Giving back to the community.....
Wow Essyk  bless your heart for doing all that. We should definetely team up, I would be interested in getting involved. By the way I think I know you, or atleast we know people from the same circles Na uko na patience, mi maswali zingine sijibungi, its easy for someone to just write off poor youth living in the ghetto as hoodlums. Your basketbal idea was a great initiative, wacha watu waongee, atleast unajua you made an impact in their lives.
Nabwire wrote:Wow Essyk  bless your heart for doing all that. We should definetely team up, I would be interested in getting involved. By the way I think I know you, or atleast we know people from the same circles Na uko na patience, mi maswali zingine sijibungi, its easy for someone to just write off poor youth living in the ghetto as hoodlums. Your basketbal idea was a great initiative, wacha watu waongee, atleast unajua you made an impact in their lives. I am now retired just talking to my goats in the village. Sasa labda we brew some special tasty hiv repellant beer and get rich quick cz Stocks take forever. "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
Rolldrunk wrote:mkeiyd wrote:@tycho, Let those who want to stretch a helping hand be. You got your hands, keep them unto yourself. But those of others,it's a free world. Passion ,calling or whatever will fly their kites,let them be. If it's conversation you want, start a thread for your conversation and the wazua spirit will live on.
@Rolldrunk, You won't risk your life, you know it and nobody is asking you to. If you won't do something,why not let those who feel like doing try?
@specky and @essyk,goodness be upon you. As Wangari Maathai said, let us all be that little bird,working hard to make a POSITIVE difference.
To the naysayers,come out of your dark hearts and drool on that keyboard. I think, and analysis supports it, the best way to effect change in a sociaty is to change the policies, mkeiyd, when you go out there to help can you also teach those who need help that it is very important that they start caring bout their interest more than anyone's interest, the country is poor because more than 51% of the population is either ignorant,lazy or dumb and that 51% is represented here in wazua! @rolldrunk, Of coz i do that,it's only that i won't narrate it here. The people getting your help must trust you first before they listen to you. You've to reach out for them,then start influencing their lives through positive deeds and thinking.
tycho wrote:@Essyk, knowing that someone uses a drug and being with him while he is using the drug doesn't make him an addict.
You gathered people around you, organized them, fought for them, created income opportunities for them, but where is the dialogue about drugs?
Your 'addicts' might have had reasons to doubt you, that is true, but is buying balls for them the best way out? Why didn't you buy a ball for yourself and then join them for practice?
You did things for them (the addicts I mean). Were you supposed to stop the addiction for them also? Or what were they supposed to do? Follow the leader?
I do also have a list of 'comrades' who fell by the way, I can feel you. But apart from the fond memories, what next?
Now what happens after you've lost all respect for me and don't want to meet me? And this is further complicated by the fact that I like you!
A social worker can do things out of passion or calling. In your case which is which, passion or calling? If calling, who called you?
I am not being hostile to you. And I do not want to discourage you from doing good. I am sure you've heard it before, 'The road to hell is paved with good intentions.'
@tycho My take is that you should offer solutions. Alternatively just write your story on how you have made an impact on the society. Then the readers can draw parallels with Essyk's and be more informed.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 5/23/2010 Posts: 868 Location: La Islas Galápagos
carygoh wrote:specky wrote:Hi Wazuans,
How does one get to start up a project in helping the needy in our society.I want to start one. I dont have much actually most are the times i may remain with only 500 bob at the end of the month but i feel the need to help someone out there.Most are the times i buy bread in the supermarket na nikitoka napea the street boys and am left without,it puts a smile on my face nikiona vile wanaivamia....and they are like asante mathe.
I come from huko londokwe and i have seen kids go to school without breakfast and maybe they will only have one meal for the day.
Is there a way i can start up a project or be involved in one? Any ideas..... To start with you can join a rotaract club if you are below 30yrs or rotary club if you are above 30yrs. What if he/she is 30 years? A bad day fishing is better than a good day at work
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
MKWASI wrote:tycho wrote:@Essyk, knowing that someone uses a drug and being with him while he is using the drug doesn't make him an addict.
You gathered people around you, organized them, fought for them, created income opportunities for them, but where is the dialogue about drugs?
Your 'addicts' might have had reasons to doubt you, that is true, but is buying balls for them the best way out? Why didn't you buy a ball for yourself and then join them for practice?
You did things for them (the addicts I mean). Were you supposed to stop the addiction for them also? Or what were they supposed to do? Follow the leader?
I do also have a list of 'comrades' who fell by the way, I can feel you. But apart from the fond memories, what next?
Now what happens after you've lost all respect for me and don't want to meet me? And this is further complicated by the fact that I like you!
A social worker can do things out of passion or calling. In your case which is which, passion or calling? If calling, who called you?
I am not being hostile to you. And I do not want to discourage you from doing good. I am sure you've heard it before, 'The road to hell is paved with good intentions.'
@tycho My take is that you should offer solutions. Alternatively just write your story on how you have made an impact on the society. Then the readers can draw parallels with Essyk's and be more informed. How can one be sure that he/she needs no help from any one? Or even, how can one be sure that he/she can help everybody else? The world is too vast to be comprehended by one person at any moment. Therefore, the more one aspires to 'the ideal life' (perhaps of repose and power) the more he/she should be connected to others in conversation. This conversation then forms the individual's identity. Thus there is no difference between you and the 'needy' party. In fact the word 'needy' cannot be used in any emergent conversation. Each is a resource of the other. One cannot give back to the community for he is the community.
tycho wrote: One cannot give back to the community for he is the community.
Huh! how now? If I am a community,then you are a community. How can two live together if they don't share what they have? Are you an Island? "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
there is a yet unmet need in the society. it is the need to be needed. it is currently being met by 'philanthropists'. this is unadulterated ego trip. the personal satisfaction that comes from doing something useful like helping the wretched of the earth is like amphetamine to the brain. bill gates, henry ford and lesser variants are all at it. Light Bearer
essyk wrote:tycho wrote: One cannot give back to the community for he is the community.
Huh! how now? If I am a community,then you are a community.How can two live together if they don't share what they have? Are you an Island? You are the community. I am the community. We are not two, we are one. Sharing means owning, but there's no ownership. If I am the community, how can I be an island? The word 'island' doesn't exist in this sense of usage.
Annti_Christy wrote: there is a yet unmet need in the society. it is the need to be needed. it is currently being met by 'philanthropists'.
this is unadulterated ego trip. the personal satisfaction that comes from doing something useful like helping the wretched of the earth is like amphetamine to the brain.
bill gates, henry ford and lesser variants are all at it.
In essence, all are needed. If one perceives himself as unneeded, then he is creating an island of himself. By making himself needed, he is creating an 'artificial' community that is centered on himself. And even if he wins many followers, 'humanity gets all the worse'.
Giving back to the community.....