Culture
Caroline Mutoko! Inciter or Motivator???
I just listened to this talk by Caroline Mutoko and cannot really make up my mind whether this is incitement or motivation. Help me out, here it is: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r7dSYN9bhOQ
Would you like your daughter, sister, girlfriend or any lady you care about to take this message to heart and believe and act as advised by Caroline Mutoko??
She has a few nuggets of wisdom. Girls have a thing for bad boys and losers. The stuff about avoiding drug addicts if fine. Equally the stuff about bettering yourself is kosher. What I find irritating is this crap about going to the Intercon. Wale Wasichana wanatafuta mtu wakuwapeleka Intercon are still searching Great men are not always wise, neither do the aged understand judgement...
Rank: Veteran Joined: 7/5/2010 Posts: 2,061 Location: Nairobi
Do women pay to attend these conferences? Cause if they do I think they are being duped. Feminism, like poverty, is a richly rewarding "profession" for the "professionals" dealing in its currency. Men do not consider women as enemies, or as competition, except on a case by case basis (say where there is a ka-contract or job to be picked up). That is why dudes do not converge conferences like these. At the end of the day - you go to your home, attend your job, mind your relatives, issues and things - you are on your own.
she makes sense. "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
I think her talk depends on how you want to interpret it. I want to see a man here who will tell her sister to take up any man in the street just so that she is not "choosy".
I want to also see a man who will pick any woman in the street and make her his wife just because she is "cheap".... Most men, and i want the wazua men to prove me wrong, will not go with a yes yes yes kind of woman.... they will ask "where are her standards? She does not have any standards." And then they will brand her "cheapstake/lose/not-a-wife-material etc"... It has nothing to do with money or material things, it has everything to do with character. if you set your character so low, then you get what you deserve, whether you are a man or a woman.... How many men right here know if they were given a chance they wouldnt choose the partner they have right now? why, because there are some flaws they ignored and now they are biting but they have gone too far to turn back and in their silence they ask "what was i thinking? If i knew what i know today, i'd not make the same mistake".
Its real, its life and someone has to say it. I will say it to my son too. If you are raising an irresponsible daughter, am sorry, but i will warn him against her. It's my duty. I'll guide him, but he'll make the decision and live with it. The same thing would happen if i had a daughter. Its only that her audience are women and she gave the anecdotes with material stuff otherwise its an all round aspect of life - including your own achievements.
I know a friend of mine who, when some boys were bullying gals, she stood up for her self and told the boys what she believes her rights are - she's less than 10 and the dad was the most proud dad in the world at that moment. Why? Because it gives him the comfort that she will not be a doormat and no man will treat her as one.... Men do not want a doormat.... That's the fact of the matter. But unfortunately, most women think when they become a door mat, the man will fall for them because they are not "difficult".... being difficult (arrogant, rude, unpleasant, disrespectful) is totally different from being "difficult"(principled, intelligent, ambitious, feminine, respectful to herself etc).
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/31/2008 Posts: 7,081 Location: Kenya
...Mmmmmhhhhh...Talking with so much authority....What happened to that famous MBA degree from Nairobi Varsity...Ati leadership course from Strathmore...Is the bar a bit lower at Strathmore?
Magigi wrote:...Mmmmmhhhhh...Talking with so much authority....What happened to that famous MBA degree from Nairobi Varsity...Ati leadership course from Strathmore...Is the bar a bit lower at Strathmore? we arent getting bwana magigi. elaborate further. Strathmore has a Bachelor of science degree in leadership and management
Young women need to set standards for themselves. we need more speakers like Caroline to get that message across for that 20 something year old, who's decided to just be "ok "..great speech !
someone please put that "b**ch PLEASE" pic here Problems can get out of proportion, and not only in the wee small hours. Don't let the problems eclipse the Master. Let the Master eclipse the problems.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 5/13/2010 Posts: 869 Location: Nairobi
I like what she is saying.. And we are teaching our children that they are the best that there will be. We must not allow mediocrity to creep in.. ....above all, to stand.
My main question are men looking in Ladies what CAROL is Equiping them with? I think proverb 31 is sufficient for any woman. WHY IS IT CAROL HAS FAILED IN HER EXPERIMENT does she want other women to follow that route. i believe there so many women who have achieved it only that they are not given an opportunity to air their success.
Didn't bother following the link. exactly how does someone with no relationship of her own advice on relationships? That's all. Jose: If I make it through this thug life, I'll see you one day. The Lord is the only way to stop the hurt.
alma wrote:Didn't bother following the link. exactly how does someone with no relationship of her own advice on relationships? That's all. Exactment!!!..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Rank: Veteran Joined: 7/5/2010 Posts: 2,061 Location: Nairobi
Many men have an issue with Caroline Mutoko Even I have to force myself to look past the ambitious, hard-charging career-woman and see what message lies beneath the image. If this talk had been given by Eddah Gachukia or Betty Gikonyo there wouldn't have been a beep. Why is that? Do we have blinkers against single women?
quicksand wrote:Many men have an issue with Caroline Mutoko Even I have to force myself to look past the ambitious, hard-charging career-woman and see what message lies beneath the image. If this talk had been given by Eddah Gachukia or Betty Gikonyo there wouldn't have been a beep. Why is that? Do we have blinkers against single women? ......no problem with single women until you start giving advice on relationships!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
@quicksand. You can take this to the bank. Those two you mentioned would never give such a nonsensical talk. Wear trousers that hit the knee, men are visual upus....no wonder bado yuko pekee yake. Still looking for that jamaa. Sorry sell by date imepita. Ladies, if you really need advice on men, talk to your grandmothers. They have dealt with 3 generations of men, and have seen it all. These old MILF's really have only bile and bitterness to spread around. lol I just managed to get myself to see it. Glad I did....lol Jose: If I make it through this thug life, I'll see you one day. The Lord is the only way to stop the hurt.
alma wrote:@quicksand. You can take this to the bank. Those two you mentioned would never give such a nonsensical talk.
Wear trousers that hit the knee, men are visual upus....no wonder bado yuko pekee yake. Still looking for that jamaa. Sorry sell by date imepita.
Ladies, if you really need advice on men, talk to your grandmothers. They have dealt with 3 generations of men, and have seen it all.
These old MILF's really have only bile and bitterness to spread around. lol
I just managed to get myself to see it. Glad I did....lol wear skirts that hit the knees na yeye kwa hiyo clip amevaa bikers ndani
She want's to show that they are long. Honestly mboches have more confidence in their bodies than most of these professional men haters. Jose: If I make it through this thug life, I'll see you one day. The Lord is the only way to stop the hurt.
My personal take is that women have different needs at different stages in their lives. What Caroline is sharing is the benefit of her personal experience when she was in her 20s. Nothing wrong with that.
However whether these women in their 20s choose to follow her advise is up to them. But the best lessons are those taught by one's own mistakes.
not everything in her talk is crap as majority want to say. but i do find her arrogant and the way she contradicts herself from time to time is a put off!
Culture
Caroline Mutoko! Inciter or Motivator???