wazua Mon, Feb 3, 2025

3 Pages<123
Running on Empty: The Life & Triumphs of Samuel Kamau Wanjiru
#41 Posted : Tuesday, July 31, 2012 9:14:04 AM

Ok. I added a +ve adjective before 'monuments' because we all know of men who create strange ones out of their beliefs and yes without apologies too.

Positive? I do not think so. Ponder this:

Hon, yes, Honourable John Michuki unappologically created a monument for the commutter in the matatu industry, the matatu industry thought otherwise and we are back to "Kaa Square". The Right Honourable Prime Minister even thinks touts should not wear uniform.

His Excellency eats and dreams the economy, the monuments in roads, fibre optic, et al put up under his watch are there for all to see. But all we do is call him General Kiguoya, "Kalucy" him, Gado never leaves the Golf Club.

Hon. Kharisa Maitha had just started giving our ineffective Council Fathers ulcers and we went and killed him.

His Majesty the King of Popular Music (RIP) gave us Thriller, the robot dance style, moonwalk, the single white glove all monuments in themselves but these days I only hear is child molesting, drug addiction and so on.

All these men have no appologies to make for what they did and would do again given the opportunity. They are men. Real men.
#42 Posted : Tuesday, July 31, 2012 9:15:27 AM

@ aemathenge.... Well put, You should link up with MAWE they need someone like you.

This story of Wanjiru reminds me of one Mario Balotelli who was born of Ghanaian parents but the family agreed to entrust the three-year-old boy to an Italian foster family....after a while he was permanently fostered by the Balotellis. When he became famous and rich, his biological parents asked for his return but he accused them of glory hunting, stating that they only wanted him back because of the prominence he had gained....with all his wealth he's totally refused to assist his biological mother who earns £6 per hour for cleaning offices!
#43 Posted : Tuesday, July 31, 2012 9:26:28 AM

aemathenge wrote:
Ok. I added a +ve adjective before 'monuments' because we all know of men who create strange ones out of their beliefs and yes without apologies too.

Positive? I do not think so. Ponder this:

Hon, yes, Honourable John Michuki unappologically created a monument for the commutter in the matatu industry, the matatu industry thought otherwise and we are back to "Kaa Square". The Right Honourable Prime Minister even thinks touts should not wear uniform.

His Excellency eats and dreams the economy, the monuments in roads, fibre optic, et al put up under his watch are there for all to see. But all we do is call him General Kiguoya, "Kalucy" him, Gado never leaves the Golf Club.

Hon. Kharisa Maitha had just started giving our ineffective Council Fathers ulcers and we went and killed him.

His Majesty the King of Popular Music (RIP) gave us Thriller, the robot dance style, moonwalk, the single white glove all monuments in themselves but these days I only hear is child molesting, drug addiction and so on.

All these men have no appologies to make for what they did and would do again given the opportunity. They are men. Real men.

What am saying in summary is that,the true measure of a man is responsibility.
Your above mentioned guys have been responsible in one way or another because they have made positive contributions to the society.
But we have those Men like Matakwei who left monuments as well.Negative monuments. Monuments dont necessarily have to be tangible.eg ur guy MJ

Bottom line is they are all men.
Karisa would have been brought up by a mummy alone just like Wanjiru.But the female character didn't rub on him.He went on to define his own life and make a man out of himself.

Matwakwei could have been brought up by a daddy like urs for instance. But that didn't make him a man! it made him a monster.

Their works defines them,their legacy,not their capability,not their strength either as macho and not who brought them either.
All that is irrelevant.

#44 Posted : Tuesday, July 31, 2012 9:34:40 AM

@ aemathenge.... Well put, You should link up with MAWE they need someone like you.

This story of Wanjiru reminds me of one Mario Balotelli who was born of Ghanaian parents but the family agreed to entrust the three-year-old boy to an Italian foster family....after a while he was permanently fostered by the Balotellis. When he became famous and rich, his biological parents asked for his return but he accused them of glory hunting, stating that they only wanted him back because of the prominence he had gained....with all his wealth he's totally refused to assist his biological mother who earns £6 per hour for cleaning offices!

Now huu ni ungwana kweli? I don't know.
#45 Posted : Wednesday, August 01, 2012 1:30:29 AM

We debate, to learn... not to 'win' (Atleast thats how I am) Whenever I post, I do so in the hope that I'll impart something that I think is wise in me.. Whenever I read a post I look for its wisdom. I always pray that my pride doesn't get in the way of my progress (easier said than done) It helps that I've read severally, that pride precedes a fall.

What I've gathered from some of the posts is 'Feminism'. I applaud some of its doctrines. Our women should be protected, by all means, to exercise their rights and enjoy life. Their lives are difficult, very difficult.. And that it is they who, more often than not, are left (Sometimes alone) to bear and bring-up children, doesn't make it any easier for them.

No one should pick on a single parent, a single mother or a single father. It's my prayer that they do the best that they can. Wanjiru's mother certainly did (Or so I hope).

Now let's move our attentions to the child.. if only for a minute. It is my belief that a child NEEDS a good father and a good mother. They both serve different roles, most of which compliment each other... but all for the good of the child, agreed?

It's a challenge for a single parent (Father or Mother) to source a Mother/Father figure, for a child. Its hard, there is no doubt about that, more so where pride(and hurt) is involved. A single parent might want to 'show' the whole world that they can have a go at it alone. Sometimes it works(I wonder what the percentage is), other times it doesn't.

There have been two distinct points, boldly underlined in this thread.
1. Quick success and money have brought many a person down to their knees, irrespective of their upbringing.
2. One is ultimately responsible for their choices, irrespective of their upbringing.
Yes, both of these are true.

The way I 'see' it there can be three things(feel free to add more) that can help a person who is making bad choices and/or is a victim of his/her own success
1. The world. The cruel world we live in will deal one a blow, that will either make or break him. Asiye funzwa na mamaye hufunzwa na ulimwengu. It was unfortunate in Wanjiru's case, it lead to his death
2. Our Parents/Guardians. It is the respect we have for our parents that helps us take in their advice or orders. Honor your Father and Mother; the only command with a promise. For a single parent, the parent is one.. unless they have been wise, put aside their pride and/or hurt, and sought out a good Mother/Father figure for the well being of their child. I bet the Wanjiru's wife, friends et al saw the folly of the late husband's behavior and financial acumen, maybe even reported it to the mother... Maybe she tried to do something. I'm betting if there was a Father figure, he might have tried to do something too. Maybe, just maybe we'd have Wanjiru alive today.. Maybe we'll have another child alive out there (If we give them a Mother figure, where she's lacking or ...)
3. God. He, by His grace, might decide to whisper to us, convict us, that what we are doing is wrong. He might even force us to change our ways, reform and conform. Or if He dims fit, call us home. Wanjiru is with us no more.

I now ask myself, what is to become of Wanjiru's mother.. who'll take care of her in her old age? Of Wanjiru's children? Of a world robbed of a hardworking athlete? What do we learn from this? How do we stop it from happening again?

Single Fathers, please get your children Mother figures.. it might help them. Put aside the hurts you think women have put you through, put aside your pride and ask, beg even.. for the well-being of your child; and by extension yourself, as you grow into old age.
Single Fathers let your children know God. When they grow up and choose to follow His ways, they'll thank you and take care of you in your old age.
The world (you and me) much as we may be quick to 'whip' an errant individual into conformity, let us recognize that, that individual might be you or me.

#46 Posted : Wednesday, August 01, 2012 9:09:57 AM

aemathenge wrote:
Is it 'manly games,movies ,schools,sports?
Do they make a man?

It is those small things that I think about when I come to think of it.

It mommy and I going shopping at the supermarket and starting with mommy looking at almost everything, the price tag, the texture of close up as opposed to the packaging of colgate, eventually spending two whole hours there and ending up only buying milk and sugar and missing Johny Quest Cartoon for that day.

This is opposed to daddy and I going shopping for his shaving cream and my geometrical set. He goes up to the attendant "Where are those metal boxes with things for drawing circles and triagles and a pencil etc." and he pointed to the stationery section. He knew where the shaving cream was. We were out of there within seventeen minutes and we were home in time to watch telematch.

It is daddy noticing I loved reading Enid Blyton's the Secret Seven and he went and bought me the whole series. It is mommy noticing the receipt and complaining that daddy should have bought just one book and the rest of the money wheat flour. It was just before Christmas.

It is daddy taking me and my brothers to watch Safari Rally and coming home soaked and muddy but euphoric, it being the April wet season. It is mommy reprimanding us for jumping up and down recreating the muddy scenes with our clothes all dirty and soaked.

It is daddy coming home one evening to find me crying and wimping to mommy how the class bully had whipped me up. It is mommy taking me to the class teacher the following day and complaining bitterly about my being beaten up by the bully.

It daddy taking me through three days on how to fight back and the sheer pleasure of kicking the boy's ass on closing day and daddy taking me to a nyama choma den and boosting to the other men how his boy had whipped a bully twice his size.

Just take a look at children going somewhere with their daddies the whole squad walk as if they own the world. With their mothers, you will hear the chill reprimand, "usiende hapo kuna maji ya uchafu". Do you mothers have to scream.

You killed it right there boss!! Basically every parent brings in something into the life of a kid. It is necessary to find a father/mother figure; and not necessarily a boy/man/girl/woman friend but even from your bros, sisters cousins etc... The child needs them.
woodpecker
#47 Posted : Wednesday, August 01, 2012 9:54:12 AM

bwenyenye wrote:
aemathenge wrote:
Is it 'manly games,movies ,schools,sports?
Do they make a man?

It is those small things that I think about when I come to think of it.

It mommy and I going shopping at the supermarket and starting with mommy looking at almost everything, the price tag, the texture of close up as opposed to the packaging of colgate, eventually spending two whole hours there and ending up only buying milk and sugar and missing Johny Quest Cartoon for that day.

This is opposed to daddy and I going shopping for his shaving cream and my geometrical set. He goes up to the attendant "Where are those metal boxes with things for drawing circles and triagles and a pencil etc." and he pointed to the stationery section. He knew where the shaving cream was. We were out of there within seventeen minutes and we were home in time to watch telematch.

It is daddy noticing I loved reading Enid Blyton's the Secret Seven and he went and bought me the whole series. It is mommy noticing the receipt and complaining that daddy should have bought just one book and the rest of the money wheat flour. It was just before Christmas.

It is daddy taking me and my brothers to watch Safari Rally and coming home soaked and muddy but euphoric, it being the April wet season. It is mommy reprimanding us for jumping up and down recreating the muddy scenes with our clothes all dirty and soaked.

It is daddy coming home one evening to find me crying and wimping to mommy how the class bully had whipped me up. It is mommy taking me to the class teacher the following day and complaining bitterly about my being beaten up by the bully.

It daddy taking me through three days on how to fight back and the sheer pleasure of kicking the boy's ass on closing day and daddy taking me to a nyama choma den and boosting to the other men how his boy had whipped a bully twice his size.

Just take a look at children going somewhere with their daddies the whole squad walk as if they own the world. With their mothers, you will hear the chill reprimand, "usiende hapo kuna maji ya uchafu". Do you mothers have to scream.

You killed it right there boss!! Basically every parent brings in something into the life of a kid. It is necessary to find a father/mother figure; and not necessarily a boy/man/girl/woman friend but even from your bros, sisters cousins etc... The child needs them.

totally agree, both fathers and mothers play different roles in the life of a child. one is instrumental while the other is sentimental.
Do not let your hearts be troubled, trust in God
#48 Posted : Wednesday, August 01, 2012 3:19:49 PM

this is from a horses mouth on the impact of growing up without his father around. However, not every child is that lucky though.....

http://www.youtube.com/w...QAoo&feature=relmfu
#49 Posted : Wednesday, August 01, 2012 8:21:35 PM

We can choose how we view our lives or those of other people. Though most times we think we are objective we are just focusing on certain aspects of it. So I will not even pretend to be objective this is how I see it. Samuel Wanjiru had a great life, he trained hard, he ran fast, he made a lot of money, he married a beautiful wife, he took care of his mother, he drank beer, he loved women, he died young.

He lived!!!!

For those to whom the only virtue a man has is to take care of money then Wanjirus life may appear tragic. Get on the road and run, feel the wind in your face, listen to your heartbeat, feel the sweat on your forehead and taste some of it as it drops down your face. And this is just you running alone, now imagine running against the best in the world and being triumphant not once but consistently. There are moments 99.999999999999999% of mankind will never achieve. There are special people amongst us who do and Samuel Wanjiru was one of them. I celebrate him and what he did.

He lived!!!!!

And for that I am greatful. I do not have any memories of him as a victim. To me he was and will remain always, a hero.
sanity
#50 Posted : Wednesday, August 01, 2012 8:49:00 PM

We can choose how we view our lives or those of other people. Though most times we think we are objective we are just focusing on certain aspects of it. So I will not even pretend to be objective this is how I see it. Samuel Wanjiru had a great life, he trained hard, he ran fast, he made a lot of money, he married a beautiful wife, he took care of his mother, he drank beer, he loved women, he died young.

He lived!!!!

For those to whom the only virtue a man has is to take care of money then Wanjirus life may appear tragic. Get on the road and run, feel the wind in your face, listen to your heartbeat, feel the sweat on your forehead and taste some of it as it drops down your face. And this is just you running alone, now imagine running against the best in the world and being triumphant not once but consistently. There are moments 99.999999999999999% of mankind will never achieve. There are special people amongst us who do and Samuel Wanjiru was one of them. I celebrate him and what he did.

He lived!!!!!

And for that I am greatful. I do not have any memories of him as a victim. To me he was and will remain always, a hero.

Words of wisdom these are..Many of us didn't know him personally.but whenever we watched him run ,we felt the excitement.and we were very proud.In our hearts he lives a hero forever!!
Hope is not a strategy
#51 Posted : Wednesday, August 01, 2012 9:33:51 PM

He lived!!!!

He lived!!!!!

#52 Posted : Wednesday, August 01, 2012 9:39:56 PM

This is where I cry

#53 Posted : Wednesday, August 01, 2012 11:15:48 PM

Cry baby cry.