wazua Mon, Feb 3, 2025

Question to @guka and fellow wazees.
#21 Posted : Friday, July 06, 2012 12:54:27 PM

Whistle

chiaroscuro
#22 Posted : Friday, July 06, 2012 12:57:02 PM

Is there any other monuments to show that the line passed at those points?
And make another railway station at Norfolk when its only 3 minutes away from the main station?
Do you have any rink to all these claim or some old Gregorian maps?

You can see the railway line parallel to Princess Elizabeth Way [Uhuru Highway]
JkMwatha
#23 Posted : Friday, July 06, 2012 1:00:06 PM

.... and before that railway line, there were more cow than cars... Government Road

Source: http://www.sikh-heritage...20EAfrica%20nAIROBI.html
dnn
#24 Posted : Friday, July 06, 2012 1:14:18 PM

ha ha ha ,those wishing they were older
#25 Posted : Friday, July 06, 2012 1:18:20 PM

chiaroscuro wrote:

You can see the railway line parallel to Princess Elizabeth Way [Uhuru Highway]

lemmie see.
Whitehouse road >> present day harambee avenue
St,stephen's church>> Catholic church opposite Intercon
Historic nbo must be where the Intercon stands.

From this pic ,I can deduce the railway line cut through KICC grounds on the opposite side of parliament from sheria house passed through the church grounds,GPO,museum hill up to westie.

wow.

#26 Posted : Friday, July 06, 2012 1:48:48 PM

You can still read those 'things' online and pretend you're old... Venye naona hakuna Ipo maybe listing via introduction.
#27 Posted : Friday, July 06, 2012 1:57:04 PM

Kaka Sunguch wrote:
This is where Wazua beats them all....at least now i know.By then,nilikuwa njugu.

People should stop breaking innocent ribs by smoking illegal weeds.

#28 Posted : Friday, July 06, 2012 2:23:22 PM

[quote=JkMwatha]

.... and before that railway line, there were more cow than cars... Government Road

Source: http://www.sikh-heritage...0EAfrica%20nAIROBI.html[/quote]

Wah! And the man on the bike must be michuki- Then a DO and the one riding behind him Bwana Tom Mboya- who was a water meter reader before plunging into politics.

hii iitolewa wapi?
Ms Mkenya
#29 Posted : Friday, July 06, 2012 2:26:32 PM

Waaa, now i know..
Ans now the Railway museum makes sense.. I will go look at those maps again..
....above all, to stand.
#30 Posted : Friday, July 06, 2012 2:33:42 PM

Ms Mkenya wrote:
Waaa, now i know..

Besides a museum visit,read a book called "National heritage" by Bryan Harris and Judith Sidi Odhiambo.....You'll see Nairobi in a totally different light,
Ms Mkenya
#31 Posted : Friday, July 06, 2012 2:47:12 PM

Ms Mkenya wrote:
Waaa, now i know..

Besides a museum visit,read a book called "National heritage" by Bryan Harris and Judith Sidi Odhiambo.....You'll see Nairobi in a totally different light,

Where can i get a copy?
....above all, to stand.
#32 Posted : Friday, July 06, 2012 3:16:38 PM

very true.I reminisce those days.

@essy - Wacha rongo!

I can bet my pine tree that @essyk is an under 30yo pulling our legs.
#33 Posted : Friday, July 06, 2012 3:27:58 PM

Ms Mkenya wrote:
Waaa, now i know..

Where can i get a copy?

#34 Posted : Friday, July 06, 2012 3:29:06 PM

Ms Mkenya wrote:
Waaa, now i know..

Where can i get a copy?

Do we have soft copy of the book?

#35 Posted : Friday, July 06, 2012 3:40:24 PM

I bought mine at the Stanley bookshop way back in the mid-80s.....You can try!

#36 Posted : Friday, July 06, 2012 3:42:54 PM

In the mid-80's I was still eating soil in a soiled napkin.
While you had known what money is?
Not talking Not talking Not talking Not talking

#37 Posted : Friday, July 06, 2012 3:46:37 PM

Yaani hamjui hii maneno yote???
#38 Posted : Friday, July 06, 2012 3:48:15 PM

Working and earning......and taking girls to movies such as Breakdance 2 :Electric boogaloo....haha!!...sounds like Greek?
#39 Posted : Friday, July 06, 2012 3:58:49 PM

Working and earning......and taking girls to movies such as Breakdance 2 :Electric boogaloo....haha!!...sounds like Greek?

Did you also dance Matumbulu?
I'm told it was kind of a huge speaker placed somewhere on the street where you insert a coin and select your type of song and there you go!!!
You dance mpaka long'i iraruke.

Kinyee
#40 Posted : Friday, July 06, 2012 4:02:42 PM

Had to log in to answer this. It seems no one knows why the railway line had to be moved from passing through west land. One of the governs or a minister was so used to tell is wife is so powerful in the government, then the locomotives used to make a lot of noise for her at night, she ordered her husband if is powerful to move that thing from passing through west lands thus why it was relocated. Am sure of this but cant remember the name of the officer.