wazua Wed, Mar 18, 2026

help pls car steering wheel
woodpecker
#16 Posted : Tuesday, June 12, 2012 10:07:51 AM

abdulrahman wrote:

am still driving it though with very difficult to twist steering wheel. I want to have it checked again.If its pump, where can I get a good one not fake and not toyota kenya coz of cost.
What could be the cost.
My car engine is 4A

As you seek solutions for the above, you need to get this car off the road till you are sorted. Imagine if you were required to quickly swerve to avoid hitting someone/thing and it jams, would you blame yourself or the car once damage is done?

"jmt..."
Do not let your hearts be troubled, trust in God
#17 Posted : Tuesday, June 12, 2012 11:32:25 AM

@Abdi,

It could be steering column bearings and housings have given way.

@Githundi,

Cold start problems?....Cold start sensor.
FancyFace
#18 Posted : Tuesday, June 12, 2012 11:33:44 AM

very valuable info here....mmhh

Problems can get out of proportion, and not only in the wee small hours. Don't let the problems eclipse the Master. Let the Master eclipse the problems.
#19 Posted : Tuesday, June 12, 2012 11:37:14 AM

woodpecker wrote:
abdulrahman wrote:

am still driving it though with very difficult to twist steering wheel. I want to have it checked again.If its pump, where can I get a good one not fake and not toyota kenya coz of cost.
What could be the cost.
My car engine is 4A

As you seek solutions for the above, you need to get this car off the road till you are sorted. Imagine if you were required to quickly swerve to avoid hitting someone/thing and it jams, would you blame yourself or the car once damage is done?

"jmt..."

@pecker, do you know the speed he is doing? The guy could be doing 10km/h, at that speed you need NOT to swerve, you just hit the brakes hard.

Na sasa huyu "JMT" ndio sensor gani kwa gari?

And someone above there is asking about IC, this "Integrated Circuit" just call it a miniature computer.Sad

abdulrahman
#20 Posted : Tuesday, June 12, 2012 11:39:01 AM

@Abdi,

It could be steering column bearings and housings have given way.

@Githundi,

Cold start problems?....Cold start sensor.

Thanks @ guka,
I will check that with a mech so that we get to the problem.
woodpecker
#21 Posted : Tuesday, June 12, 2012 11:47:11 AM

woodpecker wrote:
abdulrahman wrote:

What could be the cost.
My car engine is 4A

"jmt..."

@pecker, do you know the speed he is doing? The guy could be doing 10km/h, at that speed you need NOT to swerve, you just hit the brakes hard.

Na sasa huyu "JMT" ndio sensor gani kwa gari?

And someone above there is asking about IC, this "Integrated Circuit" just call it a miniature computer.Sad

JMT = Just My Thoughts smile

Do not let your hearts be troubled, trust in God
abdulrahman
#22 Posted : Tuesday, June 12, 2012 5:15:57 PM

Diagnosis has been made by a well qualified mechanic after running some tests and concludes we need to change the cartilage ( the ATF pump). We will do that tomorrow.

Which shop or where can I get at a reasonable price for a 4A engine AE 111.

Thanks in advance.
#23 Posted : Tuesday, June 12, 2012 5:29:46 PM

abdulrahman wrote:
Diagnosis has been made by a well qualified mechanic after running some tests and concludes we need to change the cartilage ( the ATF pump). We will do that tomorrow.

Which shop or where can I get at a reasonable price for a 4A engine AE 111.

Thanks in advance.

Impala Auto Spares, Dunga Road, Industrial Area.
#24 Posted : Thursday, June 14, 2012 10:01:45 AM

@abdulrahman you sound happy today morning in another thread. Were you sorted with your car? Give update bwana!
gatoho
#25 Posted : Thursday, June 14, 2012 5:08:39 PM

Impala Auto Spares, Dunga Road, Industrial Area.[/quote]

Memories, used to buy parts here and sell at a premium 10 yrs ago smile
Foresight..
abdulrahman
#26 Posted : Wednesday, June 20, 2012 10:02:52 AM

@abdulrahman you sound happy today morning in another thread. Were you sorted with your car? Give update bwana!

sorry for the late reply @ Alphadoti

After the diagnosis was done per my earlier update, I talked to another mechanic friend of mine and he advised me to pass by his garange that day evening before changing the cartilage/pump as I was advised by the earlier guy. You wouldnt believe that after getting to his garange at 8pm in the evening after office, he "chokorad" it and rectified the problem.I spent a total of ksh 1,050 including his pay way below what I had been advised ie ksh 8,000 for a new pump and another 2,000 for the mech pay and ATF fluid.

Its now a week and the steering wheel moves as new.
#27 Posted : Wednesday, June 20, 2012 11:27:56 AM

We're glad we could 'help' (warn).
Mkimwa
#28 Posted : Wednesday, June 20, 2012 2:34:07 PM

abdulrahman wrote:

After the diagnosis was done per my earlier update, I talked to another mechanic friend of mine and he advised me to pass by his garange that day evening before changing the cartilage/pump as I was advised by the earlier guy. You wouldnt believe that after getting to his garange at 8pm in the evening after office, he "chokorad" it and rectified the problem.I spent a total of ksh 1,050 including his pay way below what I had been advised ie ksh 8,000 for a new pump and another 2,000 for the mech pay and ATF fluid.

So what was the problem?
abdulrahman
#29 Posted : Wednesday, June 20, 2012 4:01:42 PM

Mkimwa wrote:
abdulrahman wrote:

So what was the problem?

Blockage inside the pump.
#30 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2012 3:11:51 PM

abdulrahman wrote:
Mkimwa wrote:
abdulrahman wrote:

So what was the problem?

Blockage inside the pump.

@abdulrahman, tafadhali nitumie hizo contacts za that mech who rectified your problem. Kuna mtu amekuwa akiendesha gari yake ikiwa na hiyo shida ya steering for a while (two months), and I would want to help them out juu he thinks it's very expensive to change the pump. I always see that steering issue as a disaster waiting to happen. Send the mech's contact to jsblazin@gmail.com tafadhali.