wazua Fri, Jan 31, 2025

Youth and Agriculture
haronmogeni
#1 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2012 1:10:02 PM

Most youth consider Agricultural production as a poor mans job. Two years ago, i worked as a farm manager. My greatest headached'oh! was to find suitable youth to employ for various production activities.

In the locality where i worked, youths would leave high potential land to go to work as bodaboda riders or matatu touts or just play Ajua in the market centers.

The youths who were available could not concentrate on the work, they were always demanding for more money!

In the area, there was a shortage of milk, vegetables, eggs, maize, fruits yet nobody was willing to invest in these areas. Whenever it rains in Kenya, this is the first area to receive rainfaill.

Huge farms amounting up over 10 acres were left to old feeble parents to cultivate.

Furthermore many young girls around the area had dropped out of school and were having babies if not, pregnant; to compound the matter-single and searching desperately.

How can we expect our country to translate to middle income status if this is the persisting scenario?

Hey Wazuans out there- Say something!Sad
YoungMulla
#2 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2012 2:05:32 PM

what you say is the truth.many youth look down on agriculture perharps considering it as a dirty job and they go about looking for other jobs which they consider as fun.If they cant see what opportunities farming has to offer all this does is create room for other entrepreneurs to fill the gap, and that we will...
Before I die - i will touch the sky!!
Chaka
#3 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2012 2:43:31 PM

@Haron,
And which area is this I go lease/buy some land to farm?
haronmogeni
#4 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2012 3:36:13 PM

Thanks for the interest in knowing the area. I will not specifically mention the place; i want to avoid backlash from the people of the area.

However those of us who live in the city think that opportunities can be found only in the city.

Look around your village, next village and the next village. You will see grass sprouting during the rainy season and no one cares to harvest the grass for the dry season... the dry season comes... no rain, no grass, cows die and people loose livelihoods- at worst people die.

You will see people practicing destructive agriculture, you will see people constructing huge buildings without leaving space for humans to commingle with nature-2...10 years down the lane it becomes a concrete dusty, filthy jungle filled with fumes from cancer causing diesel.

Look at the real estate developments, greedy developers don't leave space for toilets, waste disposal areas all this is shenzi type!

cmk
#5 Posted : Friday, June 22, 2012 2:18:31 PM

talk to the youth..you will help them a lot and transform this great country.
Every man is guilty of all the good he didn't do-
Voltaire
mmarto
#6 Posted : Friday, June 22, 2012 2:48:48 PM

most youth will not listen. just want to party/indulge and connect on social sites.
The only time you should be looking down on others is when you are helping them up.
haronmogeni
#7 Posted : Friday, June 22, 2012 3:53:36 PM

I agree, most youth take social networking lane too far 'just having fun'. It would be better if such forums were used to create business opportunities and sharing learning experiences to improve life.
Let he who has an ear, hear!
#8 Posted : Tuesday, June 26, 2012 7:45:10 PM

@Haronmogeni might your name be directly linked to that area you are talking aboutsmile anyway I totally agree with you all the young people i know are either looking for that 1 deal that will make them multi millionaires or high end jobs which is not wrong but instead of them lying idle waiting for the said opportunity they can definetly engage in profitable farming.Some young men and women i personally know have idle land which can be transformed into areas of agri business but they rather stay in the house the whole day watching ma series from morning till late night instead of being pro active and start doing things on their own...
deadpoet
#9 Posted : Thursday, July 12, 2012 12:10:45 PM

Grumpy old wazuans...

Is there a school or institution that can train people how to farm, like Amiram? Provide a list here...
Chaka
#10 Posted : Thursday, July 12, 2012 12:40:09 PM

deadpoet wrote:
Grumpy old wazuans...

Is there a school or institution that can train people how to farm, like Amiram? Provide a list here...

Try here http://www.sustainableag.org/
I have not been there though....
kollabo
#11 Posted : Thursday, July 12, 2012 2:04:34 PM

deadpoet wrote:
Grumpy old wazuans...

Baraka College...and please refrain from calling us grumpy
#12 Posted : Monday, July 16, 2012 9:37:35 PM

haronmogeni wrote:
Most youth consider Agricultural production as a poor mans job. Two years ago, i worked as a farm manager. My greatest headached'oh! was to find suitable youth to employ for various production activities.

In the locality where i worked, youths would leave high potential land to go to work as bodaboda riders or matatu touts or just play Ajua in the market centers.

The youths who were available could not concentrate on the work, they were always demanding for more money!

In the area, there was a shortage of milk, vegetables, eggs, maize, fruits yet nobody was willing to invest in these areas. Whenever it rains in Kenya, this is the first area to receive rainfaill.

Huge farms amounting up over 10 acres were left to old feeble parents to cultivate.

Furthermore many young girls around the area had dropped out of school and were having babies if not, pregnant; to compound the matter-single and searching desperately.

How can we expect our country to translate to middle income status if this is the persisting scenario?

Hey Wazuans out there- Say something!Sad

I'd like to get into farming.. Having lived all my life in Nairobi, where in it's environs would be a good place to start?

luttz
#13 Posted : Monday, July 16, 2012 11:32:58 PM

@ Mukiri, it all depends on what you want to focus on. The key consideration in Agriculture (like any other competitive business)is to differentiate yourself and benefit from scale economies (or substitute scale economies with mechanization/technology). An area as dry as Kibwezi (Makindu area on Mombasa road) is now famous with Asians who produce for local market and export yet land there is as low as 50k per acre. There are many possibilities once you decide on getting dirty. On the other side, you got to love it to excel.
"You've never lived until you've almost died; for those who have fought for it, life has a flavour the protected will never know."
majimaji
#14 Posted : Tuesday, July 17, 2012 10:55:35 AM

Probably the youth don't want to just provide labour for absentee/telephone farmers to enjoy the biggest cake. Look at the ownership of the land: old zaks hold onto it until they expire, and the holding is often for sentimental reasons ie, this is ancestral land and it can only pass to the next generation when I die. The youth may not be just content to provide such labour while opportunities to make a quick buck abound in town, neither would I unless i have some form of ownership of the land i work on.