12 Pages123>»
Mavuno - Whats up?
Mali
#1 Posted : Wednesday, December 17, 2008 7:25:00 AM

.......................your thoughts?
Kamwari
#2 Posted : Wednesday, December 17, 2008 7:52:00 AM

Are you a member at Mavuno or were you Visiting?
Mali
#3 Posted : Wednesday, December 17, 2008 8:04:00 AM

eh Kamwari.. was just visiting... is that the order of the service?

wish is yesterday,hope is tomorrow.. today we make or break!
Kamwari
#4 Posted : Wednesday, December 17, 2008 8:38:00 AM

Nope thats not the order of the service,the leaders are discussing the Psquare issue since it was during worship,as for the other songs they are part of a skit (play) so its not really a big deal.... Karibu tena.
ngwono
#5 Posted : Wednesday, December 17, 2008 8:53:00 AM

I have been there once.That was in Sept 2008

Without Holiness no man shall see God.Dear God,mould me to be a vessel of honour at this End times,to remain Obedient to your Word in all situations.Amen!
#6 Posted : Wednesday, December 17, 2008 9:08:00 AM

@ ngwono

why have you not gone back since?

ama there are no fishers of men in Mavuno?

just curious.

NEVER TALK OF A RHINO IF THERE IS NO TREE NEAREBY - ZULU PROVERB
Mali
#7 Posted : Wednesday, December 17, 2008 9:13:00 AM

they said they are taking it back!!! but wat was amazing is the people I saw,most of them were out the previous night,somewhere in Westie....

the pastor was real! nice guy.... setup,the sound,lighting... and of course the time was on point!

might be there next Sunday again!

Kamwari
#8 Posted : Wednesday, December 17, 2008 11:32:00 AM

@ Mali,Does it mean that when you go out your not supposed to go to church?
Maiduda
#9 Posted : Wednesday, December 17, 2008 11:55:00 AM

Got into real trouble trying to find out why my pals were discrediting Mavuno. I wanted to undestand why it was being taunted as the church for the young and rich.....I've never been there tho!!

The only risk free way to double your money is by folding a note into two and putting it back into your pocket
thingira
#10 Posted : Wednesday, December 17, 2008 12:30:00 PM

these guys are quite something.
Can you imagine they gave me a brochure once with a picture of nice lady thighs coiled up on the front. I could hardly take it home,for fear of being called a pervert. Lakini the message was different from the picture though.

i got very uncomfortable with that ' do anything to capture the youth'

'We can't solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them' Albert Einstein
Mtu Biz
#11 Posted : Wednesday, December 17, 2008 1:17:00 PM

@ ngwono.... what you are not saying is speaking volumes! In your capacity as the trusted Christian voice in SK,whats your opinion on mavuno? over to you ngwono.

..... the sons of Zeruiah .....
Sola Scriptura

Kamwari
#12 Posted : Wednesday, December 17, 2008 1:31:00 PM

I will say that @ Mavuno we are wealthy,spritually,finacially,healthwise and in many other areas in our Gods kingdom and yes we are young too and we make no apologies as we serve a real God who is our father. Some of the pictures or dressing that you will find at Mavuno I assure you are not conventional but that does not mean that we dont worship the true and living God. We just dont allow ourselves to be distracted by things which really do not matter....

I imagine I got the same brochure your talking about but I did not notice the lady crossing her legs I think it depends on what catches our attention!
Mtu Biz
#13 Posted : Wednesday, December 17, 2008 2:29:00 PM

@ kamwari,i don't disagree... i just want to hear ngwono's opinion on this.

..... the sons of Zeruiah .....
Sola Scriptura

Mali
#14 Posted : Wednesday, December 17, 2008 2:49:00 PM

@kamwari.. no no no.. don't get me wrong,its the first church I walked to and found such a huge number of night runners.. (not in a bad way)

Not to mention I bumped to the largest number of dreadlocked dudes in this church! and women in all sorts of clothing!! again not in a bad way,just that it was the first!

ngwono
#15 Posted : Wednesday, December 17, 2008 5:10:00 PM

@Kaigangio,

My friend you say you are curious.No need.I was invited by a friend who felolowship in Mavuno for a financial seminnar.I have a church which i attend faithfully and if i just walk out anyhow without seeking for an authority to join another church,then its called rebellion.My friend many pple are suffering from the spirit of rebellion and since i came to understand the concept i cannot just change churches when i feel like.I must first inquire of the Lord like King David and if approved,i ask for blessing from my Pastor.God is God of authority and He expect us to obey the leaders He has given us.Obedient is better than sacrifce you know and disobedient is like the sin of witchcraft

@MtuBiz

To be honest,since i was there and saw how they conduct their worship before the talk,i am in a position to comment....either positive or negative.....but do you know what.....i have chosen not to.i dont like talking about pple or gossip to be precise.This is one of the most tempting since that am fighting in my life.Most of the time when i happen to engage myself in gossip ........my spirit force me to look for the person in question and repent.My friend this is not an easy exercise and the latest i can remember was on 9nth of Dec.So why should i not just avoid it at all cost if possible.

The truth is,it does not add value so why should we waste time and effort.And the way i dont have that time even now anm writting this from the office.Na hata wewe ni mtu busy.Meeeeeen.

Without Holiness no man shall see God.Dear God,mould me to be a vessel of honour at this End times,to remain Obedient to your Word in all situations.Amen!
#16 Posted : Wednesday, December 17, 2008 6:36:00 PM

I think the main issue is whether such kind of worship is harmful or beneficial to one's spirit and peace of mind. Singing P-Square songs in worship; what does that show? I know Christ came for the lost,and he actually rebuked the law teachers,but he never became of this world when teaching about the kingdom of God. and that is what made him stand out among the people.

We should not make people fall because of our actions,because people will ask; if they sing such songs in church at the temple of the Almighty,what will make people stop going to bars and pubs where playing of such songs is common? the next thing we'll hear is a Lil' Wayne's song or Mr Vegas'. then where do we stop?

@ngwono,its not gossip. its discussion. we have members of Mavuno in our presence and they would take the concerns we raise to their leaders about how people view the church. we call that feedback. and in this time and age....its necessary to do so.

Mavuno people,be the light just as christ was. be in this world but dont be of it.

@Kamwari,would Jesus be happy with your argument? especially of the kind of songs being sang and the kind of pictures on the brochures? a lady's thighs? am a man,for crying out loud,what do you expect to catch my attention? BE SERIOUS!!!
From a Little Spark may burst a Mighty Flame...
Mali
#17 Posted : Wednesday, December 17, 2008 7:50:00 PM

Don't get them wrong.. My apologies,the songs were REMIXED!

jammo
#18 Posted : Wednesday, December 17, 2008 8:01:00 PM

Salvation is a personal thing..unlike other world religion however definitions and interpretation of the Bible hav been left at the discretion of the individual. Paul wrote to the philipian church.. 'Work out your salvation with fear and trembling'...unfortunately ours is a democratic society..where we'v democratized Christianity too..if majority are comfortable with a particular trend..secular or otherwise..then it is ok. I remember in late 80s and early 90s..a kissin scene on tv sparked a countrywide uproar...let alon very embarrassin moments in the home..but today...we all sit and watch an entire sex or nudity scene as family without batting an eyelid..! Its sad to note that while the church has become bold enough to embrace the world..the world has become very churchy...the cost however has been that in the process the church has become very worldly! Anyway..if u r born again,i suggest let your walk in Christ be governed by th Bible...not preferred lifestyles..or trends..work out your salvation with fear and trembling. Just because guys are embracin worldly ways does not mean u have to. You were saved by Christ..of you belief in him n his conviction in u..not on basis of what lifestyl u prefer.

' I have heard of You,o Lord. Now mine eyes have seen thee!! Baal-Perazim.. The Lord of the Breakthrough!!'
Pablo
#19 Posted : Thursday, December 18, 2008 6:32:00 AM

i I believe christianity is about obedience and service to God.

With this in mind what is wrong with adding some spice in the context of obedience and service to God?? Why should one not live their life in full on earth and in heaven?? I am a Mavuno Damu and I support their cause of showing young people that there is also a good life within Christrianity.

Be greedy when others are fearful,be fearful when others are greedy.
sheri
#20 Posted : Thursday, December 18, 2008 6:53:00 AM

Remember many are called but......

Pat