wazua Sat, Jan 11, 2025

Stanbic Uganda-Too good
Mshindi
#1 Posted : Thursday, August 09, 2012 5:04:27 PM

Stanbic Bank Uganda:
First, a 1:1 bonus issue and now another 4:1 bonus issue. I started with 20k shares, now my portfolio stands at 160k shares Applause Applause Applause Applause
Ericsson
#2 Posted : Thursday, August 09, 2012 5:46:06 PM

Whats is the value;too many shares which is not that good.
Comapny has more shares than safaricom and doubt whether its profits can match safaricom's
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Thermostatic Investor
#3 Posted : Thursday, August 09, 2012 5:50:34 PM

I have 240,000 shares (from 30,000) and am not and will not complain. Have they paid the 2011 dividends? I have some credit in my account that I cant explain.
#4 Posted : Thursday, August 09, 2012 5:51:57 PM

too much dilution, what will cause the price to appreciate?
young
#5 Posted : Thursday, August 09, 2012 6:02:03 PM

Such dilution does not pay speculator,s it might turn out very well for long term investors like me(minimum 5-7 years from now).
I do not understands the logic of not capitalizing by rights issue / Public offic rather
than dipping into their reserves to deplete further.

http://wazua.co.ke/forum.aspx?g=posts&t=19464
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
ngapat
#6 Posted : Thursday, August 09, 2012 6:14:13 PM

What's the EPS and PE of SBU?
“Invest in yourself. Your career is the engine of your wealth.”
#7 Posted : Thursday, August 09, 2012 7:36:53 PM

Mshindi wrote:
Stanbic Bank Uganda:
First, a 1:1 bonus issue and now another 4:1 bonus issue. I started with 20k shares, now my portfolio stands at 160k shares Applause Applause Applause Applause

By how much has the value of your investment grown?
Cde Monomotapa
#8 Posted : Thursday, August 09, 2012 11:57:13 PM

Burp* smile
Cde Monomotapa
#9 Posted : Friday, August 10, 2012 12:00:17 AM

Ericsson wrote:
Comapny has more shares than safaricom and doubt whether its profits can match safaricom's

The huge bonus is = huge capitalization. Simply means under writing bigger biz. Na bado... CNOOC UG *hint*
chiaroscuro
#10 Posted : Friday, August 10, 2012 8:28:28 AM

Ericsson wrote:

How does the number of shares affect profitability?

Is a company with a capital of sh100k divided into 1,000 shares of sh100 each better or worse than one with capital of sh100k divided into 100 shares of sh1,000 each?
Cde Monomotapa
#11 Posted : Friday, August 10, 2012 11:41:09 AM

chiaroscuro wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

Is a company with a capital of sh100k divided into 1,000 shares of sh100 each better or worse than one with capital of sh100k divided into 100 shares of sh1,000 each?

NB: A bonus issue is a Capitalization (from reserves) NOT a stock split. Profitabilty will follow after good utilization of the Capitalization.
Cde Monomotapa
#12 Posted : Friday, August 10, 2012 11:43:25 AM

^ Stay Tuned smile...
chiaroscuro
#13 Posted : Friday, August 10, 2012 1:46:49 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
chiaroscuro wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

NB: A bonus issue is a Capitalization (from reserves) NOT a stock split. Profitabilty will follow after good utilization of the Capitalization.

@Ericsson is not worried about the level of capitalisation. His/her concern is in the number of shares. That's why he/she says "Comapny has more shares than safaricom and doubt whether its profits can match safaricom's"

So my question still remains: How does the number of shares affect profitability?
jerry
#14 Posted : Thursday, December 19, 2013 11:20:10 PM

chiaroscuro wrote:
Cde Monomotapa wrote:
chiaroscuro wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

@Ericsson is not worried about the level of capitalisation. His/her concern is in the number of shares. That's why he/she says "Comapny has more shares than safaricom and doubt whether its profits can match safaricom's"

So my question still remains: How does the number of shares affect profitability?

Number of shares don't affect profitability.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
jerry
#15 Posted : Thursday, December 19, 2013 11:22:59 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Mshindi wrote:
Stanbic Bank Uganda:

This is for @guru267 or @Obiero!
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
Cde Monomotapa
#16 Posted : Friday, December 20, 2013 9:05:48 AM

#17 Posted : Saturday, December 21, 2013 7:15:33 PM

jerry wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Mshindi wrote:
Stanbic Bank Uganda:

This is for @guru267 or @Obiero!

What is the current price?

I purchased 15000 shares during IPO, sold 10000 and still hold 5000.

So based on the above can I shangilia that I have 40000 shares.
#18 Posted : Saturday, December 21, 2013 7:32:41 PM

www.use.or.ug stopped looking at the share coz I sold at exactly the wrong time!!

HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
#19 Posted : Saturday, December 21, 2013 7:56:12 PM

www.use.or.ug stopped looking at the share coz I sold at exactly the wrong time!!

Thanks Obiero.

Forgive my questions......I have checked and seen 30 as the price.Meaning kenyan rate is about 1 bob.True? Or I have seen my own things?

Based on my 5000 shares holding and the information posted above on bonuses,have they grown to 40000?

#20 Posted : Saturday, December 21, 2013 8:49:38 PM

Thanks Obiero.

Forgive my questions......I have checked and seen 30 as the price.Meaning kenyan rate is about 1 bob.True? Or I have seen my own things?

Based on my 5000 shares holding and the information posted above on bonuses,have they grown to 40000?

Wewe @bigchick wacha kupima watu wazimu.. Ua shares have grown to 50K not 40K

HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45