wazua Sun, Jan 19, 2025

CIC Insurance group H1 2012 Results
FUNKY
#1 Posted : Thursday, August 30, 2012 9:49:07 AM

Profits down 17 percent due to one off listing at the NSE bourse costs!!

http://af.reuters.com/ar...ws/idAFL6E8JU13J20120830
StatMeister
#2 Posted : Thursday, August 30, 2012 10:09:32 AM

Some optimist want to by 500k shares at 1.00
A bad day fishing is better than a good day at work
mwekez@ji
#3 Posted : Thursday, August 30, 2012 10:52:56 AM

Net claims and policyholders benefits (an expense) jumped by a whopping 61% while earned premiums (an income) grew by 32%. The insurance business is growing by reducing profit margins/underwriting profits.
Ericsson
#4 Posted : Thursday, August 30, 2012 11:00:07 AM

If you look at the results and profits before exceptional items compared to last year it shows that the profits grew by ksh.14 million.
The company also needs to be active in the stock market to increase the returns and not solely rely on government securities with interest rates now falling.
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
mwekez@ji
#5 Posted : Thursday, August 30, 2012 11:12:34 AM

@Ericsson, agreed. Government securities are low risk, low return investments. CIC needs to pick some quoted and unquoted stocks. If they cant stomach stock market risk, they need do real estate big time. Otherwise, a growing insurance company cannot rely on the underwriting profits and government securities. They need to make better use of the float.
#6 Posted : Thursday, August 30, 2012 11:56:18 AM

mwekez@ji wrote:
@Ericsson, agreed. Government securities are low risk, low return investments. CIC needs to pick some quoted and unquoted stocks. If they cant stomach stock market risk, they need do real estate big time. Otherwise, a growing insurance company cannot rely on the underwriting profits and government securities. They need to make better use of the float.

I tend to disagree if played well bonds give an oppurtunity for some nice returns especially as interest falls...stocks on the other hand are a high risk though also have the element of high return...they should pick some mid-term maturity bonds and trade them when the rates are low kabisa...thats where we are heading.
Late 2010 early 2011 a ten year bond was trading at 2%...
mwekez@ji
#7 Posted : Thursday, August 30, 2012 12:00:35 PM

mwekez@ji wrote:

I tend to disagree if played well bonds give an oppurtunity for some nice returns especially as interest falls...stocks on the other hand are a high risk though also have the element of high return...they should pick some mid-term maturity bonds and trade them when the rates are low kabisa...thats where we are heading.
Late 2010 early 2011 a ten year bond was trading at 2%...

I dont understand what you are disagreeing.

FACT: Stock and Real Estate returns beat Bills/Bonds returns BIG time! Bills/Bond are for the lazy/risk averse investors so they equally get low returns!
mwekez@ji
#8 Posted : Thursday, August 30, 2012 12:02:11 PM

NAV KES 2.07
Trailing EPS 0.27

At yesterday’s VWAP of KES 3.90
P/B 1.88 (most expensive in the industry; industry average 1.3)
P/E 14.44 (most expensive in the industry; industry average 4.4)
StatMeister
#9 Posted : Thursday, August 30, 2012 12:29:00 PM

mwekez@ji wrote:
NAV KES 2.07
Trailing EPS 0.27

If you exclude CIC from industry, should you get a comparative industry average of 4.0 or thereabouts?

That makes it 3.6 costlier than other insurers.
mzalendomoja
#10 Posted : Thursday, August 30, 2012 12:40:13 PM

Better prospects expected in H2.
xxxxx
#11 Posted : Thursday, August 30, 2012 1:32:35 PM

mzalendomoja wrote:
Better prospects expected in H2.

YEah right!. That's what they all say after eroding your capital. freaks!!!!!!!!!Shame on you Shame on you
Kausha
#12 Posted : Thursday, August 30, 2012 3:25:51 PM

I see finally the chicken have come home to roost. Where is one @yaserbigchair. I whinged here how the stock was grossly overpriced and some addicts wondered what I was saying. Ok for those who know insurance, you know very well there are two big months in an insurance year, january and July. January is typically very big, july is for those well wired wire to the parastatals and government agencies. Last time I checked CIC wasn't a very big player in July but has quite some punch in January!...let's see how the market moves going forward.
FUNKY
#13 Posted : Thursday, August 30, 2012 3:58:56 PM

Traded at a new low of 3.85/- today
e_kijana
#14 Posted : Thursday, August 30, 2012 4:23:39 PM

Kausha wrote:
I see finally the chicken have come home to roost. Where is one @yaserbigchair. I whinged here how the stock was grossly overpriced and some addicts wondered what I was saying. Ok for those who know insurance, you know very well there are two big months in an insurance year, january and July. January is typically very big, july is for those well wired wire to the parastatals and government agencies. Last time I checked CIC wasn't a very big player in July but has quite some punch in January!...let's see how the market moves going forward.

All the profit growth erosion was due to the new Medical Business line. They doubled their medical premiums starting July. lets see if they can stem that.
StatMeister
#15 Posted : Thursday, August 30, 2012 4:39:45 PM

e_kijana wrote:
Kausha wrote:

All the profit growth erosion was due to the new Medical Business line. They doubled their medical premiums starting July. lets see if they can stem that.

Have they increased? I saw something on BD to the effect of talking to AKI or regulator or something.

http://www.businessdaily...2/-/11c37o4/-/index.html
mwekez@ji
#16 Posted : Thursday, August 30, 2012 5:59:33 PM

Anybody with the recently released Insurance Industry 2011 Annual Report? AKI have not yet posted it on their web
mwekez@ji
#17 Posted : Thursday, August 30, 2012 6:17:00 PM

StatMeister wrote:
e_kijana wrote:
Kausha wrote:

Have they increased? I saw something on BD to the effect of talking to AKI or regulator or something.
http://www.businessdailyafrica....2/-/11c37o4/-/index.html

@e_kijana, what informs that their main insurance arm ache is the medical business line? What is the performance of the other insurance arms?
Aguytrying
#18 Posted : Thursday, August 30, 2012 10:30:47 PM

mwekez@ji wrote:
NAV KES 2.07
Trailing EPS 0.27

I said it before, the most i can pay for this stock is 2.50. During listing it sounded ridiculous but now im sure more would agree.

The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
e_kijana
#19 Posted : Thursday, August 30, 2012 11:03:25 PM

Aguytrying wrote:
mwekez@ji wrote:
NAV KES 2.07
Trailing EPS 0.27

I said it before, the most i can pay for this stock is 2.50. During listing it sounded ridiculous but now im sure more would agree.

Go Buy Panafric.
e_kijana
#20 Posted : Thursday, August 30, 2012 11:08:16 PM

Aguytrying wrote:
mwekez@ji wrote:
NAV KES 2.07
Trailing EPS 0.27

Go Buy Panafric.