wazua Sat, Aug 16, 2025

Mombasa road
MBILI
#1 Posted : Sunday, July 15, 2012 6:46:32 PM

Lately,there are very many car accidents happening on mombasa road,,what seems to be the problem really?.I have heard many,some casualties that i know and some i don't,but this weekend A young cousin and her husband perished on the same road.Its different when you hear or read about the accidents,but its devastating when your own is a victim.
Lets be careful on the roads,its not a joke pple are dying!(Young couple ,2 months away from their first wedding anniversary NKT?)
XSK
#2 Posted : Sunday, July 15, 2012 6:59:28 PM

MBILI wrote:
Lately,there are very many car accidents happening on mombasa road,,what seems to be the problem really?.I have heard many,some casualties that i know and some i don't,but this weekend A young cousin and her husband perished on the same road.Its different when you hear or read about the accidents,but its devastating when your own is a victim.
Lets be careful on the roads,its not a joke pple are dying!(Young couple ,2 months away from their first wedding anniversary NKT?)

@mbili

My condolences. Mombasa rd is deadly.
You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
#3 Posted : Sunday, July 15, 2012 7:27:44 PM

I have seen some crazy accidents on this road...word is a day doesn't pass without an accident. Flyovers like those on Thika road need to be constructed especially at Bellevue and GM. Not sure about how to solve the problem of cars turning into Capital center from the slip road...
Dash
#4 Posted : Sunday, July 15, 2012 8:17:36 PM

MBILI wrote:

This is very saddening:(
dnn
#5 Posted : Sunday, July 15, 2012 8:41:20 PM

I have seen some crazy accidents on this road...word is a day doesn't pass without an accident. Flyovers like those on Thika road need to be constructed especially at Bellevue and GM. Not sure about how to solve the problem of cars turning into Capital center from the slip road...

Push that turn further up to give ample time to gradually chance lanes
chiaroscuro
#6 Posted : Sunday, July 15, 2012 9:08:12 PM

MBILI wrote:

The Mazeras - Mombasa dual section has been a human slaughter house for many years.... it has only started being reported recently.

The belvue junction has also been a slaughter house for decades... I guess "they" are waiting for 15 people to be killed in a single accident before taking any action
#7 Posted : Sunday, July 15, 2012 9:40:24 PM

That mazeras black spot is just scary to any driver. A sharp corner on a steep slope =??
#8 Posted : Sunday, July 15, 2012 9:56:46 PM

@mbili pole sana...the worst bit is that you might be driving careful then some idiot is dn a stupid stunt then you end up being a victim.We need stiffer fines,cameras the works people who engage in bad driving should not be on our roads,when this happens you will definetly see the death toll drastically dropping.Its saddening to say the least.
jamplu
#9 Posted : Monday, July 16, 2012 9:42:14 AM

sorry for your loss!
however kenyans we should stop playing around with our lives and those of others 99% of the accident i have seen on msa road are as a result of reckless driving and careless pedestrian. Right from nyayo round about all the way to mombasa people drive like they are late for something! what @Maka is saying is so true two weeks ago i had a close one near Salama because someone was so stupid to overtake in a corner.
Kausha
#10 Posted : Monday, July 16, 2012 12:07:36 PM

Mombasa road has two problems. The first and obvious one is some idiots who out of wanting friek anal excitement imagine you can drive the car at 100Kph from Nyayo to mlolongo uninterupted. It also doesn't help that the national values we practice stink to the high sees. People are wholesomely selfish and don't care about other road users including other cars or pedestrian. We have idiots either dropping or picking passengers at the Turn opposite capital center and other more foolish idiots trying out kamikaze stunts of entering the mall from the turn through the Msa Road gate yet they could easily spend 5 minutes and gain access safely using the south B entrance.

On the Belle vue and GM same problem of people overspeeding yet they know they in are in heavy pedestrian traffic zones. Anyone who did the correct training during driving classes knows in heavy pedestrian zones you travel at a max of 50kph at least in Kenya.

Solution. Declare Kangemi - Mlolongo 50kph speed zone and put speed zone signs, put in place speed cameras and collect the fines because they will be many. At Belle Vue and GM use the pedestrian crossing marshall aka Lollipop man at the two zones ahead of installation of overhead foot bridges...That shouldn't be difficult and cost little!!

We are building highways and not designating speed zones which I find sick of us and yet we are aiming vision 2030. The link below sums up why we struggle in doing what is obvious!

http://www.sunwords.com/...l-success-clean-toilets/
maligumu
#11 Posted : Monday, July 16, 2012 12:44:45 PM

The most chilling experience you will ever get is when crossing to Bellevue from south B as a pedestrian .
Peace be with you
majimaji
#12 Posted : Monday, July 16, 2012 2:00:40 PM

we have policemen directing vehicle traffic at junctions.
Surely we can have 2 policemen at south B and GM directing human traffic. Add 1 more at cabanas.
MBILI
#13 Posted : Monday, July 16, 2012 4:00:24 PM

Its true,there is madness on our roads,people driving badly in a rush to get somewhere,,,its no longer the matatus ,other drivers have perfected the art,overtaking unecessarily,many new drivers disregarding the LEARNER sign and doing the wrong things OBLIVIOUSLY.Start with the illegal stage next to Shell under the pedestrian foot bridge just afer the Nyayo stadium,theres is always a police there,,nothing doing,next is capitol ctre menace,GM,cabanas etc.The fact that we know means that the traffic police know,, again nothing doing......
A truck just rammed into their car from behind ,smashed their bodies so badly only to be recognised through id,and calling the numbers on their phones.It was so sudden we are confused,we dont know where to start as their parents are far and in different areas.
If drivers could just drive following traffic rules,i see some driving on the foot paths where our children and other pedestrians are spposed to use!if the police could be stern in ensuring that the rules are obeyed!maybe then accidents would genuinely be accidents....am distraught!Sad
Liv
#14 Posted : Monday, July 16, 2012 4:45:27 PM

It is a BIG risk to drive on Kenyan roads these days. People do not recognize that getting behind the wheels these days carries significant responsibility.

To reduce this risk...take some actions.

1)Avoid driving through some areas or avoid driving at night especially when you have a long trip. There are so many dangers at night.

e.g. some drivers don't see properly in the dark, others are drunk at night, etc. Did you know that most of the fatal accidents happen at night? My philosophy is... after 7pm...I sleep in the town I am in...rather than try to commit suicide on the road

2) Use common sense and obey the law.... why talk on phone when you are driving? (research shows there is no difference between driving when drunk and when talking on phone), SMS/ texting while driving is even more dangerous,
Also avoid eating while driving..... it has caused accidents before
... use safety belts for everyone in the car....anyone not belted can easily kill other people inside the car....if the car rolls....they become like a loose stone in the car,... be courteous....avoid road range....every driver on the road is going somewhere..... but now where you are going....no need to compete.

3)Go to a defensive driving training. This helps you to plan for your journey, know how to create space for your car from others and generally how to be safe on the road. Did you know that most accidents are caused by fatigue and sleep?...you can learn about these in a defensive driving training....

BE SAFE
#15 Posted : Monday, July 16, 2012 4:59:14 PM

stress crossing mba road.
One time a colleague dropped me and si u know the way kenyans move in herds when crossing the road?
I joined one group and when traffic slowed down the herd ran across.I happened to be in front.
All of a sudden a vehicle came cruising at maddening speed bringing the herd to an abrupt stop.
But cz I was infront one kiguy pushed me towards the speeding car!!.
I saw Angel Gabriel!!
It took 2 other men to pull me behind very fast.I missed being crushed by inches.
And the dude that pushed me said 'Madam chunga hapa watu hukufa sana'. ish.
I swore never to cross mba road.smile
#16 Posted : Monday, July 16, 2012 5:01:53 PM

My condolences Mbili! I can't even try to imagine what you are going through. I pray that God comforts you and your family.

FancyFace
#17 Posted : Monday, July 16, 2012 5:12:19 PM

stress crossing mba road.
One time a colleague dropped me and si u know the way kenyans move in herds when crossing the road?I joined one group and when traffic slowed down the herd ran across.I happened to be in front.
All of a sudden a vehicle came cruising at maddening speed bringing the herd to an abrupt stop.
But cz I was infront one kiguy pushed me towards the speeding car!!.
I saw Angel Gabriel!!
It took 2 other men to pull me behind very fast.I missed being crushed by inches.
And the dude that pushed me said 'Madam chunga hapa watu hukufa sana'. ish.
I swore never to cross mba road.smile

WORD!!
The most notorious place na hizi maherds ni bellevue, GM na cabanas. Once a herd crossed right infront of me and I put hazard and slowed down, the idiot behind me was all over flashing lights at me and hooting yet I was using the middle lane...very sad I tell you how guys behave on the road, both pedestrians and drivers...

I'm truly sorry for your loss MBILI

Problems can get out of proportion, and not only in the wee small hours. Don't let the problems eclipse the Master. Let the Master eclipse the problems.
#18 Posted : Monday, July 16, 2012 9:16:01 PM

@mbili this terrible. I think we both know this couple. They were a man and his girlfriend. The girl just finished fourth-form last year and she had come to visit the boyfriend. From their drinking spree, she died in the accident and the guy is in critical condition?

Pole tena na tuchungane, wacha phombe.
#19 Posted : Monday, July 16, 2012 9:56:28 PM

www.wazua.co.ke/forum.aspx?g=posts&t=7440

m.wazua.co.ke/forum.aspx?g=posts&t=11326
dnn
#20 Posted : Monday, July 16, 2012 10:16:56 PM

B.U.M.P.S simple..they are working on thika road