wazua Mon, Feb 3, 2025

DOWRY COMMITTE - Aiiii Jameni
#21 Posted : Monday, June 25, 2012 8:57:51 PM

Committee for dowry payment for real, that is not African. Tell us which community practiced that in the traditional African heritage set-up.

it has always been there in my community.(identity withheld for national cohesion reasons)
when going to inlaws you call your family friends ,set a date for the big day, inform inlaws .pay a visit to inlaws with afew friends. then your inlaws informs you what their clans customs demand as full dowry.
with this infor you work on a budget and start contributing with your friends and relatives as other logistics goes on. just like an english wedding.
some things belong to the commumity not individuals.

the committee is for logistics purposes.kijana,I have seen this happen for some decades now.nothing wrong if transparency is maintained and all collection and expenditure is recorded.

Is this your ORIGINAL culture or it's what people have been doing the last couple of years. There is a big difference!
Sigiriri
#22 Posted : Tuesday, June 26, 2012 8:35:43 AM

If you cannot afford to marry, then by all means do not marry. A wife is your own, you have more than enough time to save up for at least the dowry part, so please do what you need to do and get your wife - on your own effort. No one has the right to share your wife if they did not 'buy' a share of her with you. Men - stop being useless, pombe ndio mtu anakunywa daily, lakini wife tumsaidie kulete kwa nyumba? Plain hogwash!!
Sigiriri
#23 Posted : Tuesday, June 26, 2012 8:40:21 AM

I should add - the same men who need dowry committees, wedding committees and probably needed a soft loan to take the gal out will also need:
- to borrow condoms for the honeymoon
- to changisha pesa ya pre-natal clinic
- for maternity
- for the 1st bday ya baby (read BYOB etc...)
- Pesa ya shule

Men, chukueni control!! Galz - don't get picked up by such dudes. Kama wanaume hamuwezi, petition the elders, am sure the ladies can pay dowry from their own pockets.

Like giving money to a chokora, giving money at such committees will only serve to entrench the practice.
Coolbull
#24 Posted : Tuesday, June 26, 2012 9:09:48 AM

King G - The chick is aware but she is not attending meetings. Mimi naona kama ni pesa ya campaign wanatafuta or money to buy a new car.

@Essyk -kuwa mpole, si mimi ni beste alikam na maswali mzito mzito.
#25 Posted : Tuesday, June 26, 2012 9:26:46 AM

So you show up home back in the evening and madam goes 'By the way ule chali alikuwanga kwa dowry committee alipitia. tumechapa na yeye story hapa sana' Do you have the right to be angry?
#26 Posted : Tuesday, June 26, 2012 10:32:55 AM

willin2learn wrote:
So you show up home back in the evening and madam goes 'By the way ule chali alikuwanga kwa dowry committee alipitia. tumechapa na yeye story hapa sana' Do you have the right to be angry?

Alitoa how much???

#27 Posted : Tuesday, June 26, 2012 11:12:24 AM

Funny I got this a few seconds ago

How are you doing this day? I am well. I have some news. I am getting married. I am wedding. To begin with, I want to take this opportunity to say Thank You, for your willingness to stand with us. I am forever indebted to you for your friendship.

This is from a wazuan. I guess he didn't read this thead. And I've never met him.
#28 Posted : Tuesday, June 26, 2012 11:17:52 AM

willin2learn wrote:

Alitoa how much???

must have been the fellow shouting loudest in the contributionssmile
#29 Posted : Tuesday, June 26, 2012 11:28:23 AM

How are you doing this day? I am well. I have some news. I am getting married. I am wedding. To begin with, I want to take this opportunity to say Thank You, for your willingness to stand with us. I am forever indebted to you for your friendship.

This is from a wazuan. I guess he didn't read this thead. And I've never met him.

Reply:

How are you doing yourself? I have some news. There is a thread on wazua called "DOWRY COMMITTE - Aiiii Jameni". It is about getting married. And weddings. To begin with, I want to take this opportunity to inform you I am almost being taken advantage of. I don't want to be forever in debt because of friendship.
#30 Posted : Tuesday, June 26, 2012 11:54:54 AM

@ Hiyo kali at 'I don't want to be forever in debt because of friendship'. Applause I will use that one in the near future.
#31 Posted : Tuesday, June 26, 2012 1:21:03 PM

Kenyans wako na shida mob.
From kindergarten alumni,primary school alumni,high school alumni,university alumni,then committees of all manner.
And @ expects some contribution.
Your personal progress can ground to a halt while you help others make it.
Jacy26
#32 Posted : Tuesday, June 26, 2012 3:54:02 PM

Ti hi hi hi also got the same email I almost thought it's a joke..ouch!
If you have only one smile in you, give it to the people you love - Maya Angelou