wazua Thu, Jan 30, 2025

What to do with 5 acres piece of land
#1 Posted : Thursday, July 05, 2012 8:23:31 AM

Can any farmer give me tips on how best to put a 5 acre piece of idle land in Kieni into good use?

I am planning to dig a borehole even though the place has piped water.The cost of connections and unreliability, I want to avoid.

I am not sure of what to plant or keep and I love farming not an expert though.
Any ideas or link?
Ali Baba
#2 Posted : Thursday, July 05, 2012 8:27:05 AM

Maybe garlic?? and or red onions?? They are in demand.
deadpoet
#3 Posted : Thursday, July 05, 2012 10:05:41 AM

There was an article in Tuesday's Business Daily about Spirulina - which is a kind of algae grown in ponds. Apparently, it has very good benefits, yields quite well, and can be produced relatively easily.

There's a guy producing it in Kisumu who says he banks about 150K per month from two 8 by 10 metre ponds. It sounded interesting, but so far I haven't had the time to look into it.

google: "dunga spirulina" and "iimsam"

YoungMulla
#4 Posted : Thursday, July 05, 2012 2:23:50 PM

Maize? the prices right now are good.And dont worry about not being an expert,every journey begins with a step
Before I die - i will touch the sky!!
Kaka M
#5 Posted : Thursday, July 05, 2012 2:48:16 PM

U can grow cattle feed Thara I imagine there r enough people doing dairy farming etc around that area.
Infact there is a prospective customer in Wazua : http://wazua.co.ke/forum...&t=19480#post295143
(Sijui kama ni jarani though.)

Soon after it has grown it will be possible to be consumed at any stage and most of the other weeds that grow amongst your thara will be income generating too.
You could also invest in few dairy cows if you've got the resources to do the biz and like young Mulla says every journey begins with a step and especially in this age of Internet so many things that we want to do r a click away.
#6 Posted : Thursday, July 05, 2012 6:33:04 PM

Maybe garlic?? and or red onions?? They are in demand.

Everybody is doing garlic and red onions there.
The market must be saturated.

There was an article in Tuesday's Business Daily about Spirulina - which is a kind of algae grown in ponds. Apparently, it has very good benefits, yields quite well, and can be produced relatively easily.

Pond in Kieni?algae for what purpose exactly?
You know when the dry season comes that place becomes like the kalahari.
Maize? the prices right now are good.

I don't know.If maize yield was great why aren't the farmers there doing it large scale?
There must know something I dont.
U can grow cattle feed Thara I imagine there r enough people doing dairy farming etc around that area.

The land is not fenced. It's vast and fencing it would cost so much.I would rather invest than fence. That means thaara will be stolen at night and eaten by goats during the day.
Maybe I can use kaiyaba natural fencing.
Thara can sell but is it worth? I feel like it would be a waste of land.

After the borehole I have no idea what next.

Crop and animal farming which is the best for a start?
And which animals have less stress.

#7 Posted : Sunday, July 08, 2012 12:52:25 PM

Filling that place with many goats.
I will be called mama mbuzi

Easy to manage and ever ready market.
#8 Posted : Sunday, July 08, 2012 4:19:51 PM

talk to your former mp and you will make millions from dairy farming
seeker*
#9 Posted : Monday, July 09, 2012 8:46:44 PM

chicken? can sell eggs.
cows..?milk and you can sell the calves
miraa? smile
Don't fight a battle if you gain nothing by winning.” Erwin Rommel
When I was a child, I spoke like a child, thought like a child, and reasoned like a child. When I became an adult, I no longer used childish ways.
#10 Posted : Tuesday, July 10, 2012 9:05:09 AM

Chicken is too sensitive.Besides I need something I can manage remotely.
miraa kieni? no
its goats.
pilgrimage
#11 Posted : Tuesday, July 17, 2012 9:11:58 PM

i recommend growing Rhodes grass,but please fence the place with kei-apple.you can make hay for selling to dairy cattle owners who are many in the area and beyond.you can also keep a few of your own (grow some lurcene to supplement feed(rhode grass) for your cattle).
its too cold at night for goats in kieni,napier cant be grown on a commercial basis coz requires a bit of nutrients and kieni soils not very suitable for this.
you can also add a fish pond (mud fish).
#12 Posted : Tuesday, July 17, 2012 9:50:23 PM

so my goats will die.

wht is rhodes grass? thaara?

fish pond?? maintaining must be expensive and labour intensive.

Chaka
#13 Posted : Wednesday, July 18, 2012 10:22:19 AM

@essyk,
There is a saying that goes "If you don't want to make a mistake,don't do anything"
YoungMulla
#14 Posted : Wednesday, July 18, 2012 1:20:14 PM

Chaka wrote:
@essyk,
There is a saying that goes "If you don't want to make a mistake,don't do anything"

Applause Applause
Before I die - i will touch the sky!!
#15 Posted : Wednesday, July 18, 2012 2:17:06 PM

Can any farmer give me tips on how best to put a 5 acre piece of idle land in Kieni

Kieni??? i thought you meant KK. Anyway, given the focus in the area on dairy milk production you might consider planing nappier grass to sell to jirani
deadpoet
#16 Posted : Thursday, July 19, 2012 8:16:45 AM

Just discovered this gem of a site:

yagrein.blogspot.com

super comprehensive!!
Gadaffi
#17 Posted : Sunday, July 22, 2012 1:18:18 PM

@essyk

OPTION1: You first have to invest in security otherwise whatever u decide 2 do will b mostly stolen; spending u must n security is key whether its dairy or cash crop mostly coz ur nt around those sides!!
OPTION 2: however, u cn decide to lease the land for farming n this will sort u out since u don't want to spend and again ur not available. U jus wait 4 th check at the end of the year.
OPTION 3: Its close 2 option 2. this is where u partner with one of the locals there who knows the area very well then lease the land to him. u then do cost sharing in terms of farm inputs and then he provides 100% security n logistics. you then at the end of the season split the profit equally...what say u???
#18 Posted : Monday, July 23, 2012 2:14:33 PM

Can any farmer give me tips on how best to put a 5 acre piece of idle land in Kieni into good use?

I am planning to dig a borehole even though the place has piped water.The cost of connections and unreliability, I want to avoid.

I am not sure of what to plant or keep and I love farming not an expert though.
Any ideas or link?

If i were you the first thing would be to visit farmers in the area to get a rough idea of what is economically viable there. Fencing is a must for most activities so you need to review your plan ama ni government forest?Think

#19 Posted : Tuesday, July 24, 2012 12:43:09 AM

dorper.will go animal.

borehole/fencing in progress.
cmk
#20 Posted : Tuesday, July 24, 2012 10:06:03 AM

niuzie hiyo shamba saa hii
Every man is guilty of all the good he didn't do-
Voltaire