wazua Mon, Feb 3, 2025

Question to @guka and fellow wazees.
#1 Posted : Friday, July 06, 2012 10:10:56 AM

John Nzenze (of twisti songs) was on Milele FM today morning and he told Ateya (host)that he used to work at Norfolk hotel as a waiter in 1957!Thats could be fine.

But he claimed that there was a railway line running from Railway station all the way to Westlands and passing through Norfolk hotel and running parallel to waiyaki way.IS THIS TRUE?

Did we have a railway line running along that direction?
When was it de-comssioned?
Or was it uprooted smile in 1969 when Mboya was gunned down?

#2 Posted : Friday, July 06, 2012 10:22:29 AM

I thought I was in the league, but surely I've no clue to this one Think
#3 Posted : Friday, July 06, 2012 10:35:14 AM

This is all so true sonsmile .....The original line ran from the railway station through George Whitehouse road (Haile Selassie),Parliament road,then onward to Lord Delamere road (Kenyatta Avenue),Past Nolfolk (The settlers would wait the train as they sipped beer here),Westlands and on to the extinct Kabete railway station.....The line was re-routed to Kibra in 1948 due to the steep incline fro Westie to Kabete.....I guess you were negative fifty years thensmile
abdulrahman
#4 Posted : Friday, July 06, 2012 10:37:09 AM

John Nzenze (of twisti songs) was on Milele FM today morning and he told Ateya (host)that he used to work at Norfolk hotel as a waiter in 1957!Thats could be fine.

But he claimed that there was a railway line running from Railway station all the way to Westlands and passing through Norfolk hotel and running parallel to waiyaki way.IS THIS TRUE?

Did we have a railway line running along that direction?
When was it de-comssioned?
Or was it uprooted smile in 1969 when Mboya was gunned down?

The railway line that traverses Kibera from makaburini (near NIC bank house) used to go along Uhuru highway to Westlands via waiyaki way. It was changed when uhuru highway was upgraded and the course of the line directed to Kibera.
#5 Posted : Friday, July 06, 2012 10:40:19 AM

1957. hmmmm. I was negative 11 years old. Incidentally, Guka, was it a tram or real mugithi?
majimaji
#6 Posted : Friday, July 06, 2012 10:44:11 AM

This is news kabisa. I thought i knew all about the City in the sun. Seems the Brits never intended to ever leave.
#7 Posted : Friday, July 06, 2012 10:53:50 AM

aemathenge wrote:
1957. hmmmm. I was negative 11 years old. Incidentally, Guka, was it a tram or real mugithi?

Real trains.Visit the railway museum and you will see quite a number.
#8 Posted : Friday, July 06, 2012 11:11:41 AM

very true.I reminisce those days.

#9 Posted : Friday, July 06, 2012 11:14:37 AM

Is there any other monuments to show that the line passed at those points?
And make another railway station at Norfolk when its only 3 minutes away from the main station?
Do you have any rink to all these claim or some old Gregorian maps?

#10 Posted : Friday, July 06, 2012 11:18:32 AM

Kumbe wewe ni shosho na vile unaogopa tugunyo..
#11 Posted : Friday, July 06, 2012 11:20:06 AM

smile smile yeah can't u see I carry the title veteran?
ukiniona unaodoka kwa kiti.
Kaka M
#12 Posted : Friday, July 06, 2012 11:40:46 AM

@ essyk r u sure uliona this railway line? I don't know y am doubting.
Still trying to imagine how some of this looked like.
#13 Posted : Friday, July 06, 2012 11:48:45 AM

You can remember that??? But forgot even a simple public holiday as Labour day, driving all the way to work and wondering what flags were for?smile
Kaka Sunguch
#14 Posted : Friday, July 06, 2012 11:58:02 AM

This is where Wazua beats them all....at least now i know.By then,nilikuwa njugu.
karqui
#15 Posted : Friday, July 06, 2012 12:02:41 PM

smile smile yeah can't u see I carry the title veteran?
ukiniona unaodoka kwa kiti.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause
its always good to wish age when you are so young.
#16 Posted : Friday, July 06, 2012 12:04:33 PM

Kaka M wrote:

Yes with my own two eyes. It looked like a railway line and the train had carriages.
I hate all this confusion we have on our streets nowdays.

Hardinge Street Bus Stance.Behind is ambassadeur hotelsmile

Goverment road looking towards the railway station.
See how neat it looked?

Magenta
#17 Posted : Friday, July 06, 2012 12:06:57 PM

Kaka Sunguch wrote:
This is where Wazua beats them all....at least now i know.By then,nilikuwa njugu.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly me DEAD!!!
jamplu
#18 Posted : Friday, July 06, 2012 12:19:10 PM

Kaka M wrote:

Yes with my own two eyes. It looked like a railway line and the train had carriages.
I hate all this confusion we have on our streets nowdays.

Hardinge Street Bus Stance.Behind is ambassadeur hotelsmile

Goverment road looking towards the railway station.
See how neat it looked?

Unbelievable is that how nairobi looked then it looks more organized than now... where did we go wrong because it seems we just screwed up for the last 49 Years.
#19 Posted : Friday, July 06, 2012 12:33:29 PM

Nothing there.
Check out this links and see how nairobi looked liked
Oh how I miss them days.
http://www.sikh-heritage.co.uk/...20EAfrica%20nAIROBI.html
http://www.mccrow.org.uk/eastafrica/kenya/kenya.htm
#20 Posted : Friday, July 06, 2012 12:48:12 PM

@essy - Wacha rongo!