wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

3 Pages<123
Your Fly540 Experience
#41 Posted : Sunday, September 09, 2012 1:33:31 PM

Pole sana kwake some companies are just pathetic how do you sell a product which you know nothing about?Translates to poor training and lack of motivation of the staff...

I don't know but I feel as if they played smart here.
The flight's final destination I guess was Lodwar not Kitale, but since they wanted a fully booked plane they took them all in without informing them of what to expect.I am sure they would have opted otherwise and that's not what drive 540 wanted.
And now I add 2+2 and conclude that, it's the reason the fellows gave me a blank stare.
Huko mbele ni kunoma.

Next time they will be put on bodabodas! and claim poor visiblity.
I wouldn't risk recommending that shady plane.

premio
#42 Posted : Sunday, September 09, 2012 6:24:35 PM

@vituvingi and the others Fly-540 has never flown an ATR they fly the Dash-8 and nowadays have 2-3 Canadair jet engines but cant blame u they luk quite similar. Its KQ partner Precision air that flies the ATR-40 and ATR 72
http://www.abpic.co.uk/images/images/1195400M.jpg

http://www.aviationbusin...20copy%20new_400x265.jpg
Spend.thrift
#43 Posted : Sunday, September 09, 2012 8:56:05 PM

[quote=premio]@vituvingi and the others Fly-540 has never flown an ATR they fly the Dash-8 and nowadays have 2-3 Canadair jet engines but cant blame u they luk quite similar. Its KQ partner Precision air that flies the ATR-40 and ATR 72
http://www.abpic.co.uk/images/images/1195400M.jpg

http://www.aviationbusin...0copy%20new_400x265.jpg[/quote]

Premio, get your facts right.

1. An ATR and a Dash 8 do not 'luk' similar at all apart from the fact that they all use turbo propelled engines. Dash is made by de Havilland while ATR is made by a European consortium (French/Italy). The size alone is enough to tell them apart

There is no ATR-40, unless you produced a new variant from your kitchen this evening.
premio
#44 Posted : Monday, September 10, 2012 10:00:28 AM

Spend yeah i meant ATR-42. I didnt say they look alike kabisa but do a layman they look alike because of the propellers and the size. The ATR-72 is longer but the ATR 42 IS almost similar in size with the DASH-8. The main difference is in the design of the landing gear wells with the dash-8 landing gear wells connected with the wings while the ATR is low with gear on the a/c fuselage/belly which makes it ideal for none-paved runways. The major issue here is that fly-540 does not fly ATR
#45 Posted : Monday, September 10, 2012 1:26:40 PM

I once did that matatu round of Kisumu - Eldoret - Nairobi on a Friday evening, by the time you land at JKIA it looks like a big joke that you are from Kisumu to NAI on a plane. They had better get their act together.

#46 Posted : Monday, September 10, 2012 3:37:41 PM

I once did that matatu round of Kisumu - Eldoret - Nairobi on a Friday evening, by the time you land at JKIA it looks like a big joke that you are from Kisumu to NAI on a plane. They had better get their act together.

Gosh.
It's no wonder people alight from Fly sorry Drive 540 looking worn out and depressed.
Kumbe it's cz they travelled on hoppas part of the journey.Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
It seems this is a habit they have gotten used to and its a BIG SHAME.

chiaroscuro
#47 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2012 12:31:55 PM

DRIVE 540! That's a nice one. My friend had similar experience with Jetlink... or was it East African Air Express.... or maybe 540.
#48 Posted : Wednesday, September 12, 2012 10:38:10 PM

However much you hate KQ, it's plain wrong to put it in the same line as drive540, unless you are one Itumbi!!!!
#49 Posted : Thursday, September 13, 2012 12:09:11 PM

I've heard a story that 540 is on the verge of collapse! Delaying supplier payments, etc. There is supposed to be a buyout in the works.
#50 Posted : Thursday, September 13, 2012 1:54:27 PM

Just came from their office.Mentioned their matatu service.
Said they have cancelled the kitale route till further notice and changed flight times to morning hours.
So be warned usijipate kwa bodaboda.

#51 Posted : Friday, September 14, 2012 12:59:34 PM

If there's one thing which freaks me out ni those propeller planes....
#52 Posted : Friday, September 14, 2012 2:56:15 PM

Have used it once from Juba to Nbi and the fares are quite friendly. Its better than taking a bus ride but not as good as either KQ or Jetlink. To be fair, let not expect " King Service" at a "Pauper's price". In flights, you get what you pay for.
anika66
#53 Posted : Friday, September 14, 2012 10:28:06 PM

No wonder just the other day they cancelled a morning flight to Juba two days before I could fly and they then said they will recharge my credit card with the money i had paid them. I had to book another airline two days to my flight. Nimemalizana na wao.
Keeping it all in the family