wazua Tue, Feb 4, 2025

Understanding dowry terms in intermarriages
callaspade
#41 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2012 11:40:28 AM

Politics made the word 'kihii' be seen as offensive. I remember sometime back when Uhuru was defending Kibaki from ODM attacks and he asked 'Mareciria Kibaki ni kihii kiao?' NTV translated this to mean 'They think Kibaki is uncircumcised?'. This was clearly wrong. I remember wazuans, even the respected older ones who you'd expect to understand and interpret correctly siding with the NTV mistranslation.

The other misunderstood word is 'nyukwa'.

.....yaaani Laughing out loudly had to bring in politics on this culture thread....hiyo wacha Shame on you Shame on you
#42 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2012 11:42:22 AM

Politics made the word 'kihii' be seen as offensive. I remember sometime back when Uhuru was defending Kibaki from ODM attacks and he asked 'Mareciria Kibaki ni kihii kiao?' NTV translated this to mean 'They think Kibaki is uncircumcised?'. This was clearly wrong. I remember wazuans, even the respected older ones who you'd expect to understand and interpret correctly siding with the NTV mistranslation.

d'oh! d'oh! this means something nasty.I just dont know what.

It just means 'your mother'
#43 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2012 11:42:56 AM

Na roto tank ..is one supposed to carry this ama pia ni pesa
#44 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2012 11:44:19 AM

callaspade wrote:

.....yaaani Laughing out loudly had to bring in politics on this culture thread....hiyo wacha Shame on you Shame on you

sorry, it just took me back to that time. With people insisting that 'kihii' has only one meaning.

Hata weweShame on you Shame on you I have not deviated. Let's continue discussing goats, cows and honey.
#45 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2012 11:48:34 AM

Surely lemmie ask this,if this present generation dont know these traditions,meanings and stuff and they are the same people with sons and daughters playing online games,what will happen in future?
Traditions will just die.

Some traditions should just be allowed to die. Bride price paying belongs to the same group as FGM.

@Lolest,

You belong to the group that believes bride price is for buying the girl?smile ....wacha wewe!!...Unatak kuwa mtwanga freeLaughing out loudly ....Anyway,it's a symbol of bonding the two families.that much we have been told.
#46 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2012 11:49:12 AM

digitek1 wrote:

I thought there was a standard list of stuff.Like a template of things asked for during dowry negotiations!!
No wonder I see lots of roto tanks on vehicles over the weekends heading to central.
At this rate,I fear what this generation of 'lost' people will demand for.
High tech stuff to unlimited internet subscriptions forever.
#47 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2012 11:52:54 AM

digitek1 wrote:

A camel will do....it also stores watersmile
#48 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2012 11:56:15 AM

i saw one buy honey from tuskys na akapeleka hadi receipt ndio ionyeshe how much he spent..

Na musiseme ni mimi...
#49 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2012 12:01:48 PM

its funny that some claims to understand the traditions of the kikuyu, even quoting some deep proverbs and yet they go ahead and say that goats don't represent the real goats but the cash equivalent and the honey represents sugar.

kaigangio and i have said that much and as far as i know,where intermarriages are involved,this is acceptable.Think,if you daughter marries a Ghanaian boy,would you expect your in-laws to ship goats and honey from Kumasi?Sad

if negotiations had been done and an agreement reached then tradition dictates that 40 goats be delivered to the compound, it didn't matter back then and it should not matter now how far the in-laws came from they had and should deliver the same, if traditions are to be followed.

imagine if wazees back then asked for 40 goats -then you brought some thousands of cowrie shells. smile
#50 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2012 12:03:37 PM

chemos wrote:
i saw one buy honey from tuskys na akapeleka hadi receipt ndio ionyeshe how much he spent..

Na musiseme ni mimi...

Ha ha ha! Applause

2 crates of Summit Lager or 40 liters of Muratina could have been better appreciated.

Dowry lingo is never literal. smile
#51 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2012 12:07:05 PM

WHERE ARE THE OTHER TRIBES.

What do u ask for and what do they mean?
#52 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2012 12:08:34 PM

I wonder why they don't ask men to bring with them a bundle of firewood, I think it was one of the requirements back then.
#53 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2012 12:11:48 PM

@Lolest,

You belong to the group that believes bride price is for buying the girl?smile ....wacha wewe!!...Unatak kuwa mtwanga freeLaughing out loudly ....Anyway,it's a symbol of bonding the two families.that much we have been told.

I wonder why then we call it 'kugurana'(kununuana) and why a lot of bargaining is involved plus the many trips the bride's side force the groom's side to make.

I wonder why some women have already pegged a price on themselves-like that woman who wanted 1m for her bride price. There are lots of other things too, like why bad blood develops between families and individuals after the negotiations.

If it's just for bonding, fine. But I thought the main reason was based on the traditional economy. Land was tilled by family members thus losing a family member to another family had to be compensaated. In those days the woman would move to the man's family and become one of them tilling their land and other duties.

Today, the young man lives in umoja, he plans to buy a hse in he metropolis or buy a kaplot in Syokimau away from the flight path. There is no major economic advantage to his family when he marries this girl. Infact, the wife's parents may benefit more from the marriage than the husband's!
#54 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2012 12:20:41 PM

wapi @magigi, we need a Mukamba version!!
#55 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2012 12:25:07 PM

@Lolest,

A woman slapping a price on herself???....I would run to the edge of the world.In a very fair scenario,the lady is always on the man's side and she will have leaked what they should expect during negotiations.....If i were the bridegroom's negotiator in this case,my counter offer would be a single damn tick (kupe).
#56 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2012 12:37:08 PM

I wonder why some women have already pegged a price on themselves-like that woman who wanted 1m for her bride price.

For those who missed it, here's the thread:

MEN, Would you pay Sh1 million for a wife? WOMEN, Would accept to be bought?

#57 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2012 1:04:39 PM

@Lolest,

A woman slapping a price on herself???....I would run to the edge of the world.In a very fair scenario,the lady is always on the man's side and she will have leaked what they should expect during negotiations.....If i were the bridegroom's negotiator in this case,my counter offer would be a single damn tick (kupe).

Noooo @guka. You should know that this's practiced in other cultures!

In Islam, the word gift is ususally used. Young women are encouraged to have a realistic expectation of what should be paid: an equitable amount that makes the woman feel secure. That's something to strengthen the bond of friendship between two people and family.

It is the man who pays the dowry to the woman, unless the woman chooses not to take it. They can even choose to share some of it with the man!
For example she can ask for somehting you'll both use in your new home

The Prophet said, "the most blessed marriage is one in which the marriage partners place the least burden on each other."

Marriage should not be used as a ticket to "get rich quick".

Some parents request very high dowry. DOn't they see that this practice leads to many young men to forsaking marriage, or postpone or fall into come-we-stay?
as a result, a large number of young women not finding husbands!
#58 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2012 1:23:24 PM

Payment of dowry has been banned in some countries. In Kenya there was a proposal to consolidate all marriage related legislations in the Marriage Bill 2012 which proposes among others, setting 18 as minimum age, the legalising of polygamy.
8. No person shall marry while under the age of eighteen years.
Prohibited relationships.
9. (1) No person shall marry—
(a) his or her grandparent, parent, child, grandchild, sister, brother, great aunt,
great uncle, aunt, uncle, niece, nephew, great niece or great nephew; or
(b) the grandparent, parent, child or grandchild of his or her spouse or former spouse; or
(c) the former spouse of his or her grandparent, parent, child or grandchild; or
(d) a person whom he or she has adopted or by whom he or she has been adopted.
(2) For the purposes of this section,relationship of the half blood is as much impediment to marriage as relationship of the full blood.
(3) A person who, by this section is forbidden to marry shall be said to be within aprohibited relationship.

#59 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2012 1:45:12 PM

If we say goats should be literal, then 'kúhanda gíthígì' should be literal too.

What I've witnessed is a mixture of the two where you take some 'mbúri meeee' meaning real goats and cash counted per the remaining goats requested.
#60 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2012 2:13:01 PM

radio wrote:
If we say goats should be literal, then 'kúhanda gíthígì' should be literal too.

What I've witnessed is a mixture of the two where you take some 'mbúri meeee' meaning real goats and cash counted per the remaining goats requested.

but in traditional Kikuyu there was no cash. Plus in every language there are sayings which are well understood. I don't think negotiation for goats was a saying - it was the literal goat they were asking for as opposed to 'kúhanda gíthígì'