How Safaricom Steals Your Internet Bundle
#21 Posted : Wednesday, July 18, 2012 10:35:46 PM

aemathenge wrote:

give me a place with vast majority of safcom users where there exists no alternative - and I will point you to a liar

Such is the profound pity that you are so SPOILED for choice that you would not even contemplate parts of Kenya where data service providers cannot be relied upon to provide a reliable enough service.

A pity indeed.

would you be kind enough to please mention the place(s)

I give up. Nothing further.
#22 Posted : Thursday, July 19, 2012 9:09:50 AM

But why buy a 1.5GB if you are not a heavy internet user?
Si that's why they have given u options to enable u buy according to ur usage.

If I buy 5 kgs of sugar for a month and I use 2kgs,will I take it back and demand money for the 3kg I didn't utilize?

Buy smaller bundles to last u the time ur online and u will never suffer expiry issues.

So should Mumias sugar demand you return the sugar so next time you buy in quarter kilos?

we buy 1.5gb coz its cheaper Ksh0.66/mb. unlike 500mb at a rate of 1bob/mb.

Whether I finish the data is my decision to make, not Safaricoms.

I HATE SAFARICOM AND COLLYMORE.
chiaroscuro
#23 Posted : Thursday, July 19, 2012 9:15:51 AM

Tebes wrote:
chiaroscuro wrote:
I don't think it's theft.

The 1.5GB for sh1,000, for example, is a SPECIAL OFFER and like all special offers, it comes with CONDITIONS... one those conditions is use the bundle within 30 days...

The reaction by Bob was mistaken, in my view. perhaps he felt ambushed...

When is the offer ending? Till kingdom come?

The offer ends 7 days, or 30days or 90days after purchase depending on the bundle bought.

If you don't like the idea of of a bundle, then you can "browse as you go" at the standard rate of sh8 per MB.

Then you will not lose your money... but you will pay through the nose!
#24 Posted : Thursday, July 19, 2012 9:18:51 AM

I will say it again.This is outright theft by sufferingcon and they must not be allowed to get away with it. COLLYMORE AND SUFFERINGCON, get your theiving fingers away from my bundles.
chiaroscuro
#25 Posted : Thursday, July 19, 2012 9:18:54 AM

kenmac wrote:

If I buy 5 kgs of sugar for a month and I use 2kgs,will I take it back and demand money for the 3kg I didn't utilize?

Buy smaller bundles to last u the time ur online and u will never suffer expiry issues.

So should Mumias sugar demand you return the sugar so next time you buy in quarter kilos?

Cheap is expensive; it always comes with strings attached!
#26 Posted : Thursday, July 19, 2012 9:21:38 AM

chiaroscuro wrote:
kenmac wrote:

What the hell is this guy talking about? SMHShame on you Shame on you
#27 Posted : Thursday, July 19, 2012 10:00:45 AM

aemathenge wrote:

give me a place with vast majority of safcom users where there exists no alternative - and I will point you to a liar

Such is the profound pity that you are so SPOILED for choice that you would not even contemplate parts of Kenya where data service providers cannot be relied upon to provide a reliable enough service.

A pity indeed.

I give up. Nothing further.

I think some Applause is in order - nimeshinda! nimeshinda!
Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#28 Posted : Thursday, July 19, 2012 10:16:51 AM

kenmac wrote:

d'oh! d'oh!
Hate or Love him he is here to stay.:

Honestly I think ur making a big fuss over nothing.Saf has already offered u the service in portions YOU can afford.
Businesses everywhere are like that.

The more quantities u buy the cheaper it is.
A sack of charcoal/potatoes is cheaper than tins.

It's soo simple! The moment u purchase bundles you have completed the contract.You cannot change it at ur own terms to suit u and blame the provider since u had other options.

If I am not a heavy internet user,why should I buy 1.5GB which I am not going to fully utilize anyway? Its cheap u say.But it's not giving u good value for ur money.
Blame urself for not being smart.
See,I buy 1.5gb only because I know I will exhaust it within a given time.
At times I buy only 100/50 mb and am gone.

Do not forget this.You are one of those clients safcom hates!
If u expect to buy 1.5 GBs to last u 2 months what kind of customer are u?
It's about money.If you fail to exhaust it they will exhaust it on ur behalf so u come back to buy more.

#29 Posted : Thursday, July 19, 2012 11:04:37 AM

kenmac wrote:

d'oh! d'oh!
Hate or Love him he is here to stay.:

Honestly I think ur making a big fuss over nothing.Saf has already offered u the service in portions YOU can afford.
Businesses everywhere are like that.

The more quantities u buy the cheaper it is.
A sack of charcoal/potatoes is cheaper than tins.

It's soo simple! The moment u purchase bundles you have completed the contract.You cannot change it at ur own terms to suit u and blame the provider since u had other options.

If I am not a heavy internet user,why should I buy 1.5GB which I am not going to fully utilize anyway? Its cheap u say.But it's not giving u good value for ur money.
Blame urself for not being smart.
See,I buy 1.5gb only because I know I will exhaust it within a given time.
At times I buy only 100/50 mb and am gone.

Do not forget this.You are one of those clients safcom hates!
If u expect to buy 1.5 GBs to last u 2 months what kind of customer are u?
It's about money.If you fail to exhaust it they will exhaust it on ur behalf so u come back to buy more.

Applause Applause Applause Applause
Wise words madam @essyk. You can't have your cake and eat it. If you hire a car for 12 hours, and they tell you the maximum range is a 250 km radius from Nairobi, then you drive to Westlands and sit there for 12 hours, you can't go back to the rental company and complain. You were given terms and complied. It is a free country, a capitalist economy - people should stop whingeing all the time when they can read, understand and make choices.
#30 Posted : Thursday, July 19, 2012 11:35:51 AM

@essyk, economists assume that customers are rational beings. This means, if I buy 1.5gb at a lower rate per mb, and use 700 mb, after expiry, I'll only need to load 100bob to get 80mb. I'll then have 900mb to push another month before I load the 1.5gb again.

With this new safaricom crap, don't expect a smile from a custoMer making rational choices. More is better than less.
Bettertry
#31 Posted : Thursday, July 19, 2012 11:48:41 AM

@essyk, I think u've done a fine job breaking it down that whom ever cannot comprehend that, then... iko chinda na wewe!!! (Maybe even safcon ought to consider... kukurudishia mkono... hehehe).
Jamaa, it all boils down to choice(s) or for that matter options. And what really counts here is making a choice (or option) u can comfortably live with. Lord knows I've had my issues with safcon... lakini hapa, hapa hamna kitu. Changuo ni lako ambapo changua kwa busara juu sheria & masharti zinatumika all the time.
We Will Either Find a Way or Create One - HANNIBAL
miser
#32 Posted : Thursday, July 19, 2012 11:52:47 AM

[quote=boyd]“When you go into a petrol station and fill up your car, does the owner of the petrol station tell you to bring it back on Wednesday to take back what’s left in the vehicle? Of course not. So I ask, why the hell are we doing that?”

http://whiteafrican.com/...s-your-internet-bundle/[/quote]
Vukeni to Airtel or continue complaining forever due to your(safsufferers) peculiar habits!!!
#33 Posted : Thursday, July 19, 2012 12:00:06 PM

kenmac wrote:
@essyk, economists assume that customers are rational beings. This means, if I buy 1.5gb at a lower rate per mb, and use 700 mb, after expiry, I'll only need to load 100bob to get 80mb. I'll then have 900mb to push another month before I load the 1.5gb again.

With this new safaricom crap, don't expect a smile from a custoMer making rational choices. More is better than less.

If u purchase 1.5gb on 1st May and utilize only 700 mb by 31st May ul be left with 0 MB!

Reason? Read the terms below.
# These bundles are valid for duration of time either thirty (30) or ninety (90) days as indicated in the table below after which they expire;
# If the bundle expires, you will not be able to access or reactivate any data balance;

Back to you!!
Why are you buying more than you can consume??? Is that safcom's headache??
Cheap I know is ur answer, but again where is the value?? Don't u see how cheap ends up being expensive if u don't apply wisdom?

Look here your bal of 800MB goes mia because u already converted the whole 1k to bundles.
Why not wisen up and buy 500 and 200mb since 700 is ur average usage??
That way ul save urself 250 bob to buy some more 200 mb with a 30 day validity period?

Some things are irreversable and bundles are one of those things lol.

Wewe unajitafutia stress tu.

#34 Posted : Thursday, July 19, 2012 12:25:56 PM

Options are every where, in terms of mobile operators. There are also options in safaricom bundles. Stop whining and make use of your options. From 4mb to 30gb, options kibao. The information you are being given is, now you know once MBs expire, that's it. So if you have MBs remaining, consume them so that you don't feel like you've lost. It reminds me of JM Baraza, he was given a fuel guzzler and a full tank and told to go with it for two days to test it. He never loittered(sp) around the Nairobi streets. He went Nanyuki and returned the car with the fuel tank empty. It's your choice, don't blame the service provider.
chiaroscuro
#35 Posted : Thursday, July 19, 2012 1:07:58 PM

kenmac wrote:

By the way; sugar, like most other products, has an EXPIRY DATE! If you buy a tonne of sugar in order to take advantage of wholesale prices, then you must consume it BEFORE the expiry date. After that, the sugar is no longer safe - it might even kill you!

Will you then return the remaining sugar to Mumias and ask them for replacement?
chiaroscuro
#36 Posted : Thursday, July 19, 2012 1:12:51 PM

bkismat wrote:
chiaroscuro wrote:
kenmac wrote:

What the hell is this guy talking about? SMHShame on you Shame on you

Which guy?

What is "SMH"?
#37 Posted : Thursday, July 19, 2012 1:20:51 PM

Shaking My Head!!!!!
Mzee, Tumia Google saa zingine
Money Whisperer
#38 Posted : Thursday, July 19, 2012 1:45:48 PM

Nakuru. let me compare oranges for oranges. I bought Airtel's latest ZTE 1588 modem and loaded kes800 1.5gb bundles. I wept. When it works its brilliant but it doesn't last long it drops the net before you can say 3.75. I went back to the dustbin dusted my very old Safcom Huawei 0682 modem and loaded 1000/= 1.5gb and I was happy very very happy. So anytime I'm going to nakuru i don't bother with Airtel. I have no problem with the expiriy date, maybe I would if I bought 3gb bundles.

"Money never sleeps"
mnandii
#39 Posted : Thursday, July 19, 2012 3:37:38 PM

While It would be nice to bash Safaricom, it also behoves us to consider the many advancements and tremendous changes it has pioneered which have made our lives better. The amount of resources Safcom has put into its Network is amazing ( I tried the Airtel 3G network pple have been screaming on our necks and I was disappointed).

Now, thanks to Safcom Cloud, education will no longer be a rare commodity.
link
Conventional thinkers waste time building shelters when they are unnecessary and then have no shelters when they need them the most. Socionomists do the opposite.
#40 Posted : Thursday, July 19, 2012 7:25:18 PM

CapitalFM now reports:

Safaricom reviews data usage policy http://goo.gl/fb/9sOI9

Tafadhali fafanua - Does it now mean I can recover my bundles after expiry or not? Eissh, the language in the statement is hard to decipher.