wazua Tue, Dec 24, 2024

What are the Land Rates for plots in Nairobi?
#1 Posted : Thursday, August 16, 2012 11:41:39 AM

I have looked at the Nairobi City Council website and there is no information.Have seen the following rates in another website. Are they accurate?

Land parcels Flat Rate

not exceeding 0.1 Ha Ksh. 640/= per plot per year
0.1 ha – 0.2 ha Ksh. 800/= per plot per year
0.2 ha – 0.4 ha Ksh. 1,000/=per plot per year
above 0.4 ha Ksh. 1,200/= per acre per year

Residential plots Ksh. 640/= per plot per year

Commercial/ Industrial plots Ksh. 1,000/= per plot per year

Rates Demand Notes can be collected at the rates section, city Hall, Ground Floor.

The real Livewire
#2 Posted : Thursday, August 16, 2012 1:10:12 PM

I would also really like to know the difference between the land rate paid to city council and that paid to ministry of land. Somebody help please.

Thank you
#3 Posted : Thursday, August 16, 2012 2:18:11 PM

The real Livewire wrote:
I would also really like to know the difference between the land rate paid to city council and that paid to ministry of land. Somebody help please.

Thank you

Hii maneno ya rand and prot sasa imenichanganicha.
You pay several rates for one particular plot?

#4 Posted : Thursday, August 16, 2012 2:27:49 PM

The real Livewire wrote:

Thank you

You pay land rates to local authorities. These are taxes based upon the value of land. On the other hand, you will pay land rent when your land is of leasehold tenure. The govt in this case owns the land and since you are the lessee, you pay them ground rents. So in summary rates are paid by all landowners whether leasehold or freehold while rents are charged for leasehold land only.
MatataMingi
#5 Posted : Thursday, February 09, 2017 3:47:39 PM

What is the best method of paying LAND RENT for leasehold properties(to Ministry of Lands)ONLINE. Not to be confused with LAND RATES paid to local county councils.

I am confused. Is it through iTax or ecitizen

Thanks