Stocks
UAP Group set to enter OTC shares market
Rank: Chief Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 6,779 Location: Black Africa
Seems everyone is raising money to go into real estate... Anyway, are they likely to repeat the 68% rise in EPS this year? GOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
The timetable is out check the DN page 33 History will not remember you for your IQ. It will remember you for what you did. “Genius is 1 percent inspiration, 99 percent perspiration.” Thomas Edison
Quote:Shillingi #1 Posted : Wednesday, July 04, 2012 8:00:42 AM Quote Rank: Hello
Joined: 6/29/2012 Posts: 1 Welcome to wazua, sasa wewe ni Shillingi ya Kenya ama ya wapi? "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
300m for company re-organisation. a large percentage on buildings in three countries! so i ask. what are investors really buying into here. buildings? its extravagant expenditure. should be more earnings growth oriented. that said, the fact that they will list by introduction then the otc listing should be considered the " ipo" The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/21/2010 Posts: 6,675 Location: Nairobi
murchr wrote:Quote:Shillingi #1 Posted : Wednesday, July 04, 2012 8:00:42 AM Quote Rank: Hello
Joined: 6/29/2012 Posts: 1 Welcome to wazua, sasa wewe ni Shillingi ya Kenya ama ya wapi? Shillingi ya kichwa Mark 12:29 Deuteronomy 4:16
guru267 wrote:murchr wrote:Quote:Shillingi #1 Posted : Wednesday, July 04, 2012 8:00:42 AM Quote Rank: Hello
Joined: 6/29/2012 Posts: 1 Welcome to wazua, sasa wewe ni Shillingi ya Kenya ama ya wapi? Shillingi ya kichwa i like Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
Rank: Member Joined: 9/21/2006 Posts: 422 Location: Nairobi
By all standards I think CIC Insurance is a better investment than UAP, unless they (UAP) have been doctoring their accounts coz they dont look better as such. The only problem with CIC or the mistake that CIC made was that they created too many shares (3 billion of them hence the suppressed share price.
Aguytrying wrote:300m for company re-organisation. a large percentage on buildings in three countries! so i ask. what are investors really buying into here. buildings? its extravagant expenditure. should be more earnings growth oriented. that said, the fact that they will list by introduction then the otc listing should be considered the " ipo" Look at the whole picture: PLANNED INVESTMENT/-/AMOUNT TO BE INVESTED (Kes. MMs) Growth/Expansion in Rw, Tz, DRC & SS - 1,880 Property Investments (taking advantage of boom) - 2,154 Group reorganization (ERP project and IT) - 300 Increase group investments - 1,066 TOTAL AMOUNT - 5,400
Layman wrote:By all standards I think CIC Insurance is a better investment than UAP, unless they (UAP) have been doctoring their accounts coz they dont look better as such. The only problem with CIC or the mistake that CIC made was that they created too many shares (3 billion of them hence the suppressed share price. Notice how CiC and Longhorn and Brita(n)k had supernormal profits the year before listing.... What do these companies take as for? The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
UAP had the highest underwriting profit in the industry in year 2011 amounting to KES 501,226,000. However, their medical insurance was a thorn in their flesh with underwriting loss amounting to KES 81,817,000
Layman wrote: By all standards I think CIC Insurance is a better investment than UAP, unless they (UAP) have been doctoring their accounts coz they dont look better as such. The only problem with CIC or the mistake that CIC made was that they created too many shares (3 billion of them hence the suppressed share price.
Which standards are you talking about? >UAP insurance business is doing better that CICs (Check their underwriting profits) >UAP has a far better investment portfolio than the bills/bonds/FDRs of CIC >UAP is has a regional footprint, CIC does not *The metric i see CIC beating UAP is on ownership (I dont like Kirubi and Centum who are top shareholders in UAP)
UAP, which is a parent company of several insurance and financial service firms in Kenya, Uganda, and Sudan, also announced a public share sale intended to raise Sh750 million.
The sale of up to 12.5 million shares will open on Wednesday next week, just a few months after the firm announced that it had raised Sh4.7 billion in convertible bonds from a consortium of private equity funds. @60 isn't it a bit expensive http://www.businessdaily...6/-/juhydhz/-/index.html If you don't want to go to plan B have a good plan A.
NBV - KES 38.72 EPS - KES 7.40
at the price of KES 60 we get: P/B - 1.55x (compares well with industry) P/E - 8.11x (expensive than industry but cheaper than CIC)
mwekez@ji wrote:NBV - KES 38.72 EPS - KES 7.40
at the price of KES 60 we get: P/B - 1.55x (compares well with industry) P/E - 8.11x (expensive than industry but cheaper than CIC) No hope of a split any time soon but I'm going for it anyway. What's the minimum someone can apply for? The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
mwekez@ji wrote:NBV - KES 38.72 EPS - KES 7.40
at the price of KES 60 we get: P/B - 1.55x (compares well with industry) P/E - 8.11x (expensive than industry but cheaper than CIC) add the extra shares of convertible bond and the EPS is diluted further. "The company disclosed that the convertible bonds held by the private equity funds will be converted into shares when the public offer is completed" The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
they need at most 1000 influential investors who will put in a minimum of 1 million
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/21/2010 Posts: 6,675 Location: Nairobi
mwekez@ji wrote:UAP had the highest underwriting profit in the industry in year 2011 amounting to KES 501,226,000. Did you hear about this insurer that made 540million underwriting profit in 2011?? www.bizjournal-africa.co...in-gross-written-premium Mark 12:29 Deuteronomy 4:16
Instead of seeing UAP, I'm seeing Centum. That gives me chills since Centum has made it clear they're cashing out of equities. Why sell your golden cow? Is UAP a golden cow? $15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
mwekez@ji wrote:Aguytrying wrote:300m for company re-organisation. a large percentage on buildings in three countries! so i ask. what are investors really buying into here. buildings? its extravagant expenditure. should be more earnings growth oriented. that said, the fact that they will list by introduction then the otc listing should be considered the " ipo" Look at the whole picture: PLANNED INVESTMENT/-/AMOUNT TO BE INVESTED (Kes. MMs) Growth/Expansion in Rw, Tz, DRC & SS - 1,880 Property Investments (taking advantage of boom) - 2,154Group reorganization (ERP project and IT) - 300 Increase group investments - 1,066 TOTAL AMOUNT - 5,400 The item in bold represents what im uncomfy with. From the article this is the amount that will be used to develop the three towers. In nairobi, Kampala and sudan. My question is are these buildings, just UAP offices or they will be rent out or part sold. If its the later, then its ok. If its the former, its worrying. The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
Investor
Stocks
UAP Group set to enter OTC shares market