x100...........= smile%
(2000/830,000) x 100.....= 0.25%

he poor still pays more for services he/she will never enjoy.

#13 Posted : Monday, September 17, 2012 11:37:38 AM

GGK wrote:
Is it the same NHIF that could not manage a scheme for the civil servants. Does this mean Clinix -Reloaded?

Be prepared to see more 20ft containers near you serving as Clinix 'hospitals'.
GGK
#14 Posted : Monday, September 17, 2012 12:08:16 PM

I think GoK is just trying to irritate us...
Where is the infrastructure to offer the universal healthcare services?

Am lost for words.... What would happen if one relinquishes his citizenship? Am weighing my options
"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
Ceinz
#15 Posted : Monday, September 17, 2012 12:58:44 PM

A percentage based system applied across the board will have been fairer. For instance at 2%.

A mwananchi earning Kshs. 10 K contribution Kshs. 200
An mpig with a salary of 850K contribution Kshs. 17,000.
“small step for man”
#16 Posted : Monday, September 17, 2012 4:41:44 PM

kwani impunity are you an mpig or what?
#17 Posted : Monday, September 17, 2012 5:23:22 PM

@Impunity is just smart. Lakini this gava is kishwo ngumu, ojinga tuu sana!
#18 Posted : Tuesday, September 18, 2012 9:32:23 AM

Mpiglet.

And for your info 80% of all wazuans are around that smiling percentage of mine,you should know mindo krass ni kina nani.

#19 Posted : Tuesday, September 25, 2012 3:13:55 PM

Now that Atwoli has been outshone by Sossion can he come out and redeem himself by crashing this NHIF new charges!

Everyday there's an ad in the gazeti about this new rates I get worried.

I don't think NHIF is a bad idea but the timing is suspect, this project should be taken up by the new government after elections.

#20 Posted : Tuesday, September 25, 2012 3:21:02 PM

I am self employed and been paying 160 bob per month which i dont mind. how do i get to the bracket of 300 bob and not 500 bob. Anybody with an idea?