wazua Thu, Jan 30, 2025

Capital = Ksh. 550,000; What are my options?
p_k_m
#1 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2012 9:58:35 AM

I am a young professional (about 30 yrs) and have managed to save about a half mill that I am looking to invest. I also have a bro who is not employed and he is going to manage the business for me.
A number of options on the table:
(Option #1) Matatu business
- price of Mat = around 0.7mil; monthly revenue (after expenses) = about 30K
- this means a mat will pay for itself in 2 years
- + it is a source of employment for bro + a makanga

(Option #2) Taxi business
- price of taxi = about 0.6mil; monthly revenue (after expenses) is about 25K
- taxi will pay for itself in about 2 yrs also
- employment for one person

(Option #3) Farming
- thinking of maybe hens or broilers; don't have the numbers on cost and return yet
- this needs land (we have a kidogo plot space at home)

What other ideas are out there?
#2 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2012 10:20:22 AM

All the options are viable.
Option #1 Many people in Wazua are wary about this due to the hassle that come with it.
Option #2 is good but market maybe saturated.
Option #3 is good, only needs your attention or someone who loves this job to manage it for you.

However, story about "blos" and relatives in business is no to me Shame on you
I've lost alot of money by employing relatives.
Currently, I'm nursing my tractor, which was totally misused. I've taken it away from home, and stored it in another mzee's store (non-relative) just to keep it far from my relas!!!!
#3 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2012 1:40:10 PM

I like the way you are thinking, but I'm worried that you've chosen your brother to manage the business for you.

take it from this old man: there is only one person you can trust in this world - your spouse!

All other relatives will disappoint you. They will eat your money and then laugh at you when you run broke. Your wife/husband will be with you through thick and thin.

You are better off with a complete total stranger than with a blood relative.

And if you can't trust your spouse, then you will live a very unhappy life.
marting
#4 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2012 2:00:31 PM

am looking for a way to like Elder mukiha's advice...well said sir.
.Success is Intentional.
#5 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2012 2:57:03 PM

pkm, just because others wamechezwa na their relatives doesn't mean the same the will happen to you. They don't tell you how many have been conned by strangers. They are more than those conned by relas, according to me.

You know your brother best. If you trust him, go for it.
S.Mutaga III
#6 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2012 3:56:41 PM

P-K-M...blood and business dont mix...but its your responsibility to help ur brother...give him a soft loan of 100k and tell him to start a biz...with the remaining 450k,invest 100k in high dividend yeilding stocks,and 300k venture into 2 businesses...the remaining 50k will be used to meet unexpected expenses during the running of the businesses for the first month.
A successful man is not he who gets the best, it is he who makes the best from what he gets.
#7 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2012 11:31:42 PM

Please dont take option one....that car will forever be breaking down and u will get enough excuses of how the cops are always keeping the mat out of the road. I'd rather taxi anytime but make sure its operating in a marketable route (estates are the best) I know of a former newspaper vendor in south-b who now runs taxis. As for the kuku, from my mom's experience, it can be the best or the worst venture, when they grow up fine, you will smile all the way to the bank, but when they get sick, all will be gone in a matter of minutes - if you decide to take this path, ensure you have enough aloevera planted near by.

Finally, please dont put all the eggs in one basket.
iKenya
#8 Posted : Wednesday, September 05, 2012 2:47:11 AM

mambo ya gari ni hasara! hata kama ni wewe mwenyewe unaiendesha...
Buy when there's blood in the streets, even if the blood is your own...
cmk
#9 Posted : Wednesday, September 05, 2012 8:56:47 AM

iKenya wrote:
mambo ya gari ni hasara! hata kama ni wewe mwenyewe unaiendesha...

kila biashara ni risk..make choice
Every man is guilty of all the good he didn't do-
Voltaire
#10 Posted : Wednesday, September 05, 2012 9:23:18 AM

Matatu is a no no. Mara polisi, driver, makanga, spares, repairs, mechanics, fuel, roads et all.

another thing, you can never ever trust a relative to run the business on your behave. they will always feel you owe them something and teal from you or do it with an i dont care attitude.

You can only be sucessful with relas with the operations of the business are well laid out, it is a joint venture and everybody's contributions are well defined and remunerated. Failure on anybody's part is well documenated and there is loss of sorts in terms of future earnings.

i am talking from experience!
Foz00
#11 Posted : Wednesday, September 05, 2012 10:01:12 AM

I'd say go for kukus, do your research, attend free training and you are good. I HAVE KEPT KUKU FOR 3 YEARS 28 BATCHES MINIMUM 1000PCS AND NOT EVEN ONCE HAVE MORE THAN 10% DIED OF DISEASE!!!!!!!!!! just ensure you have someone wit a keen eye and if they notice anything to alert you/vet mara moja.
p_k_m
#12 Posted : Wednesday, September 05, 2012 12:45:37 PM

Thank you all for your comments and feedback. I will definitely keep the "blood-&-business-don't-mix" mantra in mind but I also believe that it's all about taking calculated risks.

It sounds like from the feedback so far, the ranking is:

#1. Kuku
Pros : Rapid turnover; easy to maintain (maji + unga + dawa = happy chickens)
Cons: Risk of chickens falling sick and dying; risk of mis-management

#2. Taxi
Pros : not as hectic as matatu; less maintenance and fewer people to manage
Cons : Market might be saturated; need to get a good location

#3. Matatu
Pros : good cash flow; source of employment for 2
Cons: need to support mshaharaz of a few cops; repairs/parts/maintenance etc

The question I have is, what other options are there? Where is the smart money getting invested?
I know land is hot right now. My hesitation is that the bubble might burst soon and I do not want to buy at the top. Not to mention I would need about twice as much to get a decent ka-plot + about a mill to build something on the land. Thoughts?

I can invest in stocks etc as most people here propose but what I am looking to do is to build a business.
#13 Posted : Wednesday, September 05, 2012 1:05:29 PM

forget matatu and taxi, unless you are planning to have more than one and you have enough time on your hands to chase them around and supervise the driver and makanga (even if its your bro) - at least when you are starting.

kukus are ok and small space will do with layered nests, but they also require a lot of time.

at the end of it all, any business requires a lot of input from your end especially time, that is if you want it to succeed.

if you want top help your bro, loan him the cash aanze biashara yake.
madhaquer
#14 Posted : Wednesday, September 05, 2012 2:27:28 PM

After trying out some of this business ideas with mixed success, I must say the key thing that determines your success is controls.

1. How do you know how much cash came in or left ?
2. How much effort did staff exert in the affairs of the business ?
3. Was that the best that could be done/ what opportunities did you miss?

Either the system is automated or you have the time on your hands to supervise alot of the key activities and make most decisions.

That said, this is why either your spouse or a partner (someone also financially vested in the business) is the best route to go. Blood family always seem to have a sense of entitlement for to little effort put in.
#15 Posted : Wednesday, September 05, 2012 9:09:52 PM

mukiha wrote:
I like the way you are thinking, but I'm worried that you've chosen your brother to manage the business for you.

take it from this old man: there is only one person you can trust in this world - your spouse!

All other relatives will disappoint you. They will eat your money and then laugh at you when you run broke. Your wife/husband will be with you through thick and thin.

You are better off with a complete total stranger than with a blood relative.

And if you can't trust your spouse, then you will live a very unhappy life.

...It all depends how your family was brought up,I owe almost everything to my bros and if there is anyone I can trust in this world is either one of them...
#16 Posted : Wednesday, September 05, 2012 10:02:58 PM

It depends on the type of relatives u have, i have handled my 2 bros portfolios, and one has doubles the other has regular cashflows for a yr now. he handles my investments in msa, no hustles, thea/c we have is any to sign. trust-personified. it depends on the forkojembes u call relas.
KenyanLyrics
#17 Posted : Wednesday, September 05, 2012 10:28:21 PM

I sense that one of your main motivations is to help your brother out of a slump. My advice would be to help him set up the biz, and then leave him to own it all if he proves himself. That thing of wanting dividends will bring problems, even if the biz performs well. Trust that he will pay you back when your hour of need arises.
Kaka M
#18 Posted : Thursday, September 06, 2012 3:20:23 PM

http://wazua.co.ke/forum.aspx?g=posts&t=13397
http://wazua.co.ke/forum...&t=20390#post314800

If you have a relative who can understand what you have in mind in terms of business and is honest then I think you can manage, this is however easier said than done.
The problem starts when a relative decides to get a 48hr loan to solve a small cash problem since he/she is expecting cash from somewhere by then.
They actually get the expected cash but like it's said, "Kukopa ni arusi....
Then when you take the case to be arbitrated by another relative they will be so glad that your brother has started roofing his 1 room house and is therefore getting responsible. That he took his brothers money which he was supposed to buy more stock for biashara is never the point or you will be accused of being unhappy that your brother is taking steps to develop himself.
#19 Posted : Thursday, September 06, 2012 7:53:13 PM

Passive investment boss....park your money in a ka-plot for the time being...choose wisely,...watch it increase in value, until at least you get a clearer idea of what business to finally tie down the money (research)
Don't touch NSE for the time being,.....elections coming, I am suspecting lots of shares will head south
#20 Posted : Thursday, September 06, 2012 8:43:06 PM

quicksand wrote:
Passive investment boss....park your money in a ka-plot for the time being...choose wisely,...watch it increase in value, until at least you get a clearer idea of what business to finally tie down the money (research)
Don't touch NSE for the time being,.....elections coming, I am suspecting lots of shares will head south

That will be the best time to be greedy