wazua Mon, Feb 3, 2025

8 blogging sites risk closure, fine.
#1 Posted : Wednesday, September 05, 2012 6:57:54 PM

National Steering Committee on media monitoring has held a press conference. They will 'squeeze and pinch' often broke bloggers of 8 sites - Ouch!

I wonder which these could be - any ideas?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=83fz7PMJl_I

#2 Posted : Wednesday, September 05, 2012 7:05:37 PM

I'm confused. How do you close a blog? They should start with that Hms fellow before blowing air here.

Sometimes I don't just understand how we hire some of these people who have no idea what they are talking about.

If I setup a blog, and don't want you to know its me, I can assure you, you won't. So that fine and law will again be used to go for bloggers who are airing their opinions about wrong things in gov't. Not the actual hate mongers who can hide their tracks perfectly.

Total upus.
#3 Posted : Wednesday, September 05, 2012 8:12:55 PM

Come on alma...kwani how does China do it? Its very possible ask real IT people
KenyanLyrics
#4 Posted : Wednesday, September 05, 2012 9:00:52 PM

I'm confused. How do you close a blog? They should start with that Hms fellow before blowing air here.

Sometimes I don't just understand how we hire some of these people who have no idea what they are talking about.

If I setup a blog, and don't want you to know its me, I can assure you, you won't. So that fine and law will again be used to go for bloggers who are airing their opinions about wrong things in gov't. Not the actual hate mongers who can hide their tracks perfectly.

Total upus.

No sir, you can be tracked online. Especially with the advent of social media and electronic payments where most people register their exact details.
slickyoz
#5 Posted : Wednesday, September 05, 2012 9:12:11 PM

They got A-lie , that just shows who they are after..popular bloggers with many followers..now i know why lady admin is applies stringent rules
Those who follow the crowd usually get lost in it
#6 Posted : Wednesday, September 05, 2012 9:19:15 PM

forget about it..this topic has been overtaken by technology.
slickyoz
#7 Posted : Wednesday, September 05, 2012 9:28:19 PM

Most bloggers got no time to practice Blackhat techniques ,they just blog and never hide their tracks.
#8 Posted : Wednesday, September 05, 2012 9:35:38 PM

slickyoz wrote:
Most bloggers got no time to practice Blackhat techniques ,they just blog and never hide their tracks.

My point exactly...They will target an opinionated blogger who's doing this innocently and within his freedom of expression.

The real hate mongers have the time and the money to hire those who will hide their tracks.

I will help you think a bit.

You can get a fake id that you can use to get a real debit card. Using that fake ID create a "real" online profile that is as real as you and me. Start blogging and walla you are busy chasing a ghost.

The only thing that can help the gov't is if the terrorism act in the US is activated against a blogger. That my friend is a stretch for a Kenyan blogger.

Heck even opening up a blogger account does not require any documentation whatsoever. So exactly what are you talking about.

And with the advent of TOR privacy and fighting against gov't just got a notch higher.
slickyoz
#9 Posted : Wednesday, September 05, 2012 9:46:26 PM

slickyoz wrote:

My point exactly...They will target an opinionated blogger who's doing this innocently and within his freedom of expression.

The real hate mongers have the time and the money to hire those who will hide their tracks.

I will help you think a bit.

You can get a fake id that you can use to get a real debit card. Using that fake ID create a "real" online profile that is as real as you and me. Start blogging and walla you are busy chasing a ghost.

The only thing that can help the gov't is if the terrorism act in the US is activated against a blogger. That my friend is a stretch for a Kenyan blogger.

Heck even opening up a blogger account does not require any documentation whatsoever. So exactly what are you talking about.

And with the advent of TOR privacy and fighting against gov't just got a notch higher.

i get it Alma you dont have to explain that...10 hazelwood avenue ni mbali yenyewe
#10 Posted : Wednesday, September 05, 2012 9:48:06 PM

slickyoz wrote:

i get it Alma you dont have to explain that...10 hazelwood avenue ni mbali yenyewe

Try another one. Even my mother knows that one.Laughing out loudly bwana z
#11 Posted : Wednesday, September 05, 2012 10:11:07 PM

its silly...close a blog kwani iko hapa ama iko kwa cloud za safcon? google will not allow you to infringe on people's means of expression! saa hii ndio watagundua IT cannot be legislated...over to TOR!!
#12 Posted : Wednesday, September 05, 2012 10:20:53 PM

its silly...close a blog kwani iko hapa ama iko kwa cloud za safcon? google will not allow you to infringe on people's means of expression! saa hii ndio watagundua IT cannot be legislated...over to TOR!!

I dont think they can close a blog rather they can censor the IP address such that content cant be accessed in the country. Like they have done in China, infact in places like Saudi Arabia if your website has certain words haizi funguka huko
#13 Posted : Wednesday, September 05, 2012 10:24:14 PM

I dont think they can close a blog rather they can censor the IP address such that content cant be accessed in the country. Like they have done in China, infact in places like Saudi Arabia if your website has certain words haizi funguka huko

Google "proxies" "private proxies" "tor" "bypass chinese proxies" then we can talk
#14 Posted : Wednesday, September 05, 2012 10:25:59 PM

Google "proxies" "private proxies" "tor" "bypass chinese proxies" then we can talk

TOR ndio mambo yote...https://www.torproject.org/
#15 Posted : Wednesday, September 05, 2012 10:27:56 PM

Many of these bloggers have no clue what this is, they just wake up and spew hatred, infact tor is blocked in Ethiopia
#16 Posted : Wednesday, September 05, 2012 10:28:54 PM

TOR ndio mambo yote...https://www.torproject.org/

these gov't guys are like 5 yrs behind tech. very scary indeed
#17 Posted : Wednesday, September 05, 2012 10:50:43 PM

Many of these bloggers have no clue what this is, they just wake up and spew hatred, infact tor is blocked in Ethiopia

its possible to limit traffic (suspect traffic)
but there are tools to limit beat it using tools such as obfsproxy to obfuscate traffic. the struggle continues.... hata china cannot block all traffic!
#18 Posted : Wednesday, September 05, 2012 10:54:23 PM

In my opinion - no one should ban or block or even censor free speech! if they do its a slippery slope back to moisim
#19 Posted : Wednesday, September 05, 2012 11:02:02 PM

All you Tor fans ......You hide behind TOR and chances are you will be the only reader of your blog..... This is some pretty advanced security stuff to setup, normal web readers could not be bothered to tinker with Tor clients. It is out of the question for a normal blogger from a practicality point of view.
On a normal platform however? you will be nabbed .. they will just get a court order for routing records from Isps and start narrowing things down ...even if you re on a Gsm modem ...at the other end is an IP router...you pair an Ip route with an Imei session ...toast!! It will be worse if you have setup some payment/donate sort of system. But that would also take work and some serious technical chops ...doubt anyone in this govt has the will and ability to pull it off..
#20 Posted : Wednesday, September 05, 2012 11:06:51 PM

quicksand wrote:
All you Tor fans ......You hide behind TOR and chances are you will be the only reader of your blog..... This is some pretty advanced security stuff to setup, normal web readers could not be bothered to tinker with Tor clients. It is out of the question for a normal blogger from a practicality point of view.
On a normal platform however? you will be nabbed .. they will just get a court order for routing records from Isps and start narrowing things down ...even if you re on a Gsm modem ...at the other end is an IP router...you pair an Ip route with an Imei session ...toast!! It will be worse if you have setup some payment/donate sort of system. But that would also take work and some serious technical chops ...doubt anyone in this govt has the will and ability to pull it off..

In the case of Alshabab, I guess they are not alone in it. As for hate speech, well i wait to see how far they will go