wazua Mon, Feb 3, 2025

Olympics Banned!!!
#1 Posted : Sunday, July 29, 2012 8:28:25 PM

My 2.5 years old daughter was watching the Russian and Chinese gymnasts a while ago and she was very impressed. Only problem is that she now thinks she's one of those Chinese youngsters and is trying some of the moves out despite my protests! One move almost made my heart stop. What to do? I think I will have to sensor olympics!!!
#2 Posted : Sunday, July 29, 2012 8:35:57 PM

ona sasa my heart nearly stopped.
I thought kenya had corrupted it.

achane na mtoto.weka cushions and pillows and kp watch.
#3 Posted : Sunday, July 29, 2012 8:42:14 PM

Is your child related to the Chinese?
chiaroscuro
#4 Posted : Monday, July 30, 2012 8:01:15 AM

Mwana akililia wembe, mpe!
#5 Posted : Monday, July 30, 2012 8:30:30 AM

Good idea but that would only solve part of the problem. Take for example the move that almost made my heart almost stop. She decides to try a back flip which was obviously never going to work because it is being done from a stand still position. Inevitably, she falls and on her way down, the back of her head misses the corner of the table by millimeters. She doesn't get hurt that time round because she turns on her way down [which could actually make matters worse]. She figures out she knows what she did wrong, stands up and want to try the stunt again!

And to imagine we still have long jump, high jump, pole vault, boxing, javelin, discuss, shot put etc. still to come!!! What happens if she dicides to throw the flask in the telly's direction.

I think she should just watch athletics [minus field events], swimming (may be) and football [which she absolutely loves!]

chiaroscuro wrote:

As in seriously? Do you have kids? Ama it is on a lighter note?
abdulrahman
#6 Posted : Monday, July 30, 2012 9:04:28 AM

I have the same problem with my 5 year old son. He always slides (dont know how to put it) with his knees on the floor like the Drogba and the like when they score.
This is not only destroying the trousers but dangerous to his knees as he does it on all floors.
#7 Posted : Monday, July 30, 2012 9:12:32 AM

abdulrahman wrote:
I have the same problem with my 5 year old son. He always slides (dont know how to put it) with his knees on the floor like the Drogba and the like when they score.
This is not only destroying the trousers but dangerous to his knees as he does it on all floors.

Spend.thrift
#8 Posted : Monday, July 30, 2012 9:13:03 AM

My 2.5 years old daughter was watching the Russian and Chinese gymnasts a while ago and she was very impressed. Only problem is that she now thinks she's one of those Chinese youngsters and is trying some of the moves out despite my protests! One move almost made my heart stop. What to do? I think I will have to sensor olympics!!!

Maichblack, I know how you feel. That feeling is made worse when you think that on a monady morning, the TV stays at home an your daughter stays back while you have to leave to go fend for them. That's when you realise you are a parent.

I have several times considered buying a helmet when I see the stunts being attempted-especially after watching extreme sports. But once I took my kids for examination after a thunderous head first fall of 2.5 metres. I was fearing for the worst but the paeditrician told me not to be overly concerned because at that age their bodies are made for it. I took it with a pinch of salt but again, I am so sure, I took the same fall I'd not be posting this unless through sign language dictation.
#9 Posted : Monday, July 30, 2012 9:16:50 AM

I hope she will not demand to dress like the gymnasts!

chiaroscuro
#10 Posted : Monday, July 30, 2012 9:22:03 AM

chiaroscuro wrote:

Yes, I do. Three lovely ones.

When the first one came, I didn't know what to do. So as he grew older, I found my self "baby-proofing" my house to accommodate him. Fragile items slowly climbed higher and higher as the boy grew taller.

Then one day, I got a flash of inspiration. "Kwani hii nyumba ni yanani? How can a small child force me to change the arrangement of things?"

I decided to take back my house... by force!

I would slap his wrist every time he reached for something that is delicate.... Few months down the road, he knew where his space was and that the rest of the house is not his!

Regarding dangerous play: you must smack her immediately she does it. if she doesn't stop. The you have to be "strong enough to let her fall" [as the Dettol ad says].

Contrary to what you might think, 2.5 years is not too young to be smacked! Unless of course, you don't believe in smacking.
kimiri
#11 Posted : Monday, July 30, 2012 9:31:20 AM

This reminds me that we also lived dangerously during our times to the torment of our parents. When playing football one day, one of the boys was knocked down by a bicycle while running after the ball that had been kicked across the road. Shaken but only slightly injured, the fellow got up, apologized to the bicycle rider who had also fallen down, and then took off at an astonishing speed fearing that the rider was going to thwack him.
#12 Posted : Monday, July 30, 2012 9:39:09 AM

chiaroscuro wrote:

Wrong!!...Mwana akililia wembe,mpe panga!smile
Mshindi
#13 Posted : Monday, July 30, 2012 10:07:16 AM

chiaroscuro wrote:

Yes, I do. Three lovely ones.

When the first one came, I didn't know what to do. So as he grew older, I found my self "baby-proofing" my house to accommodate him. Fragile items slowly climbed higher and higher as the boy grew taller.

Then one day, I got a flash of inspiration. "Kwani hii nyumba ni yanani? How can a small child force me to change the arrangement of things?"

I decided to take back my house... by force!

I would slap his wrist every time he reached for something that is delicate.... Few months down the road, he knew where his space was and that the rest of the house is not his!

Regarding dangerous play: you must smack her immediately she does it. if she doesn't stop. The you have to be "strong enough to let her fall" [as the Dettol ad says].

Contrary to what you might think, 2.5 years is not too young to be smacked! Unless of course, you don't believe in smacking.

#14 Posted : Monday, July 30, 2012 10:09:40 AM

Good idea but that would only solve part of the problem. Take for example the move that almost made my heart almost stop. She decides to try a back flip which was obviously never going to work because it is being done from a stand still position. Inevitably, she falls and on her way down, the back of her head misses the corner of the table by millimeters. She doesn't get hurt that time round because she turns on her way down [which could actually make matters worse]. She figures out she knows what she did wrong, stands up and want to try the stunt again!

And to imagine we still have long jump, high jump, pole vault, boxing, javelin, discuss, shot put etc. still to come!!! What happens if she dicides to throw the flask in the telly's direction.

I think she should just watch athletics [minus field events], swimming (may be) and football [which she absolutely loves!]

keep all dgr 's and valuables out of reach of kids .smile
Be careful also with brittle arms.
#15 Posted : Monday, July 30, 2012 10:24:09 AM

These things happen.... You can accident-proof for the olympics, but what are you gonna do when she sees the innocent Keringet Water advert and she accidentally comes across the container of jik and thinks it's keringet water and drinks it? It happened to me.... and trust me, am an accident-freak so i make sure everything is out of the way! That's when i realised, its God who protects these kids. Do what you can, leave the rest to God.
#16 Posted : Monday, July 30, 2012 10:31:31 AM

watoto na walevi huchungwa na Mungu.
#17 Posted : Monday, July 30, 2012 10:48:25 AM

That's when i realised, its God who protects these kids. Do what you can, leave the rest to God.

You are very right Wendz.One lunch time years back,my last born son followed his kitten to under the car and when he got hold of it,they lay there without a care.I walked to the car but somehow,i bent down to do my shoe lace and that's when my eyes caught the legs of the small boy right under the sump....That moment alone must have saved the boy.I shudder any time i remember this incidence and it taught me to always check under the car before zooming off anywhere.....Guardian angels do exist.
#18 Posted : Monday, July 30, 2012 10:50:53 AM

when we were growing up....there was no getrude or anything close to that, we never broke our bones and if i can recall..the youngest person we buried was 15...when you sit back and recall the stunts you pulled back in the days...Olympics ni shadow!!!!
#19 Posted : Monday, July 30, 2012 11:07:45 AM

bwenyenye wrote:
watoto na walevi huchungwa na Mungu.

That's true, some of you would be shocked if you got to know the kind of stuff househelps let your kids get away with when you are not around.
#20 Posted : Monday, July 30, 2012 11:22:53 AM

chiaroscuro wrote:

...Weeeeeeeeee..... Zack has not even reached Namanga!!!