wazua Mon, Feb 3, 2025

@GUKA: HELP WITH LYRICS
#1 Posted : Saturday, August 04, 2012 8:40:01 PM

@Guka, or anyone else who speakes good kikuyu; can you remember the lyrics to this rhym?

Wakarethe nuturathane [Archer, let's shoot each other]
Na wandatha Ngaguthinjira [And if you shoot me I'll slaughter for you ]
Nacio nyama itwarirwo aturi [And the meat will be taken to the fundis]
Nao aturi mature tuhiu [And the findis will make knives]
Natuo tuhiu turathe matu [And the knives will pearce the clouds]
Namo matu mauirithie mbura [And the clouds will make rain]
Nayo mbura igakuria nyeki [And the rain will nourish the grass]
Nayo nyeki ikarera njau [And the grass will feed the calf]
Nayo njau ikagura muka [And the calf will be dowry for a wife]
Nake muka agakiya ucuru [And the wife will make porridge]
Naguo ucuru ukaheo twana [And the porridge will be give to the children]
Natuo twana tukunde ucuru [And the children will drink the porridge]
Kundu! [Gulp!]

Is that correct? The Kikuyu words, I mean.
#2 Posted : Saturday, August 04, 2012 8:48:58 PM

mukiha wrote:
@Guka, or anyone else who speakes good kikuyu; can you remember the lyrics to this rhym?

Kundu! [Gulp!]

You're just a winner, we used to sing it kedo 25 years ago.
#3 Posted : Saturday, August 04, 2012 8:57:16 PM

Coolio wrote:
mukiha wrote:

Kundu! [Gulp!]

You're just a winner, we used to sing it kedo 25 years ago.

So; what have I skipped?
#4 Posted : Saturday, August 04, 2012 9:04:08 PM

I reminisce the good old days.
Na huyu wakarathe kumbe ni profession.Used to think it was a dude's name.
Today all they know is kamares kamares.
#5 Posted : Saturday, August 04, 2012 9:35:44 PM

hahahahaha ati kamares? it's "skamares" I guess lol!!!
#6 Posted : Saturday, August 04, 2012 9:56:36 PM

`Wakarathe, wakarathe nuturathane, niturathane [Archer, let's shoot each other]
Na wandatha, na wandatha Ngaguthinjira ngaguthinjira [And if you shoot me I'll slaughter for you ]
(Nacio nyama)x2 (itwarirwo aturi) x2 [And the meat will be taken to the fundis]
(Nao aturi)x2 (mature tuhiu)x2 [And the findis will make knives]
(Natuo tuhiu)x2 (tuthece matu)x2 [And the knives will pearce the clouds]
(Namo matu)x2 (mauirithie mbura)x2 [And the clouds will make rain]
(Nayo mbura)x2 (igakuria nyeki)x2 [And the rain will nourish the grass]
(Nayo nyeki)x2 (ikarera njau)x2 [And the grass will feed the calf]
(Nayo njau)x2 (ikagura muka)x2 [And the calf will be dowry for a wife]
(Nake muka)x2 (agakiya ucuru) [And the wife will make porridge]
(Naguo ucuru)x2 (ukaheo twana)x2 [And the porridge will be give to the children]
(Natuo twana)x2 (tukunde ucuru)x2 [And the children will drink the porridge]
Kundu! [Gulp!]
danas10
#7 Posted : Sunday, August 05, 2012 12:11:08 AM

Na wandatha, na wandatha Ngaguthinjira ngaguthinjira [And if you shoot me I'll slaughter for you ]
(Naguo ucuru)x2 (ukaheo twana)x2 [And the porridge will be give to the children]
Kundu! [Gulp!]

ciothe igiri ni "niturathane" smile
#8 Posted : Sunday, August 05, 2012 7:26:40 AM

Kundu! [Gulp!]

Pray Applause Applause

there was a theme song for playing mbirikichu/redi redi that went ;

ndabibi ii, ndabibi.........
I only remember the first line and .....kunyu
#9 Posted : Sunday, August 05, 2012 10:45:50 AM

@Mukiha,
You certainly haven't left anything behind although i would say the song had different wordings but,ultimately,the meaning would not be any different.For example,you refer to the archer as Wakarathe where other variants would have Wakarathi,Nyakaratha or Wagacuki......The ending also has different versions.Where you have "Natuo twana tukunde ucuru.Kundu!",i know we have,"tukahondoria ucuru
hondo hondo hondo!!!!".....or "Natuo twana tugakundukia, ucuru kunduuuuuuu".....I hope that helps.
#10 Posted : Monday, August 06, 2012 8:18:44 AM

Thanks everyone...

I will be taking a long-ish trip with my kids and I thought this song would make a good sing-along

There was also another one going something like "Wakaruci mbura ni yaura..." i cannot get passed that first line. Any helpers?
#11 Posted : Monday, August 06, 2012 8:36:57 AM

@Mukiha, Applause Applause Applause Applause memories are truly made of this. You have reminded of my dad. He used to teach me these songs when I was a little boy.

@kenmac, Ndabibi went like this

Ndabibi-i ndabibi,
Ng'ara ng'ara ndithi,
Ndithi ndithi bae
Bae bae ngurumi,
Ngurumi thengeria kaguru kau kamwe. (at this point you are supposed to remove the 'kaguru')

... I hope I right on the spelling.
Money Whisperer
#12 Posted : Monday, August 06, 2012 8:40:40 AM

kenmac wrote:

Ndabibi ii ndabibi ii
ng'ara ng'ara ndindi
ndindi bae
bae bae ngurumi
ngurumi ngurumi thengeria

Can't translatesmile
"Money never sleeps"
danas10
#13 Posted : Monday, August 06, 2012 10:28:40 AM

mukiha wrote:
Thanks everyone...

I will be taking a long-ish trip with my kids and I thought this song would make a good sing-along

There was also another one going something like "Wakaruci mbura ni yaura..." i cannot get passed that first line. Any helpers?

the one we sang for the rain went like this
"mbura ura, nguthijire, gategwa kari itara......" thats how far i can go.

na ndi mukuru kweri Sad Sad Sad
chiaroscuro
#14 Posted : Monday, August 06, 2012 1:45:39 PM

Wazee, sorry, vijana hukumbika...
StatMeister
#15 Posted : Monday, August 06, 2012 3:23:08 PM

Money Whisperer wrote:
kenmac wrote:

Ndabibi ii ndabibi ii
ng'ara ng'ara ndindi
ndindi bae
bae bae ngurumi
ngurumi ngurumi thengeria

Can't translatesmile

Wewe, where i come from, this was normally used to determine who had 'emitted noxious gasses' in a public place, often at the least appropriate time.

As in, the 'judge' would sing it while pointing to the people (in a pattern) for each syllable.
A bad day fishing is better than a good day at work
ikkebra
#16 Posted : Monday, August 06, 2012 4:46:58 PM

Ndabibi ndabibi
kamutararing'ang'a
Ng'ang'a ng'ang'a ndindi
Ndindi ndindi bye
Bye bye ngurumi
Ngurumi thengeria Kaguru kamwe.

Wakaruchi mbura niraura nitutungiirie tutututu
Nginyite gitandaini kia mbirira utugi wambura tutututu
#17 Posted : Monday, August 06, 2012 6:24:33 PM

Nda khaba khaba osi osi,
Nda chenda chenda, osi osi,
Nda tala tala, osi, osi,
Habula na shalibaho

Nda manya manya, kwese, kwese,
Nda temberera, kwese, kwese,
Nda tsvaga tsvaga, kwese, kwese,