wazua Tue, Feb 4, 2025

DOWRY COMMITTE - Aiiii Jameni
Coolbull
#1 Posted : Monday, June 25, 2012 9:47:43 AM

You have been a member since:: 10/23/2007
Sometimes back there was a thread on Wedding committees.
If you thought that was much, my friend has been invited to join a Dowry Committee "to raise funds so that they can go in STYLE".

I think Kenya can be the worst place to have a friend coz we tend to misuse friendships!

You want a wife ....get her yourself unless she's a medical bill or funeral expense!

Matibabu na mazishi tutasaidiana lakini sio kuhalalisha mapenzi yako kulala na mwingine kitandani!
#2 Posted : Monday, June 25, 2012 10:02:56 AM

You can only allow yourself to be abused.
Nobody squeezes money out of your pocket.
You do it willingly cz;

1.You are afraid of saying NO.
2.Status quo
3.Pressure
4.Desire to please.

After that we cry foul.
#3 Posted : Monday, June 25, 2012 11:43:58 AM

And a fellow might show up at your house one day when you are on a business trip "kutembelea bibi WETU!"
#4 Posted : Monday, June 25, 2012 12:04:30 PM

Dowry committee? that is hilarious! Am still laughing
rock
#5 Posted : Monday, June 25, 2012 12:16:52 PM

Jeez! I will not be surprised to hear of a dating committee for people to help a guy court the lady.
#6 Posted : Monday, June 25, 2012 1:13:32 PM

it's always a friend <sic>
#7 Posted : Monday, June 25, 2012 1:53:21 PM

weka namba hapa tutumie huyo "friend" yako kitu ya kusaidia yeye..
#8 Posted : Monday, June 25, 2012 2:14:28 PM

@Coolbull Does the chick now about this disgusting arrangement. If not she should be told kinjaronjaro.

Reminds me of a friend whom in 2008 we contributed towards his wedding and then they seperated 2 months to the wedo, bado tunagoja refund.
#9 Posted : Monday, June 25, 2012 2:24:42 PM

rock wrote:
Jeez! I will not be surprised to hear of a dating committee for people to help a guy court the lady.

We actually did this here at wazua. Pesa tu ndio haikuwa. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...spx?g=posts&t=19138
rock
#10 Posted : Monday, June 25, 2012 3:32:36 PM

rock wrote:

We actually did this here at wazua. Pesa tu ndio haikuwa. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Hehe..kweli
#11 Posted : Monday, June 25, 2012 3:40:47 PM

rock wrote:

@Jus Blazin...that hitting below the belt...Shame on you Shame on you
#12 Posted : Monday, June 25, 2012 4:24:16 PM

@Coolbull Does the chick now about this disgusting arrangement. If not she should be told kinjaronjaro.

Reminds me of a friend whom in 2008 we contributed towards his wedding and then they seperated 2 months to the wedo, bado tunagoja refund.

She obviously knows! This thing is wide spread.

Traditionally, it was the responsibility of your father and [Paternal] uncles. Then it was expanded to cover other relatives mostly older than you. Then the extended family - regardless of age - was roped in. The people formed chamas to help each other pay dowry. Now all friends have become washika dau. Next, you'll see a "mchango form" in the office for an employee you can't quite point out - but the name sounds familiar!

What's worse, others changisha more than they are actually taking to the inlaws. There is a friends committee; Workmates committee; Campus buddies committee; High School pals committee; Drinking mates committee; Relatives committee; Neighbours committee etc. And members of one committee are not informed about the committees. Then after all that the bugger takes 200k to the inlaws - ingine wananunua Subaru na Plasma 68 Inch!!!
#13 Posted : Monday, June 25, 2012 4:50:12 PM

I can guarantee you that such marriages don’t last. There is pride in for the lady paying handsome dowry but this should come from your inner circle; father, brothers and very close friends. Uncles et all are suppose to attend the dowry negotiation and payment process more as a show off (that you have a big clan) and to gobble the food.

doubtfire
#14 Posted : Monday, June 25, 2012 5:07:43 PM

This reminds me of an sms i received the other day from an old friend who i have not communicated to for atleast three years.infact he started like "i hope this message finds you well.then he goes about the invitation.and he finish by "kindly avail yourself for this worthy cause
#15 Posted : Monday, June 25, 2012 5:41:04 PM

doubtfire wrote:
This reminds me of an sms i received the other day from an old friend who i have not communicated to for atleast three years.infact he started like "i hope this message finds you well.then he goes about the invitation.and he finish by "kindly avail yourself for this worthy cause

#16 Posted : Monday, June 25, 2012 7:34:27 PM

rock wrote:

@Jus Blazin...that hitting below the belt...Shame on you Shame on you

... Hapana hii ni Committee of experts.
#17 Posted : Monday, June 25, 2012 7:51:55 PM

if you can be in a wedding committee then what's wrong with being in dowry payment committee?
one is english the other is african.
why do we africans despise what is ours?
as long as you can see that you are not being exploited I see nothing wrong watu ni kusaidiana.I know there are some bad apples in this subject but not all are.
#18 Posted : Monday, June 25, 2012 7:59:48 PM

Committee for dowry payment for real, that is not African. Tell us which community practiced that in the traditional African heritage set-up.
#19 Posted : Monday, June 25, 2012 8:10:59 PM

Committee for dowry payment for real, that is not African. Tell us which community practiced that in the traditional African heritage set-up.

it has always been there in my community.(identity withheld for national cohesion reasons)
when going to inlaws you call your family friends ,set a date for the big day, inform inlaws .pay a visit to inlaws with afew friends. then your inlaws informs you what their clans customs demand as full dowry.
with this infor you work on a budget and start contributing with your friends and relatives as other logistics goes on. just like an english wedding.
some things belong to the commumity not individuals.

the committee is for logistics purposes.kijana,I have seen this happen for some decades now.nothing wrong if transparency is maintained and all collection and expenditure is recorded.
#20 Posted : Monday, June 25, 2012 8:36:53 PM

Hata dowry tunaita goat eating? DWL!!!