wazua Mon, Feb 3, 2025

Why do we take the dead to church?
#21 Posted : Monday, August 27, 2012 5:56:29 PM

bwenyenye wrote:
The good book says' And the dead in Christ shall be raised to meet him in the air..." sasa wewe @ Essyk if you want to be raised Charred.. shauri yako!!!

Hii ndio inaitwa nini sasa?

So many people have been lynched since time immemorial including pastors.
Sasa tell me. What is their fate?
You mean God will not be able to bring a charrred body back to it's former state? And why should he even bother about that when he's raising up spirits and not flesh?

How you die and are buried is non of God's business.
How you lived is his business.
#22 Posted : Monday, August 27, 2012 7:38:22 PM

Some things we do today are just church traditions without scriptural basis. Take for instance, the issue of doing weddings in church. Some mainstream churches will not officiate a garden wedding as they say it dilutes the 'holiness' of the wedding.

Yet, in scripture, I don't see any instance of temple/church wedding. Those against garden weddings ought to remember the first wedding was a garden wedding-in the garden of Eden.

Now I think this same line of thought informs the thinking that taking bodies to church and even burying them there earns good points for the dead!
#23 Posted : Monday, August 27, 2012 7:48:46 PM

bwenyenye wrote:
The good book says' And the dead in Christ shall be raised to meet him in the air..." sasa wewe @ Essyk if you want to be raised Charred.. shauri yako!!!

I don't think they will be raised in the bodies we have.The only thing remaining of your body might be the skeleton or smelly flesh.
Annti_Christy
#24 Posted : Tuesday, August 28, 2012 8:20:54 AM

bwenyenye wrote:

I don't think they will be raised in the bodies we have.The only thing remaining of your body might be the skeleton or smelly flesh.

i am here to search for and destroy stupid, naive statements such as these. if you are not familiar with these things, its better to be shush about them.

in Job19:26, it is said that 'and though after my skin worms destroy this body, yet in my flesh shall i see God.'
Light Bearer
#25 Posted : Tuesday, August 28, 2012 8:30:31 AM

@antichrist, welcome to wazua. It is juvenile to enter a forum and start by hurling insults especially in a thread on matters of faith. But why am I concerned? You are the antichrist(at least by your handle)
Annti_Christy
#26 Posted : Tuesday, August 28, 2012 9:08:56 AM

@antichrist, welcome to wazua. It is juvenile to enter a forum and start by hurling insults especially in a thread on matters of faith. But why am I concerned? You are the antichrist(at least by your handle)

whatever! and thank you for the welcome. i thought juvenile and faith go together? innit? or has it since changed? or have you changed it?

people like you are the ones brining eternal ruin to hundreds of millions of innocent people.
Light Bearer
#27 Posted : Tuesday, August 28, 2012 10:23:26 AM

Annti_Christy wrote:

people like you are the ones brining eternal ruin to hundreds of millions of innocent people.

peace kijana peace. I have always believed that my body is just an earthly tent which I will leave here on earth. I could be wrong but at least that is what I read from 1 Cor 5:21.

For we know that if our earthly house, this tent, is destroyed, we have a building from God, a house not made with hands, eternal in the heavens.

I stand to be corrected!
Annti_Christy
#28 Posted : Tuesday, August 28, 2012 12:30:50 PM

Annti_Christy wrote:

peace kijana peace. I have always believed that my body is just an earthly tent which I will leave here on earth. I could be wrong but at least that is what I read from 1 Cor 5:21.

For we know that if our earthly house, this tent, is destroyed, we have a building from God, a house not made with hands, eternal in the heavens.

I stand to be corrected!

and i shall correct you.

first there is no 1 cor 5:21. i told you to be shush, if not for your own benefit, for the others.

second, you assume 'house' or 'tent' means 'body'. for that, i demand a plain 'thus says the lord'.

these are the things that make me oppose you as leading readers to ruin.

this 1 hr delay is hindering me.
Light Bearer
#29 Posted : Tuesday, August 28, 2012 12:42:57 PM

sorry chris its 2 Cor 5 Verse 1.

and 2 Cor 5:21 is there. One of my favorite verses:

God made him who had no sin to be sin for us so that through him we might become the righteousness of God.
Annti_Christy
#30 Posted : Tuesday, August 28, 2012 3:27:50 PM

sorry chris its 2 Cor 5 Verse 1.

and 2 Cor 5:21 is there. One of my favorite verses:

God made him who had no sin to be sin for us so that through him we might become the righteousness of God.

now you are talking! Applause
Light Bearer
hamburglar
#31 Posted : Tuesday, August 28, 2012 5:53:14 PM

You religious people are really delusional....lol
#32 Posted : Tuesday, August 28, 2012 5:56:30 PM

hamburglar wrote:

What does an irreligious person believe? But may be he believes in nothing . . . but how can one show that believing nothing is not delusional?
hamburglar
#33 Posted : Tuesday, August 28, 2012 8:15:15 PM

hamburglar wrote:

What does an irreligious person believe? But may be he believes in nothing . . . but how can one show that believing nothing is not delusional?

We don't believe in anything, we use reason and logic to navigate through life. No need to believe in things that cannot be proven.
Dia
#34 Posted : Wednesday, August 29, 2012 2:43:54 PM

Annti_Christy wrote:
bwenyenye wrote:

i am here to search for and destroy stupid, naive statements such as these. if you are not familiar with these things, its better to be shush about them.

in Job19:26, it is said that 'and though after my skin worms destroy this body, yet in my flesh shall i see God.'

@Anti, it is good to ask. From I Corinthians 15

35 But someone will ask, “How are the dead raised? With what kind of body will they come?” 36 How foolish! What you sow does not come to life unless it dies. 37 When you sow, you do not plant the body that will be, but just a seed, perhaps of wheat or of something else. 38 But God gives it a body as he has determined, and to each kind of seed he gives its own body. 39 Not all flesh is the same: People have one kind of flesh, animals have another, birds another and fish another. 40 There are also heavenly bodies and there are earthly bodies; but the splendor of the heavenly bodies is one kind, and the splendor of the earthly bodies is another. 41 The sun has one kind of splendor, the moon another and the stars another; and star differs from star in splendor.

42 So will it be with the resurrection of the dead. The body that is sown is perishable, it is raised imperishable; 43 it is sown in dishonor, it is raised in glory; it is sown in weakness, it is raised in power; 44 it is sown a natural body, it is raised a spiritual body.

Read through to the end of the chapter for further clarificationsmile
Dia
#35 Posted : Wednesday, August 29, 2012 2:53:14 PM

hamburglar wrote:

We don't believe in anything, we use reason and logic to navigate through life. No need to believe in things that cannot be proven.

Everyone believes something. You believe that when you go to sleep tonight, you will wake up in the morning. You believe that when the sun goes down this evening in the west, it will rise tomorrow morning in the east.You believe there is no such thing as a god or a devil. You have not experienced a god or a devil with your 5 senses so you believe they do not exist.

But we digress from the topic.
Annti_Christy
#36 Posted : Wednesday, August 29, 2012 3:16:41 PM

Dia wrote:

35 But someone will ask, “How are the dead raised? With what kind of body will they come?” 36 How foolish! What you sow does not come to life unless it dies. 37 When you sow, you do not plant the body that will be, but just a seed, perhaps of wheat or of something else. 38 But God gives it a body as he has determined, and to each kind of seed he gives its own body. 39 Not all flesh is the same: People have one kind of flesh, animals have another, birds another and fish another. 40 There are also heavenly bodies and there are earthly bodies; but the splendor of the heavenly bodies is one kind, and the splendor of the earthly bodies is another. 41 The sun has one kind of splendor, the moon another and the stars another; and star differs from star in splendor.

42 So will it be with the resurrection of the dead. The body that is sown is perishable, it is raised imperishable; 43 it is sown in dishonor, it is raised in glory; it is sown in weakness, it is raised in power; 44 it is sown a natural body, it is raised a spiritual body.

a plain and simple 'thus says the lord' as i demanded and you have provide it.

i accept.

Light Bearer
Annti_Christy
#37 Posted : Wednesday, August 29, 2012 3:19:05 PM

Dia wrote:

a plain and simple 'thus says the lord' as i demanded and you have provide it.

i accept.

this refers to the first group of individuals.

but let alone the sleeping bulldog. you dont want him around. get what i mean?

Light Bearer
Dia
#38 Posted : Wednesday, August 29, 2012 4:59:57 PM

@Anti, got you loud and clear smile
hamburglar
#39 Posted : Wednesday, August 29, 2012 6:19:56 PM

Dia wrote:
hamburglar wrote:

Everyone believes something. You believe that when you go to sleep tonight, you will wake up in the morning. You believe that when the sun goes down this evening in the west, it will rise tomorrow morning in the east.You believe there is no such thing as a god or a devil. You have not experienced a god or a devil with your 5 senses so you believe they do not exist.

But we digress from the topic.

I don't buy into such nonsense of gods and devils, I KNOW there is no god and no devil...It's silly and it defies any logic and reason....Until I see proof of these gods and devil guys, then I KNOW, not believe, that they don't exist....My life is based on facts, not beliefs. Your 5 sense experience of gods and devils is hogwash....I have all senses and have never experienced these delusions that you are going on about....Get real..
saga
#40 Posted : Wednesday, August 29, 2012 6:34:54 PM

Just because you cannot comprehend the fact of there being a higher power (whatever you perceive it to be)does not mean it does not exist.
Kuna kuchapwo, kuchapana na kujifichio