wazua Sat, Jan 11, 2025

120,000 what to invest in
#21 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 6:42:47 PM

my guy, have u ever thought of a kerosend pump in kangemi? I once saw the residents queue 4 kerosene at total.
#22 Posted : Friday, September 24, 2010 10:55:02 AM

kyt wrote:
@ non, scbk, was 202, exit 305. Thats it april to august 5th. 50% bas hakuna jambo ingine.

@Kyt..my point exactly, how did you forsee the rise, ama ni gambling? which i doubt is the correct way to investThink
groupielove
#23 Posted : Friday, September 24, 2010 2:52:48 PM

With 120k, you can rent a cheap main house in the outskirts of Nairobi, say Njiru, Ngong, Mwiki and start hatching eggs using an electric incubator and selling and rearing chicken. Alternatively, you can buy and sell 2nd hand household/office appliances. You can also rent an empty plot in the outskirts and start farming (I'm thinking of green house farming).
Fundaah
#24 Posted : Friday, September 24, 2010 3:12:11 PM

Good ideas these are.

I like the pump and chicken ideas .Keep them coming.

Stocks are good and sweet only when going upwards .....wait when there is a reverse gear....blood pressure and heart related diseases and sudden mysterious deaths come in plenty.....especially if you had put all your fortunes in shares....If you are faint hearted ...don't go for shares my son /daughter

A small business outside Nairobi or in Nairobi slum or lower class estate(where there is a ready market for small economy items ) is the way to go
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
#25 Posted : Friday, September 24, 2010 4:06:37 PM

kyt wrote:
@ non, scbk, was 202, exit 305. Thats it april to august 5th. 50% bas hakuna jambo ingine.

@Kyt..my point exactly, how did you forsee the rise, ama ni gambling? which i doubt is the correct way to investThink

financials are a good bet anytime. Historical data. And of course some bit of gambling. Eapcc% rea vipingo, i gamble with them all the time.115-124,17-19. smilesmile
kyukkamba
#26 Posted : Friday, September 24, 2010 4:56:43 PM

kyt wrote:

Nonstop....U r just like me. Have been in stocks since 2007 lakini hakuna kitu ya maana nimeoneya hapo!!Sad .I tried trading every now and again,going in and out lakini all I made is very little not even worth all the headache.What I have learned out of ALL this is to sellect some good company that are doing good business in the market (DTK,CMC,Bamburi,STANBIC,may be S.Com, KPLC..ETC)don't start wasting ur time in those funny ratios the accountants talk about.Just look for companies that are doing good and will not go belly up in the next say 15Years.Invest in them and forget for sometime say 3-4-6-7 Years.(Lakini just follow up the NSE polepole usije kupitwa na something important). Alafu come and tell me after those years (During the years to come there will be some rights issue, bonus issue,new branches openned by the company,new products introduced,share price appreciation due to reasons you dont understand etc). If u keep on listening to akina Kyt..they'll only drive you crazy...Most of the people here make money as u said..."ama ni gambling".. Yaani by luck. Ukiwa na patience you'll obviously make money..i bought Bamburi in 06.sept2007 at 204.00.The share performed very bad and after listening to SK Comments u feel like selling at a loss.lakini I said since this is a cool company I wont listen to no one just hold it till end of time ..na sasa the price is 212 and if u take the dividends into consideration my cost @share is 186.00. I am currently not into stocks sana but Real Estate..
Ni Uhuru wa Mbesha...Niguo kana tiguo?
bendi3
#27 Posted : Friday, September 24, 2010 5:13:56 PM

Have been an ardent follower of wazua forums but just recently joined.

Thinking the chicken idea is a good one,just make sure you have a good n ready market(or create one if you have none)lest you eat chicken breakfast,lunch n supper for sometime.
The early worm, is the one caught by the early bird.........
richsisco
#28 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 12:39:32 PM

Thanks guys for you advices. After thorough consulitation, i have decided to include a friend of mine to pump up the capital. But could somebody tell me of the charges associated with liquor license.
cmk
#29 Posted : Tuesday, June 14, 2011 8:22:36 AM

richsisco wrote:
Thanks guys for you advices. After thorough consulitation, i have decided to include a friend of mine to pump up the capital. But could somebody tell me of the charges associated with liquor license.

so what did u decide on??a bar and mututho laws in place will surely fry you
Every man is guilty of all the good he didn't do-
Voltaire
Ceinz
#30 Posted : Tuesday, June 14, 2011 9:35:52 AM

cmk wrote:
richsisco wrote:

so what did u decide on??a bar and mututho laws in place will surely fry you

Have mercy on him, if that is where his interest is then y-not. All one needs to succeed in anything in life is passion and the rest as they say will follow.
“small step for man”
wanyuru
#31 Posted : Tuesday, June 14, 2011 1:58:06 PM

richsisco wrote:

so you opened up shop in Banana?
Apple Bees
#32 Posted : Tuesday, June 14, 2011 2:23:26 PM

wanyuru wrote:
richsisco wrote:

so you opened up shop in Banana?

not so fast!
icecube
#33 Posted : Tuesday, July 12, 2011 6:42:46 PM

Fundaah wrote:
120K is alot of money.

Due to my religious inclination...I wont advise you to open a pub.....Infact I encourage people to stop drinking.....smile smile smile smile smile But ....here are some Ideas for you....

1.Start small business in one of Nairobis slums.Eg cooking Mandazis and supplying them in Kiosks, shops and supermarkets in the slum. I know A guy who started so and now he has a car.He infact started with less than 20K.

2.With decentralisation about to happen due to the new constitution Start a business e.g selling plastic utensils, basins , buckets etc in upcountry trading centre.
establish a good relationship with suppliers and you will get credit terms with them in due course.

3.If you are a man start Buying cattle cows ,sheep & goats and selling then during market days.

4.Get a stall in Gikomba Market and start a second hand cloth business.

5.Buy a blender (2-3K) start selling Juice in densely populated areas such as slums .Combine with a popcorn machine about 20k Juakali model.

6.Get connection in slums ....look for someone selling a plot there be careful not to be conned.....build mabati houses and you become a landlord......No sweat though risky.

120k ni nyingi sana if you are a hustler .All the best .

There are so many ideas .

This is excellent and very encouraging! It is good to know that there are still optimistic guys out there. I like this!!
El Diablo
#34 Posted : Friday, July 15, 2011 11:17:32 AM

I agree 120K is good money. Invest in simple ventures as above. These simple ideas, DO make money. And with the power of compounding you could easly double your money in a couple of months.
kiterunner
#35 Posted : Wednesday, July 20, 2011 2:57:34 AM

hi
my.002 you dint disclose your situation do u have a day job hence are going to do this project part time or is it your 'day job'. If i were you I would consider mpesa too depending on which part of the country you are
our goals are best achieved indirectly
meme
#36 Posted : Wednesday, August 22, 2012 5:31:14 PM

just wondering bout investing in stocks as suggested by some wazuans. say you do as advocated and buy safcom shares at current prices...you would have 34000 shares. if you sold them at 4 bob as suggested ...you would make slightly ess than 17000.
now how long would you wait for it go up to 4 bob.
2. are you certain the price will not go down?
3. 17k.......from 120k after Godknows how long.....is it worth it?
Patience. You cannot have a baby in one month by impregnating nine women....
tinker
#37 Posted : Thursday, August 23, 2012 9:58:29 PM

icecube wrote:
Fundaah wrote:
120K is alot of money.

Due to my religious inclination...I wont advise you to open a pub.....Infact I encourage people to stop drinking.....smile smile smile smile smile But ....here are some Ideas for you....

1.Start small business in one of Nairobis slums.Eg cooking Mandazis and supplying them in Kiosks, shops and supermarkets in the slum. I know A guy who started so and now he has a car.He infact started with less than 20K.

2.With decentralisation about to happen due to the new constitution Start a business e.g selling plastic utensils, basins , buckets etc in upcountry trading centre.
establish a good relationship with suppliers and you will get credit terms with them in due course.

3.If you are a man start Buying cattle cows ,sheep & goats and selling then during market days.

5.Buy a blender (2-3K) start selling Juice in densely populated areas such as slums .Combine with a popcorn machine about 20k Juakali model.

6.Get connection in slums ....look for someone selling a plot there be careful not to be conned.....build mabati houses and you become a landlord......No sweat though risky.

This is excellent and very encouraging! It is good to know that there are still optimistic guys out there. I like this!!

Applause Pray
....He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion..
#38 Posted : Saturday, August 25, 2012 8:34:11 PM

Fundaah wrote:
120K is alot of money.

Please shed some light on how one would go about doing this. A total novice, where to buy the cattle, how to transport them, where to sell them.. and how to 'thank' you smile

Toshi
#39 Posted : Monday, August 27, 2012 10:36:06 AM

Fundaah wrote:
120K is alot of money.

I like this; very bright and eye opening. It's good advice on starting with what you have.
A traveler in ancient Greece, the story goes, met an old man walking along the road and asked him how to get to Mount Olympus. The old man, who turned out to be Socrates, replied: "Just make sure that every step you take is in that direction."
Possession of material riches, without inner peace, is like dying of thirst while bathing in a lake.
Dia
#40 Posted : Monday, August 27, 2012 2:23:00 PM

Toshi wrote:
[quote=Fundaah][size=9]

I like this; very bright and eye opening. It's good advice on starting with what you have.
A traveler in ancient Greece, the story goes, met an old man walking along the road and asked him how to get to Mount Olympus. The old man, who turned out to be Socrates, replied: "Just make sure that every step you take is in that direction."

This I like. Applause