wazua Mon, Aug 25, 2025

genocide on the road
#1 Posted : Thursday, June 07, 2012 10:40:13 PM

was pertubed by the no of orbituaries in todays nation where 'tragic road accident' was mentioned. who is the transport minister? what are the police doing to enforce the michuki rules and stop this genocide?

more people are dying on the road than any other cause.

and you reading this, observe traffic rules too otherwise you will join the long orbituary list
#2 Posted : Thursday, June 07, 2012 10:56:08 PM

@Newfarer i agrre with you,its definetly out of hand and its been so for the last couple of months,our drivers have totally lost it.We need thorough enforcement of the traffic act and i definetly hope the new ones will come into place soon.Its alarming...
#3 Posted : Thursday, June 07, 2012 11:08:03 PM

My pastor once admonished us in church saying that we must live and die honourably
And honourable death is not getting hit by say a mkokoteni,tuktuk or old lorry.
It's getting hit by a merc,range and u know what.
Said it was a shame for people to be told u were hit by some KZE lorry or matatu,Sad but it's kinda elevating to hear that a range caused ur death.

I dont know what to say cz in either one dies.

#4 Posted : Friday, June 08, 2012 7:11:17 AM

My pastor once admonished us in church saying that we must live and die honourably
Said it was a shame for people to be told u were hit by some KZE lorry or matatu,Sad but it's kinda elevating to hear that a range caused ur death.

drivers of merc will hardly hit you but a prombox mkokoteni and other toyotas owned by showy middleclass will easily deport you to your maker.
Wakandi
#5 Posted : Friday, June 08, 2012 9:57:27 AM

was pertubed by the no of orbituaries in todays nation where 'tragic road accident' was mentioned. who is the transport minister? what are the police doing to enforce the michuki rules and stop this genocide?

more people are dying on the road than any other cause.

and you reading this, observe traffic rules too otherwise you will join the long orbituary list

Attitude is everything. For motorists, why not just obey the laid down rules? drive slow and you will get to your destination, maintain your vehicle in proper condition, if you must drink and drive, then drink milk.....
For pedestrians..what is this rush to cross the road even when you see a prombox in the horizon? Please desist from this..wherever there is a footbridge, please use it...wachana na kuongea kwa simu when you are crossing the road. Remember what your primary school teacher taught you about crossing the road? look Left, Right then Left again ama it was right-Left-Right..
matata
#6 Posted : Friday, June 08, 2012 10:28:40 AM

Michuki is long dead! I have no idea who will replace him! Kibaki sould have maintained him in that ministry en may be by the time he was dieing, we all would be very conscious of traffic rules. In this case both the Motorist and pedestrian r to blame. The motorist drive so fast even when one is very drunk whereas the pedestrian cross the road even when the incoming vehicle is at high speed! They assume the driver is seeing them or he can as well brake for you. Some drivers by the way r either on phone with zero concentration or they r busy operating the radio or CD to listen to good music, so by the time they hit u, they had no idea u were crossing the road! We must all be responsible!
#7 Posted : Friday, June 08, 2012 10:42:33 AM

It's the govt's fault?

When does mwananchi wa kawaida ever own up to his mistakes and take responsibility?

When you are cruising at 180 kph on your way to Nakuru does it ever concern you that you are part of the problem?

When you avoid using the footbridge on Valley rd, do you ever feel guilty?

Michuki rules will not help. All we need is discipline starting at the personal level.
#8 Posted : Friday, June 08, 2012 11:29:19 AM

It's the govt's fault?

When does mwananchi wa kawaida ever own up to his mistakes and take responsibility?

When you are cruising at 180 kph on your way to Nakuru does it ever concern you that you are part of the problem?

When you avoid using the footbridge on Valley rd, do you ever feel guilty?

Michuki rules will not help. All we need is discipline starting at the personal level.

I have always maintained that road safety starts with the user hii mambo ya serikali is to blame for everything is getting into our heads.

#9 Posted : Friday, June 08, 2012 12:05:16 PM

Alcoblow ikitaka kurudishwa, wengine wanakimbia kotini! Tutasaidika aje? As said above, kunywa maziwa!
Kaka M
#10 Posted : Friday, June 08, 2012 12:16:36 PM

@essyk Pls remind your Pastor that it would be better if we live until Jesus finds alive on his second coming. But I guess it was with a light touch.
Meanwhile, according to one ex colleague being hit by one of those big, expensive cars ain't so bad especially if u don't die/get hurt. Some guys apparently just sign a blank cheque and hand it over to the accident victim so he can fill in the remaining details.(Assuming that you don't fill an amount then it bounces.)

Anyway, a starting point towards reducing accidents could be by each one of us taking reasonable care of himself and other road users and with time it will be the rule and not the exception to be a good road user.
#11 Posted : Friday, June 08, 2012 12:27:32 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Alcoblow ikitaka kurudishwa, wengine wanakimbia kotini! Tutasaidika aje? As said above, kunywa maziwa!

.....Eti phombe chupa moja na nusu, hiyo apana!!!!
#12 Posted : Friday, June 08, 2012 12:53:17 PM

@Lolest is it the speed really?Take alook at the link provided you will notice that the average speed in most express ways is above 120 kph http://en.wikipedia.org/...Speed_limits_by_country
and their accident rates are way below what we get,I think our drivers are just indiscplined,rather most drivers are,how many times have you met a car parked smack in the middle of the road without warning signs...we are just too complecent...and we just take things for granted.
mkeiyd
#13 Posted : Friday, June 08, 2012 5:01:05 PM

For the accidents, i logically blame "ujinga" on our roads. We have too many brainless drivers on our roads. They think money insulates one from death. Whether they are rushing to make money or spend it,they have "ujinga" written all over.
Speeds are not to blame.

Spiritually, it has been prophesied that there will be way many road deaths this year.
But even so, drivers should use their damn brains, or borrow some if they must.
Forester
#14 Posted : Wednesday, June 13, 2012 9:01:12 AM

& 3 ROAR staff perished over the weekend DN pg 63. Ploughed through Nyayo Stadium roundabout Sad
Build your own dreams, or someone else will hire you to build theirs - Farrah Gray.
dasany
#15 Posted : Wednesday, June 13, 2012 11:29:36 AM

powers
#16 Posted : Wednesday, June 13, 2012 2:02:10 PM

@Laughing out loudly,in the 15 century,a guy called Thomas hobbes described what he called a 'state of nature'.In that state he said there was a general absence of rules,laws and government and as such conflict was bound to occur in the society.With no means of resolving these conflicts, life was short ,nasty and brutish.This is what is happening in Kenyan roads right now.Inasmuch as the ordinary citizen has the responsibility to ensure his/her own safety,Kenyans have created rules and laws to prevent conflict on the roads.We have elected a government to enforce these rules over us..so when the government becomes largely absent and cotinues to neglect its role.If you haven't noticed yet,there is a civil war going on our roads right now and we seem helpless to stop it.That is where the government and civil society must come in.Its very strange that the various human right groups dont seem to notice this..But the issue of our roads should be addressed urgently otherwise life on our roads will continue being nasty,short and brutish.
#17 Posted : Saturday, December 13, 2014 4:09:04 PM

yesterday a matatu decides to drive recklessly at a death speed. I ask the driver to drive well.
the makanga urges him to take us' home quickly.'
other passengers join shouting him down.
the makanga claims that the Matatu belong to a policeman and there's nothing we can do tunyamaze tupelekwe nyumbani.

I calmly tell him I know president uhuru I have been recording all he has been yapping and will forward to uhuru on his facebook page immediately.

you should have seen his face.

the best driving I have ever experienced in a matatu thereafter.

uhuru and his police may not be everywhere so don't keep quiet this festive season. play your part.

drive carefully, shout down reckless Psv driver, cross roads carefully etc
MatataMingi
#18 Posted : Saturday, December 13, 2014 4:30:14 PM

yesterday a matatu decides to drive recklessly at a death speed. I ask the driver to drive well.
the makanga claims that the Matatu belong to a policeman and there's nothing we can do tunyamaze tupelekwe nyumbani.

I calmly tell him I know president uhuru I have been recording all he has been yapping and will forward to uhuru on his facebook page immediately.

uhuru and his police may not be everywhere so don't keep quiet this festive season. play your part.

Very good sir Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause
#19 Posted : Saturday, December 13, 2014 4:47:03 PM

MatataMingi wrote:

Very good sir Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause

You are my HERO . You see what it means when people know there are consequences.....Applause Applause
Ngong
#20 Posted : Saturday, December 13, 2014 5:05:08 PM

Night time travel by road is very dangerous, avoid otherwise sheria can't prevent accidents but more money for the cops