wazua Mon, Feb 3, 2025

Graduates and CVs
#1 Posted : Friday, July 27, 2012 3:09:24 PM

Why do graduates write very poor cvs?

I got one today.And no I am not the HR,I can only recommend 'if there's a vacancy'
One look at the handwriting on the envelope and I knew this was an epic fail.
The company name was spelt wrong,the commas and fullstops all at wrong places.
Seems as though the owner wrote it hurriedly.

Well,I proceeded to open it and the handwriting was almost gothic.
This is a job application letter not an Fb chat thing for christ's sake.Use the right fonts and colour!
The tone of the letter didn't depict a 'hungry for job' person.It was don't care attitude.
I looked at the qualifications>> Degree in International studies,Makerere university.
The name Makerere always reminds me of MK.
I wondered to myself 'when did makerere lose it?

I went through the CV and the only notable thing was the name Makerere, but the quality of the cv was something else.

I have seen great and mighty cvs but when they come for practical interviews they fail miserably.
Many graduates IMO know theory,but cannot express themselves. Others come for interviews ready with prepared 'professional answers' then get confused when asked a very simple ,unprofessional and silly question.

Why is this so with the graduates? cz I have realised those who never graduated seem to know better and easily pass.

luttz
#2 Posted : Friday, July 27, 2012 3:19:06 PM

Its not just Makerere, it equally applies to most of the universities and is a reflection of the quality of the job seekers which is wanting
"You've never lived until you've almost died; for those who have fought for it, life has a flavour the protected will never know."
#3 Posted : Friday, July 27, 2012 3:26:35 PM

Graduate cv.
NAME: Kamunyi wa Korir
DOB: 9 October 1982
Currently living with my new partner in Nyanza.
NATIONALITY: Kenyan but living in migingo.
EDUCATION: Below

Kimundu Junior School>> PPI,PP2,PP3
Best dancer.

Matundu Primary school

-Headprefect
-Best footballer > led school in national sports and won a national award.
Muchatha Secondary school
-School Captain
-CU leader
-Head of agriculture club
-Dorm prefect.

Subjects: Geography,CRE,History,Art.

University
Makerere.

Interests

Farming esp. arrow roots and cows
Rambling in the countryside
Doing things by myself> built my own tree house

Tukusaidie aje sasa?
Mimi hushindwa kuambiwa mtu nobody gives a damn whether u were CU captain or head of some club.
Job environment is not like school.

#4 Posted : Friday, July 27, 2012 3:40:52 PM

And PLEEEASE GRADUATES I BEG YOU.

DO NOT WRITE IN PRAISE OF A COMPANY IF YOU HAVEN'T DONE YOUR RESEARCH WELL.

Some infor u pick from the internet is outdated.
Some activities you quote do not even exist or they are practiced in partner countries not necessarily the one you hope to work with.
Some clients you quote are our competitors! jeez.
If you know nothing about the company don't say it.
Talk about u and save urself the embarrasment when u show up for interview.
#5 Posted : Friday, July 27, 2012 3:42:07 PM

It all boils down to the type of education we get this days all cramming and theoretical...nikupita tu exams apart from that nothing else,you arent taught how to solve real life problems
#6 Posted : Friday, July 27, 2012 3:54:38 PM

Am in the hiring business and i can assure you that the problem is not only graduates but the current market. People dont follow instructions.

The formats of Cvs are horrible. People just pull out cvs and apply. The best is they dont even keep abreast with their referees. In some instances, the ref has moved on and they are still indicating that he/she is working for so and so company. Annoying!
#7 Posted : Friday, July 27, 2012 3:57:56 PM

Instructions; dont attach your certificates at this point, you get scanned copies 5mb.

Fill the application form on our website; i can assure you only 10% of Kenya's fill follow this instruction and apply using the form; ojinga sana.

Indicate your current and expected salary; this is not a knock off. No No for applicants.

List is endless
#8 Posted : Friday, July 27, 2012 4:01:04 PM

the best is those applications; actually forwards with like 10 lines on the email. Dah, it you think before applying YAWA THO!
#9 Posted : Friday, July 27, 2012 4:03:09 PM

Instructions; dont attach your certificates at this point, you get scanned copies 5mb.

Fill the application form on our website; i can assure you only 10% of Kenya's fill follow this instruction and apply using the form; ojinga sana.

Indicate your current and expected salary; this is not a knock off. No No for applicants.

List is endless

That referee part is a play field.
Some ref. died ages ago,others were involved in fraud etc. Research.
But we don't bother. Some even put their family members names.

Then we have the P.O BOX. guys.
At least have a proper email address or some form of online connection.

I bolded proper cz dear Lord.
essysexy@yahoo.com
machoman@yahoo419.com.

#10 Posted : Friday, July 27, 2012 4:09:32 PM

Someone wrote to me once, saying she was looking for "something like a job" and even without using all the vowels...the email was full of consonants. she'd graduated from law school...

#11 Posted : Friday, July 27, 2012 4:20:42 PM

eti 'something like a job? ngai!
what could that be?

I like people who use the 'I have skills to offer' approach.I can fill this gap,do this and that etc etc.Give me a chance.
That kind you want to sit and listen to.

Those who come to look? Shame on you wanachokesha.
accelriskconsult
#12 Posted : Friday, July 27, 2012 4:33:18 PM

what could that be?

I like people who use the 'I have skills to offer' approach.I can fill this gap,do this and that etc etc.Give me a chance.

Essyk I can attest that iko chidaLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

The most annoying part is that some job seekers are so sure of themselves that they will not make any changes even when advised that their CV would not be given a second look by any self respecting employer.

Worse still are the lazy types who will send it back to you claiming to have made changes that are only visible to themselves.

But guys this sorry state of affairs is applicable to many categories of people including under grads, grads, experienced hires, diploma holders and even Phds
abdulrahman
#13 Posted : Friday, July 27, 2012 4:42:27 PM

Graduate cv.
NAME: Kamunyi wa Korir
DOB: 9 October 1982
Currently living with my new partner in Nyanza.
NATIONALITY: Kenyan but living in migingo.
EDUCATION: Below

Best dancer.

Matundu Primary school

-Headprefect
-Best footballer > led school in national sports and won a national award.
Muchatha Secondary school
-School Captain
-CU leader
-Head of agriculture club
-Dorm prefect.

Subjects: Geography,CRE,History,Art.

University
Makerere.

Interests

Farming esp. arrow roots and cows
Rambling in the countryside
Doing things by myself> built my own tree house

Tukusaidie aje sasa?
Mimi hushindwa kuambiwa mtu nobody gives a damn whether u were CU captain or head of some club.
Job environment is not like school.

ati farming arrowroots, am dead !
#14 Posted : Friday, July 27, 2012 4:53:35 PM

accelriskconsult wrote:
what could that be?

Essyk I can attest that iko chidaLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

The most annoying part is that some job seekers are so sure of themselves that they will not make any changes even when advised that their CV would not be given a second look by any self respecting employer.

Worse still are the lazy types who will send it back to you claiming to have made changes that are only visible to themselves.

But guys this sorry state of affairs is applicable to many categories of people including under grads, grads, experienced hires, diploma holders and even Phds

True.I have seen a masters holder fidget,bite nails and sweat trickle during interview.
The cv however was very impressive.
These employers spend less than 10 sec checking out CVs.Others are filed, some end up in garbage.
If it looks impressive,it may be given consideration.
Understand that people are very busy.lol
Others C&P and employers know that.

Many employers look for what you can offer cz truth is, there's nothing so new.It's how you do it.The style that works.
That's why face to face interview matters.
Ukija na only ur past involvements u fail.

Eti chairman was sacco,sijui head of estate committee,treasurer wa family get togethers.
smh.the things people include in cvs!!

Blackbelt
#15 Posted : Friday, July 27, 2012 5:19:19 PM

Best dancer.

LUOL!
#16 Posted : Friday, July 27, 2012 5:42:20 PM

@essyk hiyo ku fidget na kusweat sikupenda kwake...there are some people who just cant speak infront of new faces they rather die...
#17 Posted : Friday, July 27, 2012 6:39:15 PM

Could you all do us a favour?

Tonight, ask your son and or daughter to write an application and then read this thread again.

For I am so ......... dissappointed by the collective sentiments expressed on this thread that I could ........
#18 Posted : Friday, July 27, 2012 8:28:03 PM

EMPLOYEE INFORMATION:
Please fill in the following information to enable us assess your application further:

EXPECTED SALARY: Yes, I expect a salary

SEX: 4 times a week

ARE YOUR A RESPONSIBLE PERSON? GIVE AN EXAMPLE:
Yes I am responsible. For example, at my previous employer anything that got lost people said I was responsible. This shows I am a very responsible person.

WHAT TYPE OF A PERSON ARE YOU?
In life there are 3 types of people: those who can count and those who can't. I am among those who can count.

IF WE SAY A PERSON HAS A STAND-ALONE COMPUTER WHAT DOES IT MEAN:
It comes with no chair.

IF THERE WAS A FIRE IN THE COMPUTER ROOM, WHAT KIND OF STEPS WOULD YOU TAKE:
Very very long ones Sir.

#19 Posted : Friday, July 27, 2012 8:46:16 PM

Intelligentsia wrote:

EMPLOYEE INFORMATION:
Please fill in the following information to enable us assess your application further:

EXPECTED SALARY: Yes, I expect a salary

SEX: 4 times a week

ARE YOUR A RESPONSIBLE PERSON? GIVE AN EXAMPLE:
Yes I am responsible. For example, at my previous employer anything that got lost people said I was responsible. This shows I am a very responsible person.

WHAT TYPE OF A PERSON ARE YOU?
In life there are 3 types of people: those who can count and those who can't. I am among those who can count.

IF WE SAY A PERSON HAS A STAND-ALONE COMPUTER WHAT DOES IT MEAN:
It comes with no chair.

IF THERE WAS A FIRE IN THE COMPUTER ROOM, WHAT KIND OF STEPS WOULD YOU TAKE:
Very very long ones Sir.

Me too. I love my life you know? smile smile
BGL
#20 Posted : Friday, July 27, 2012 9:33:47 PM

Human Resources sulks and stinks like hell! I do not like how HR people behave! Can you imagine the way you walk or if you appear in an interview room without a tie may cost you a job.

Your CV and your interview skills especially for young people should not be used to their disadvantage.

A few persons whom HR could have dismissed as jokers but they changed lives.

Steve Jobs was fired from Apple – a company he founded.
Michael Jordan as a high school sophomore didn’t make his varsity basketball team — another sophomore beat him out.
J.K. Rowling, author of the Harry Potter series (400 million copies sold) was rejected by 12 publishers.
Walt Disney was fired from a newspaper because “he lacked imagination and had no new ideas.”
Winston Churchill failed 6th grade and lost every election for public office, until he won and became the Prime Minister of the United Kingdom during the Second World War.
History will not remember you for your IQ. It will remember you for what you did. “Genius is 1 percent inspiration, 99 percent perspiration.” Thomas Edison