wazua Sat, Jan 11, 2025

question on roads - usual suspects - mau summit-Kericho-kisumu vs Mai Mahiu-Narok-Kisumu
Djinn
#1 Posted : Monday, May 21, 2012 9:06:35 AM

Hi Guys.

1- Any word on whether Mau-Summit to Kisumu is better than Narok-Kisumu (esp in light of the so called cracks and expected volcanic activity)?

2 - Kisumu Busia - what's the 411?

3 - Eldoret-Malaba - I know H Young have been doing some stuff there - any update?

4 - Burnt Forest - Kapsabet - Chemelil - Kisumu?

Much obliged...
Sasha
#2 Posted : Monday, May 21, 2012 9:34:27 AM

Hi Djinn and all,

Long time.

Please allow me to ride on your thread. I'm planning to do Nairobi - Nakuru - Eldoret - Mumias - Isebania this coming week. Haven't been on the road for a while so I don't even know how Nakuru - Eldoret is! Would appreciate any pointers.
Sasha
#3 Posted : Wednesday, May 23, 2012 11:29:21 AM

Haiya ... nobody has used these roads recently?

Where is guka when you need him?
keraka
#4 Posted : Wednesday, May 23, 2012 11:55:04 AM

Djinn wrote:
Hi Guys.

1- Any word on whether Mau-Summit to Kisumu is better than Narok-Kisumu (esp in light of the so called cracks and expected volcanic activity)?

2 - Kisumu Busia - what's the 411?

3 - Eldoret-Malaba - I know H Young have been doing some stuff there - any update?

4 - Burnt Forest - Kapsabet - Chemelil - Kisumu?

Much obliged...

@Djinn
1.I would rather do Narok Kisumu anyday so long as am sure it hasnt rained on the hills around Mt.longonot coz thats what messes up the Narok road with flooding.The 70km Diversion between NKR and Kericho is pathetic unless its been done dont dare.
3.Eldoret malaba H young still on the ground a month ago when i used it.with lots of diversions if you combine that with the Transit goods trucks it becomes an averagely messy affair but can try.

4.Burnt forest - Kapsabet No no so pathetic with big potholes and murram filled unmarked bumps unless youll be using a 4 wheel D.
Consider this we were heading to kakamega with a friend,he opted to go thru Nrk kisii ksm kach and i went the burnt forest kapsabet route having averagely used same speed he got there 1.5 hrs ahead of me with his car well off.
The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.
Djinn
#5 Posted : Wednesday, May 23, 2012 12:25:41 PM

Sasha wrote:

I was also wondering - I have been on and off wazua but the last I recall he had opted to leave owing to some censorship issues.
Djinn
#6 Posted : Wednesday, May 23, 2012 12:33:39 PM

@Keraka - thanks for that info. When I used Burnt Forest - Kapsabet route it was getting bad - but I suppose two rainy seasons later and perhaps with more traffic re-routing from Mau Summit-Kericho -Kisumu, it must have become worse. So will consider Narok-Kisumu.

@Sasha - for Bungoma-Mumias - some sections are pretty bad. I recall coming through Malaba and wanting to end up in Kisumu - so did that detour all the way to Luanda. Recent reports indicate Luanda-Kisumu is not too good.
Djinn
#7 Posted : Wednesday, May 23, 2012 12:42:06 PM

Sasha wrote:

This was his last post - March 27th 2012 - http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...spx?g=posts&t=18156

I wish he would re-consider and come back. Aside from politics we could still discuss roads, runways and sockets...but alas, he has made up his mind.

#8 Posted : Wednesday, May 23, 2012 12:42:41 PM

How come no one ever asks questions about the road to Kathonzweni?

Kwani huko si Kenya? The road to there is extremely good by the way.
Ondiek
#9 Posted : Wednesday, May 23, 2012 1:20:14 PM

Best option to Kisumu is Narok - Kaplong - Kericho Kisumu. Kapsabet road is horrible with unexpected bumps and huge potholes. Kisumu Busia is in a pathetic state though under repair at the moment.

The pride of Africa would be a better option.
Sasha
#10 Posted : Wednesday, May 23, 2012 3:08:16 PM

@Djinn: Thank you for the info. Sad about people being censored. Wazua used to be interested a while back. Lemmie go back where I've been.
#11 Posted : Thursday, May 24, 2012 11:12:25 AM

Which is shorter?
Bomet-kaplong-kericho or
Bomet-litein-kericho?
maligumu
#12 Posted : Thursday, May 24, 2012 12:25:32 PM

@yesuwangu watu wa Kathwonzeni wanaendaka nyumbani every other day . Wacha watu wajipange kuna long weekend plus also u plan early for xmass.
Peace be with you
#13 Posted : Wednesday, May 30, 2012 2:02:51 PM

To my brother Djinn/Sista Sasha,

I hope you guys travelled well.If not,i can give an update.Sorry for being absent when you needed me...lol.
Motomoto
#14 Posted : Saturday, February 23, 2013 9:55:40 AM

Which is shorter?
Bomet-kaplong-kericho or
Bomet-litein-kericho?

1. Anybody here who has used these roads before? Which is shorter?
2. What is the state of Nrb-nakuru-Kericho-Kisumu route.
@Njung'e- Where are You?
#15 Posted : Saturday, February 23, 2013 12:50:58 PM

Motomoto wrote:
Which is shorter?
Bomet-kaplong-kericho or
Bomet-litein-kericho?

1. Anybody here who has used these roads before? Which is shorter?
2. What is the state of Nrb-nakuru-Kericho-Kisumu route.
@Njung'e- Where are You?

Ker - Litein - Nrb = 297km
Ker - Kaplong- Nrb = 300 km
Not much difference and both roads are equally good.

Nrb-Ksm Kericho.....No good for now.Diversions kibao unless you love headache and dust.smile
Toxicity
#16 Posted : Thursday, September 25, 2014 3:27:05 PM

How is kisumu - kakamega Road coming along?
update president set president = speaker where president is null
#17 Posted : Thursday, September 25, 2014 3:40:21 PM

What is the status of the Marigat-Karbarnet-Iten-Eldoret road?Is it in a good condition ama potholes zimejaa?

Thanks
Hobitke
#18 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2016 2:35:19 PM

Anyone with an idea what exactly is being constructed along Dennis Pritt road just after the state house back entrance ?
majimaji
#19 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2016 3:09:52 PM

Pia mimi naulisaa: Who has done Nairobi - Moyale - Addis ababa by road, I'm planning a December 2016 trip, can an ordinary saloon car survive the desert heat Isiolo to Moyale?
#20 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2016 3:16:37 PM

majimaji wrote:

Pia mimi naulisaa: Who has done Nairobi - Moyale - Addis ababa by road, I'm planning a December 2016 trip, can an ordinary saloon car survive the desert heat Isiolo to Moyale?

Isiolo to Moyale is all brand new road... been there last month and any good car can do. Just make sure you have a working radiator.

Moyale - Addis is another ball game all together.