Mutoko trending for Plagiarism!!!
#1 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2012 10:31:54 AM

Caroline Mutoko is trending on twitter for plagiarism:

She wrote this article as her own in the star

http://www.the-star.co.k...to-my-20-something-self

It's however copy pasted word for word from this article:

http://crunkfeministcoll...y-twentysomething-self/

.....akina Alai are having a field day bashing her, that was plain wrong from her, with all that ego....SMH, Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

#2 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2012 10:40:35 AM

I keep on telling these people they have a lot to learn about the internet. One of them is that the truth always catches up with you.
#3 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2012 10:43:30 AM

Eti usiseme plagiarism, sema carolinemutoko!!!!!
#4 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2012 10:57:51 AM

she has edited part of the original and added her own...the only problem from her piece is failing to give credit where its due...I think when you copy from multiple sources its Research smile .
#5 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2012 10:59:20 AM

selah wrote:
she has edited part of the original and added her own...the only problem from her piece is failing to give credit where its due...I think when you copy from multiple sources its Research smile .

She copied whole sentences and whole paragraphs and added the word Mutoko....That is plagarism and she should hope that blogger she copied from has a sense of humor.
#6 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2012 11:17:26 AM

I'm with @selah on this issue - the style/copied words would account for just half of the article. I actually note on the lists no effort on her part to conceal/deceive as her input is added in brackets in part.

The problem with most casual writers in the Internet age is the gravity of attribution escapes them [a lesson for us all].

On a separate issue, a very mortified CNN journalist Fareed Zakaria was recently reinstated after his unreserved apology for plagirism. His offence was just a paragraph long.

The lesson though is both were people the pack were after. Perhaps there is a case for treading lightly on the earth.

#7 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2012 11:22:00 AM

Is she that dumb or she just decided to play one for that one article!
#8 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2012 11:24:38 AM

I'll explain why plagarism or copying content is frowned upon online and worse will get you sued very fast. I'm guessing the star website is hosted in the US. So it can be sued so she'd better apologise very quickly.

One of the items looked at by search engines to rank a website and quality score is original content.

If an article is first found in website A and then Website B copies that article, Website B is "punished" for having duplicate content. In some cases, both Website A and B are "punished" for having the same content.

The google algo can identify paragraphs, sentences, parts of sentences and even phrases to determine if the content is duplicate.

In fact, if you want to fail online, make it a habit to copy other people's content and you will fail.

So even if she copied a sentence, a phrase or anything it is hurting website A and depending on the mood of the owner of Website A, they can compel the hosting company to remove that article or worse remove the whole website.

That is how evil online companies think of people who are copycats as this case clearly illustrates.
#9 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2012 11:25:55 AM

....with her holier than thou attitude, this is a shame!!!
#10 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2012 11:28:24 AM

....with her holier than thou attitude, this is a shame!!!

Was about to say that but I hesitated. But it is a low for her. Kucopy.
#11 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2012 11:30:06 AM

Na hawa star wana hii tabia there is still a case pending between them and AFP of France,they used to lift articles word by word even the pictures without giving recognition to the original writer,they had to go to the negotiating table and come up with a multi million agreement...
#12 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2012 11:34:10 AM

Is she that dumb or she just decided to play one for that one article!

the former, the latter requires the kind of brain power that inexplicably seems allergic to her.
jamplu
#13 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2012 11:47:08 AM

Carols Disclaimer....
I don’t consider myself a journalist, far, far from it.......blah blah blah

....she could even have done some slight changes and thrown-in the creative plagiarism spin lakini hii yake bwana nikama kucopy term paper na unacopy mpaka Admission number na jina.

rock
#14 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2012 11:49:18 AM

From the reactions you'd think she's been accused of first degree murder!It seems guys were waiting on the edge of their seats for her to slip up.Noone is perfect,she should just apologise and life goes on.
chiaroscuro
#15 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2012 11:51:54 AM

Shame on you Caroline!

On a 600-word piece, you copy over 300. Shame, shame shame!

And again I say, shame.
chiaroscuro
#16 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2012 11:53:01 AM

rock wrote:
From the reactions you'd think she's been accused of first degree murder!It seems guys were waiting on the edge of their seats for her to slip up.Noone is perfect,she should just apologise and life goes on.

Well, so far, she hasn't!
chiaroscuro
#17 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2012 11:55:39 AM

Also on this annoying list are the Kenyan photo editors who have taken to using internet photos to accompany general life articles... and the photos come without captions to indicate their source. DOUBLE SHAME on them as well!
ralp_mutu
#18 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2012 12:11:27 PM

"When it comes to plagiarism, Mutoko aims for The Star" #CarolineMutokod from twitter
My folks told me that my very first word was 'billionaire'
#19 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2012 12:22:25 PM

I'll explain why plagarism or copying content is frowned upon online and worse will get you sued very fast. I'm guessing the star website is hosted in the US. So it can be sued so she'd better apologise very quickly.

One of the items looked at by search engines to rank a website and quality score is original content.

If an article is first found in website A and then Website B copies that article, Website B is "punished" for having duplicate content. In some cases, both Website A and B are "punished" for having the same content.

The google algo can identify paragraphs, sentences, parts of sentences and even phrases to determine if the content is duplicate.

In fact, if you want to fail online, make it a habit to copy other people's content and you will fail.

So even if she copied a sentence, a phrase or anything it is hurting website A and depending on the mood of the owner of Website A, they can compel the hosting company to remove that article or worse remove the whole website.

That is how evil online companies think of people who are copycats as this case clearly illustrates.

what happens to all those news sites that quote paragraphs from speeches - are they also punished ?
MKWASI
#20 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2012 1:57:20 PM

Guess if she was doing a term paper on the same topic (She was not long ago in class for some addition remember- where she earned good grades) and several others lift from the same source..No wonder you meet some of the lecturers with gloomy faces..Imagine reading the same answers for around 200 plagiarism students, you can have tired face, a very tired face.