wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

Old currency
Horton
#1 Posted : Friday, July 20, 2012 7:05:56 PM

Does anyone have old currency for sale preferably East african Currency Board or Mombasa pice. If yes, please reply to this post with what you have and ur contacts.

Regards.
#2 Posted : Friday, July 20, 2012 8:10:14 PM

I'm keeping my old big ten cent I'm hoping it will earn me something for my pension
rd1
#3 Posted : Friday, July 20, 2012 8:51:48 PM

Hi Horton,

I have a number of old pieces and would not mind discussing them with you. Send me a starting note through my e-mail address rdkenya@gmail.com.

I also have some old postage stamps in my collection and could dig in sometime.

Look forward to exchange notes with you.

RD
Horton
#4 Posted : Friday, July 20, 2012 9:47:29 PM

I'm keeping my old big ten cent I'm hoping it will earn me something for my pension

@Newfarer which country? Lemme know if u will reconsider.

@rd1 thanks will be in touch soon. Cheers
#5 Posted : Sunday, July 22, 2012 4:10:07 PM

I have one Kenyan ten shillings note for 1984. I have never seen any like it.

other notes include ten and twenty shilling notes with Moi portraits, and a few five, ten and twenty shilling notes with Kenyatta portraits.

they are part of my wall hangings bt can sell.
Gadaffi
#6 Posted : Sunday, July 22, 2012 4:44:17 PM

Actually, i came across sm1 who ws sourcing 4 a ten shillng coin that ws issued in 2010. There were offering 2 buy the coin 4 a shs.100 a piece n if i had alot we cld renegotiate 4 higher terms
Horton
#7 Posted : Monday, July 23, 2012 9:05:16 AM

@kenmac got a Buncha those thanks ...

@Gadaffi. Interesting. Wonder why.
chiaroscuro
#8 Posted : Monday, July 23, 2012 2:57:47 PM

When the sh10 was issued, some people found an interesting market for it in some foreign country... where the coins were made into earrings!
Sold for $10 per pair!!
#9 Posted : Monday, July 23, 2012 3:25:56 PM

Horton wrote:

haya/. wacha ningonje twendi thate.

nitakuuzia na 5000% profit increase.
Gadaffi
#10 Posted : Monday, July 23, 2012 4:26:54 PM

Horton wrote:

after buyin at 100 bob, th guy ws sellin th same currency at 500 bob!!!
Horton
#11 Posted : Monday, July 23, 2012 6:33:35 PM

@chiaroscoro ....oooooooooh
@kenmac.... Lol. I'm sure u will lakini I have too many of those
@Gadaffi. Cheers
tom_boy
#12 Posted : Monday, July 23, 2012 9:29:22 PM

I know a guy who sold the 5000shs Kenyan coin for 2000 USD. The same guy was selling the new South Sudan currency for between 15USD to 20USD for a stack of 10 different denominations and he made a killing.
They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
#13 Posted : Monday, July 23, 2012 10:21:35 PM

Anyone with the Kenyan gold coin/s that was produced in 1966? Just seen a pic of it

Horton
#14 Posted : Tuesday, July 24, 2012 12:11:22 AM

Try reputable jewellery stores. Very few of these issued

The 100 bob one has a whip instead of the jogoo.
Horton
#15 Posted : Tuesday, July 24, 2012 12:14:26 AM

tom_boy wrote:
I know a guy who sold the 5000shs Kenyan coin for 2000 USD. The same guy was selling the new South Sudan currency for between 15USD to 20USD for a stack of 10 different denominations and he made a killing.

@ tom_boy at JKIA duty free there's a Duka near Java that have the pure silver 500 bob coin. They are selling it for $100. It's from the royal mint
keanute
#16 Posted : Tuesday, July 24, 2012 9:03:04 AM

Interesting post. I am a collector of Kenyan banknotes and have been collecting them for the past 5 years. Banknote collecting (or notaphily) has taken on a new investment dimension and you would be surprised at the prices I've had to pay for some of the notes I have in my collection.

A quick starting guide for the ardent collector should be the Krause Standard Catalog of World Paper Money, which you can "find" online. This will help you understand the different banknotes, their features and an indication of their value. In the past this was considered the de facto standard and authority on all matters banknote-related. Of course it has its limitations (including minor omissions) but it's an excellent starting point.

The single most important factor in currency collection is the condition of the banknote, which, in my experience when searching for notes in Kenya, has been a major hurdle. You ask someone for a banknote and they tell you that they have a "new" Jomo Kenyatta 20 shillings note - only to find that it has been folded at least once.

For someone seriously considering starting out on the notaphily journey, I would recommend splitting your collection into pre-independence (1905-1963) and post-independence (1964-2010) banknotes. The latter are far less-frustrating though by no means easier to collect (try locating a 1987 200 shillings banknote in mint condition!). I would also encourage you to invest in a decent album or system by which you can store your notes safely and away from light as they fade when exposed to light over long periods of time - hence the colour variations you may see in the same notes. You should also seriously consider investing in the security of your banknotes - the last thing you want is your maid stealing your hard acquired collection. I would also be careful not to talk to too many people about your collection purely because of the value plus the fact that the current constitution makes it illegal to trade currency.

East African Currency Board notes are a whole different ball game. They are very difficult to locate in mint (uncirculated = UNC) condition and command ridiculous prices when they appear. It would be prudent to acquire these in any condition that you can find and then improve on them over time. Some are virtually unobtainable, such as the KGV 200/= note of which there are only 13 known pieces in the world. The KGV and KGVI 10,000/= notes are for all intents and purposes unobtainable... but nothing surely beats the East African Currency Board Rupee uniface notes for sheer value and elusiveness. These notes easily go for over KES 800K in any condition. They surface only at auctions and are always listed as "extremely rare".

I have specifically restricted my collection to banknotes (over coins) and know a few people who have entire collections of Kenyan notes and coins. Be advised that this is a hobby that requires a lot of investment of both time and money, but is well worth the hobby in the long term. For instance, the first issue 1,000/= (1994) banknote goes for nothing less than $100 in UNC condition today. Of course this is perceived collectors' premium and only constitutes actual return once a transaction has been concluded. However, it is good to remember that CBK destroys old notes and withdraws notes from circulation once a new issue comes out. This makes old currency a particularly attractive investment.

I could go on for hours and I'd be happy to offer more advice but I have to stop. If I were to offer 4 banknotes that someone should collect today (in case they didn't want to invest in an entire collection), I would recommend the following (they have to be in mint UNC condition):

- 1966 50 shillings (present value >KES 100,000)
- 1994 1,000 shillings (~KES 8,500)
- 1987 & 1988 200 shillings (~KES 15,000)
- 1988 500 shillings (~KES 15,000)
- 1996 20 shillings and 50 shillings notes (both of these were issued in 2 types distinguished by the colour of the signatures. Collect the ones with the black signature as they only appeared in a single serial number series)

Happy hunting!
KenSaf
#17 Posted : Tuesday, July 24, 2012 4:40:29 PM

This is really interesting. Will join the club
Doors of opportunity don't just open , they have to be unlocked & it's up to you to turn the knob.
Horton
#18 Posted : Tuesday, July 24, 2012 5:49:53 PM

@ keanute. I have been in it for 3 years. Been doing currency too.

I have a few ea currency board...including the huge 20bob note but in VF and F for the majority.

drop me an email hortoncapital@gmail.com
#19 Posted : Tuesday, July 24, 2012 7:08:22 PM

@keanute Welcome to wazua and thanks for the incite, you have given me more morale.
K22
#20 Posted : Wednesday, July 25, 2012 6:56:22 PM

I have a 1981 100/- note, 1995 & 96 20/- note (used), 1978 5/- note (mint condition).

also in my collection are other African countries notes eg Ghana 1 cedi note (1979), 2 cedis (82), 10 cedis (81) and 200 cedis (93) all in mint condition.

interested? make an offer rex_k22 at yahoo dot com

A successful man is one who makes more money than his wife can spend. A successful woman is one who can find such a man