Investor
Economy
After Thika Road Comes the real Uhuru High Way
Rank: Veteran Joined: 2/2/2012 Posts: 1,134 Location: Nairobi
Roads PS was on Citizen last night and he mentioned that he would be concluding the financing deal for the 15km Uhuru highway overpass today... Good progress, but this guy makes some interesting case AGAINST the project... RINK: http://architecturekenya...y-recast-by-eric-kigada/
"... We now blame the roundabouts for the traffic jams and are planning to get rid of them, something that I consider a big mistake. Roundabouts can function without traffic lights. T-junctions and cross junctions cannot, especially on a multi lane highway..." "... We seem to put too much stress on private cars as a mode of transport. Children are growing up who have never been in any form of public transport in Nairobi..." "All intelligent investing is value investing -- acquiring more than you are paying for. You must value the business in order to value the stock." - Charlie Munger.
After reading the article i think the architect is stuck in the past. But i agree with him our mode of transportation has to change "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
probably that guys business doesn't involve moving around much. we waste so much man hours around these roundabouts.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 2/2/2012 Posts: 1,134 Location: Nairobi
jamplu wrote:probably that guys business doesn't involve moving around much. we waste so much man hours around these roundabouts. His argument is that if we remove the roundabouts, we are likely to make things worse than they already are. Secondly, he is wondering the point of building the overpass while the by-passes are expected to do exactly the same function, i.e., remove transit traffic from the city centre.
[quote=chiaroscuro]Roads PS was on Citizen last night and he mentioned that he would be concluding the financing deal for the 15km Uhuru highway overpass today... Good progress, but this guy makes some interesting case AGAINST the project... RINK: http://architecturekenya...-recast-by-eric-kigada/[/quote] This guy makes a very valid case that the stakeholders in nairobi ought to seriously think about
What we need is a rail system.
At the moment, anybody going to/from the airport uses a cab, via msa road (unless coming from eastlands). If we have a working rail system, we minimize the need for road transport while travelling to airport.
I would rather we spend that money on creating a good rail system, At the moment, we are not spending any money on what we really need.
@mkimwa Have you ever asked yourself who are the owners of these Petrol stations, the fleet of matatus/buses that consume this fuel? a rail system will lock this guys out of biz and that is wy we cannot achieve this if those who make the laws have their interest also in these sectors.
chiaroscuro wrote:jamplu wrote:probably that guys business doesn't involve moving around much. we waste so much man hours around these roundabouts. His argument is that if we remove the roundabouts, we are likely to make things worse than they already are. Secondly, he is wondering the point of building the overpass while the by-passes are expected to do exactly the same function, i.e., remove transit traffic from the city centre. Roundabouts take more time to get around than it would in a T junction. The speed and ease at which the car negotiates a roundabout is lower than a T junction. Take Uhuru Highway/Kenyatta Avenue roundabout. If you had cross junction, and you open both sides of Uhuru Highway for the straight moving traffic, compare that to the current situation. Where as in a cross junction traffic will flow straight and smoothly, with the roundabout, you have to negotiate a mini-round before proceeding straight. The by-passes are taking all that traffic that would otherwise, not be passing thru' the CBD. Does that solve the traffic issues of the guy who lives in Embakasi and works from Kabete. All the roads/by-passes/over-passes are needed.
rail is the way to go, we can eliminate price hikes and traffic jams for good. LOVE WHAT YOU DO, DO WHAT YOU LOVE.
World Bank has finally produced the bucks, now waiting for the Chinese (who else) to be given the contract & start in January. http://bit.ly/OM2qym
Though a bit concerned about the encroachment issues in Nairobi e.g. Eastern Bypass flyover at Cabanas hasn't moved in ages, while Southern Bypass should have been started from Mombasa Road. Of course Japanese aren't really impressing in Kileleshwa...
chiaroscuro wrote:jamplu wrote:probably that guys business doesn't involve moving around much. we waste so much man hours around these roundabouts. His argument is that if we remove the roundabouts, we are likely to make things worse than they already are.
Secondly, he is wondering the point of building the overpass while the by-passes are expected to do exactly the same function, i.e., remove transit traffic from the city centre. This then would have more to do with the driving behavior and less with the infrastructure. Roundabouts are for small low population towns with few vehicles, not for Metropolis with heavy traffic. In western EU for e.g. you hardly encounter any Roundabout along the Highways and Motorways. You may find one in the Peri-urban or a Suburb road though, but still rare.
kyt wrote:rail is the way to go, we can eliminate price hikes and traffic jams for good. I agree. We should also promote safe cycling in Nairobi and other Kenyan towns? A bike is affordable, promotes physical exercise and thus health, cheap to maintain and saves time - no waiting for public transport or in jams, and reduces your carbon footprint. Think of all the guys who walk from Kangemi to Parklands, Kibera to Inda etc. With the upgrade of the roads infrastructure in Nairobi, it is unfortunate that no safe cycle lanes are being put in place. By safe I imply particularly the roads and Highways crossing points for the would be cyclists. Urban transport infrastructure should cater for all levels (pedestrian, cyclist, car and tram/train) and see their safe moving from point A to B. Putting to much emphasis to one of these is a planning mistake.
Rank: Member Joined: 1/17/2010 Posts: 142 Location: Twiha
[quote=chiaroscuro] RINK: http://architecturekenya...-recast-by-eric-kigada/[/quote] Dude this link has a trojan horse infection Stay away
Rank: Member Joined: 11/15/2010 Posts: 454 Location: Nairobi
I agree Torosh wrote:@mkimwa Have you ever asked yourself who are the owners of these Petrol stations, the fleet of matatus/buses that consume this fuel? a rail system will lock this guys out of biz and that is wy we cannot achieve this if those who make the laws have their interest also in these sectors. ....He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion..
".....there is a planned duelling of Outer Ring Road in Nairobi at a cost of Sh6 billion starting next year. “The project is geared at stimulating economic activities by speeding up transport of goods and services,” he said. Other projects in the pipe line are the Haile Selassie-Ring Road-Pumwani junction and the Ring Road-Ngara-Juja Road-Komarock Road to Kangundo Road junction, which are expected to remove roundabouts to ease traffic congestion.
eco wrote:chiaroscuro wrote:jamplu wrote:probably that guys business doesn't involve moving around much. we waste so much man hours around these roundabouts. His argument is that if we remove the roundabouts, we are likely to make things worse than they already are.
Secondly, he is wondering the point of building the overpass while the by-passes are expected to do exactly the same function, i.e., remove transit traffic from the city centre. This then would have more to do with the driving behavior and less with the infrastructure. Roundabouts are for small low population towns with few vehicles, not for Metropolis with heavy traffic. In western EU for e.g. you hardly encounter any Roundabout along the Highways and Motorways. You may find one in the Peri-urban or a Suburb road though, but still rare. @ Eco, I agree with you. Most of the issues we have on our roads have to do with how we drive. If only Kenyans adhered to traffic rules, we would not be experiencing some of the nightmares we have to go through on our roads. Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around.... Leo Buscaglia
eco wrote:kyt wrote:rail is the way to go, we can eliminate price hikes and traffic jams for good. I agree. We should also promote safe cycling in Nairobi and other Kenyan towns? A bike is affordable, promotes physical exercise and thus health, cheap to maintain and saves time - no waiting for public transport or in jams, and reduces your carbon footprint. Think of all the guys who walk from Kangemi to Parklands, Kibera to Inda etc. With the upgrade of the roads infrastructure in Nairobi, it is unfortunate that no safe cycle lanes are being put in place. By safe I imply particularly the roads and Highways crossing points for the would be cyclists. Urban transport infrastructure should cater for all levels (pedestrian, cyclist, car and tram/train) and see their safe moving from point A to B. Putting to much emphasis to one of these is a planning mistake. I stand corrected by bwana PS. Great to see the planners have embraced NMTF according to this Presentation (Slide No. 23-24). I would park my car and ride anytime except during the rains, of course armed with a good Bike and a Helmet.
Investor
Economy
After Thika Road Comes the real Uhuru High Way