GREEDY TEACHERS
#21 Posted: : Friday, July 20, 2012 11:45:13 AM

danas10 wrote:
Demanding even more than the lecturers, jeez!!

@Impunity hapo sawa, let them become the tea girls!!!!

........who has more than 3 months leave in this country apart from teachers????

Na tutawatongoza hapo wakitu-serve chai.

Its only a Kenyan female teacher who has a 6-month leave (hizo 3 za @makerege plus 3 za mimba)

And the way they give birth like guinea pigs (after every 6 months) you can imagine how many effective years they put in schoolwork for their entire 20 years of siring!
Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

This is uncalled for. stick to salary demands.

By that birthrate I was saying that they are only within school precincts in half their employment life. So they dont need such outrageous salary demands.

I didnt know wazuans have P2 teachers amongst,I thought we are all mindro-krass!!!Pole sana.

abdulrahman
#22 Posted : Friday, July 20, 2012 11:45:30 AM

abdulrahman wrote:
Ms Mkenya wrote:
Most of these teachers are Diploma holders, some with degrees.
They should fin out how people are being paid first.
If a principal is to be paid 700k si kila mtu atatenda kufundisha?

And some of them insist on only teaching the lower primary so that they have the whole afternoon manning their estate kiosks and doing doing bodaboda business!!!
Shame on you Shame on you

Ukweli kabisa.

A P2 teacher demanding ksh 72k is just hilarious and ridiculous when a Diploma Nurse (civil servant) is earning 19k.

Nurses are overworked and work in very traumatizing conditions, infact, they cannot even afford the services they give and have only 21 days leave in year and work on shifts including wee hours of the night. Which P2 teacher works at night. Lazy people with more than 3 months leave per year !!!

Familiarize yourself with the profession! Nurses work two nights and get two days off in private hospitals. It's even more days in government hospitals.

And aren't we the same people who were screaming our voices hoarse when the same underpaid nurses went on strike and people were dying... calling them "insensitive, inconsiderate, inhuman"??? Yet now, since they are not the ones on strike, we praise them even when they are still underpaid?

How do you expect the teachers not to man their kiosks if they are underpaid? How do you expect them to meet the rising cost of living? Yet, there are still billions of shillings getting lost/going unaccounted for in treasury!!!!

@Wendz,

You still maintain the teachers are justifiable with their ridiculous demands. Am sorry if I hurt you, maybe you are a teacher.

Understand the Working hours

Nurses and other medical professionals get night offs every time they complete a rigorous night shifts. In most private hospitals and the gaments, the employees are supposed to work a minimum of 168 hours in a month. This equivalent to any other officer working from 8.am to 5pm from monday to friday when you compute. Because the medical professionals work throughout from Monday to sunday, the need to work a minimum of 168 hours. So your allegation that nurses have more leave days should not arise. I work with gament and I know how this works !!

#23 Posted : Friday, July 20, 2012 11:50:47 AM

danas10 wrote:

........who has more than 3 months leave in this country apart from teachers????

Its only a Kenyan female teacher who has a 6-month leave (hizo 3 za @makerege plus 3 za mimba)

And the way they give birth like guinea pigs (after every 6 months) you can imagine how many effective years they put in schoolwork for their entire 20 years of siring!

By that birthrate I was saying that they are only within school precincts in half their employment life. So they dont need such outrageous salary demands.

I didnt know wazuans have P2 teachers amongst,I thought we are all mindro-krass!!!Pole sana.

Now you sound like the "man" Mcdoba was referring too smile

danas10
#24 Posted : Friday, July 20, 2012 11:53:09 AM

danas10 wrote:

I am a P2 running several kiosk's in our estate.
Um Sayala
#25 Posted : Friday, July 20, 2012 12:12:21 PM

Honestly teachers are becoming more of politicians than professionals. They shd share the blame for poor performance in public schools, and not always make noise in the media about their salaries.

Come to think of it. walimu wako na 3 months holiday per year, who else in the cuivil/public service has that. They do strictly 8 hrs a day ( in theory, coz they do much less than that), no shifts...nothing.

Think of our nusres, with Diplomas (compare to D+ of p2), policemen and most importantly our soldiers. the latter are in dungeons, away from their families with bullets flying over their heads. Have they demanded the outrageous amounts?.

Hapaana, happpppaaaaannnnnnaaa. walimu should not think they are more special than other citizens.
"Peace is our profession, War is our business" ...Unknown
#26 Posted : Friday, July 20, 2012 12:25:40 PM

abdulrahman wrote:

Familiarize yourself with the profession! Nurses work two nights and get two days off in private hospitals. It's even more days in government hospitals.

And aren't we the same people who were screaming our voices hoarse when the same underpaid nurses went on strike and people were dying... calling them "insensitive, inconsiderate, inhuman"??? Yet now, since they are not the ones on strike, we praise them even when they are still underpaid?

How do you expect the teachers not to man their kiosks if they are underpaid? How do you expect them to meet the rising cost of living? Yet, there are still billions of shillings getting lost/going unaccounted for in treasury!!!!

@Wendz,

You still maintain the teachers are justifiable with their ridiculous demands. Am sorry if I hurt you, maybe you are a teacher. Read Post No. 7 starting paragraph. And for records, I am not a teacher. I taught when i was a teenager - as a misplaced hobby. Still, i do believe teachers need a pay increase... of course not what they are demanding..

Understand the Working hours

Nurses and other medical professionals get night offs every time they complete a rigorous night shifts. In most private hospitals and the gaments, the employees are supposed to work a minimum of 168 hours in a month. This equivalent to any other officer working from 8.am to 5pm from monday to friday when you compute. Because the medical professionals work throughout from Monday to sunday, the need to work a minimum of 168 hours. So your allegation that nurses have more leave days should not arise. I work with gament and I know how this works !!

[/quote]

First, you are misquoting me. there is no where i said that nurses have MORE leave days than teachers except where i compared nurses in private hospitals vs nurses in government hospitals. What i was clarifying is your comment that they have only 21 days and they even work at night.... What you didnt say is that they are compensated for the days they work at night. Do simple maths... they work a minimum of 168hrs... that sounds quite much... but divide that 168 by 8hrs to see how many days they are required to work in a month... you'll get its a minimum of 21 days only that their schedules are different... who doesn't work those days if you are employed? Basically everybody with a day job works more hours than that i believe - me included....
#27 Posted : Friday, July 20, 2012 1:24:31 PM

even the "gcse schools" don't pay that much
Kaka M
#28 Posted : Friday, July 20, 2012 2:01:32 PM

[quote=Wendz]The current demand by teachers is unreasonable I must agree. However, in negotiation, you start from above your target and negotiate downwards.... Its a good strategy for the KNUT officials though exaggerated.

Very true @ Wendz, one of the few times I am supporting teachers. My former Mp moved from being a teacher to that position where he was pocketing over 1m so if he deserved the 1m whats wrong with his former colleague asking for the same.
They definitely will not get it but that opens the door for negotiation.
Why r some Wazuans so irritated over what the neighbors family are asking their parents to provide?
chiaroscuro
#29 Posted : Friday, July 20, 2012 4:13:35 PM

I wonder what would have a greater impact: to spend the extra money on teacher's salaries or to use it to improve educational facilities in school?

A higher salary is not the only way to motivate workers. Having the right tools for the job also works wonders in motivation. If you doubt me observe the difference between a matatu driver who drives a new vehicle to one with an old jalopy that keeps stalling every time he stops to pick passengers...and has gears that disengage each time he hits a pothole....
chiaroscuro
#30 Posted : Friday, July 20, 2012 4:16:06 PM

and by the way; we pay our MPs over 700k...and what do we get out of it?