wazua Mon, Aug 18, 2025

Cant find a fairly priced but decent house near CBD!
Buster
#21 Posted : Tuesday, May 22, 2012 12:05:33 PM

South b! Rent for 3 bedromm between 35 and 45k. Most Guys then rent out the sq for 10 to 15k. You end up paying less.
wilyum
#22 Posted : Tuesday, May 22, 2012 12:21:07 PM

bwenyenye wrote
wilyum wrote:

Have u checked at South B?
N just curious,why pay 40k for rent while u can pay for ur own house at the same amount every month in the upcoming flats and houses along mombasa rd?

Guys get real! A mortgage repayment of 40K at the prevailing rates for new mortgages @25% for 20 years would get you just about Kshs 1.9M. Where would you get a house with that money within even 10Kms of CBD?

Nairobi is Very expensive!

The point is not tht he will get mortgage at 40k but if he can afford rent at tht rate then i don't understand why he cant afford a mortgage of which is better than rent cz its a liability n two, rent paid is money going down the drain,bt kama analipia nyumba yake,he is better off placed,ikimlemea,anaweza uza n get a little bck of his money

My two cents,sijui mfuko yake iko aje n i understand to be corrected.
#23 Posted : Tuesday, May 22, 2012 12:40:47 PM

wilyum wrote:
bwenyenye wrote
wilyum wrote:

N just curious,why pay 40k for rent while u can pay for ur own house at the same amount every month in the upcoming flats and houses along mombasa rd?

Guys get real! A mortgage repayment of 40K at the prevailing rates for new mortgages @25% for 20 years would get you just about Kshs 1.9M. Where would you get a house with that money within even 10Kms of CBD?

The point is not tht he will get mortgage at 40k but if he can afford rent at tht rate then i don't understand why he cant afford a mortgage of which is better than rent cz its a liability n two, rent paid is money going down the drain,bt kama analipia nyumba yake,he is better off placed,ikimlemea,anaweza uza n get a little bck of his money

When the current 25yrs - 45yrs generation retire, itakuwa mzigo mkubwa sana!!! These fellows live hand to mouth! It's not unccommon to see a fellow with a take home of around 100k living in a 50k house - coupled with other expenses to an extent he is always in debt!

I know there is the 15 - 20% wazua types who invest wisely but 80% of fellows in this age bracket will be a burden to society in a couple of years!!!
danny6
#24 Posted : Tuesday, May 22, 2012 1:15:14 PM

Redondo

there is one available at woodley going for 23k a 2 bedroom if interested let me know immediately
Digitali
#25 Posted : Tuesday, May 22, 2012 1:58:09 PM

try Madaraka!
#26 Posted : Tuesday, May 22, 2012 2:44:17 PM

wilyum wrote:
bwenyenye wrote
wilyum wrote:

When the current 25yrs - 45yrs generation retire, itakuwa mzigo mkubwa sana!!! These fellows live hand to mouth! It's not unccommon to see a fellow with a take home of around 100k living in a 50k house - coupled with other expenses to an extent he is always in debt!

I know there is the 15 - 20% wazua types who invest wisely but 80% of fellows in this age bracket will be a burden to society in a couple of years!!!

life expectancy for middle krass is what? 45yrs? in that case, sioni burden Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
redondo
#27 Posted : Tuesday, May 22, 2012 2:54:49 PM

wilyum wrote:
bwenyenye wrote
wilyum wrote:

@ wilyum and maichblack, i appreciate your feedback and advice. But just for the record, let me state that iam currently servicing a mortgage in Ongata rongai. Its a lovely three bedroom bungalow on 1/8 th of an acre. I am fortunate to have a preferential rate(7%) and my monthly mortgage repayment is less than 30k. The trouble is: having lived there for the last 3 years, the amount of time spent on the road is taking a toll on me and my family. How do you justify spending around 4 hrs every day travelling to and from work? Do the math and you will see that i have spent about 5 months in traffic jam over the last 3 years. Its for this reason that i have decided to Let out my Rongai house and move closer to the CBD.
redondo
#28 Posted : Tuesday, May 22, 2012 2:58:24 PM

danny6 wrote:
Redondo

there is one available at woodley going for 23k a 2 bedroom if interested let me know immediately

@ danny6 email your number to veewk@yahoo.com and i will call you up immediately
wilyum
#29 Posted : Tuesday, May 22, 2012 3:28:16 PM

redondo wrote:

wilyum wrote:

bwenyenye wrote

wilyum wrote

@ wilyum and maichblack, i appreciate your feedback and advice. But just for the record, let me state that iam currently servicing a mortgage in Ongata rongai. Its a lovely three bedroom bungalow on 1/8 th of an acre. I am fortunate to have a preferential rate(7%) and my monthly mortgage repayment is less than 30k. The trouble is: having lived there for the last 3 years, the amount of time spent on the road is taking a toll on me and my family. How do you justify spending around 4 hrs every day travelling to and from work? Do the math and you will see that i have spent about 5 months in traffic jam over the last 3 years. Its for this reason that i have decided to Let out my Rongai house and move closer to the CBD.

u welcome my broda bt i could help Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly at tht
danny6
#30 Posted : Tuesday, May 22, 2012 3:44:21 PM

redondo

check your mail.Good luck.
tuvok
#31 Posted : Tuesday, May 22, 2012 3:51:50 PM

This interesting thread has brought up two issues that sometimes are at logger heads: which is more important -> spending more time with family (less time in the jam - imagine 15% - 20% of your life in jam like @redondo) or owning property (that you can afford).

Tricky balance!
#32 Posted : Tuesday, May 22, 2012 3:58:14 PM

redondo wrote:
wilyum wrote:
bwenyenye wrote
wilyum wrote:

@madondo,

Go for it.. wachana na pang'ang'a za wazua.. if u rent out ur house in rongai and use the deficit to offset ur rent karibu CBD ni sawa.. plus the savings ul make from reduced KM na pia hizo mwezi zote kwa jam...

try looking for a main house in south B or C with an SQ. the price might be over 40k rent but u recover abit by renting out the SQ.. adjusting from living in a massionate to living in a flat juu ya hewa sio mchezo..makelele ya pinetrees crashing into airports etc..
#33 Posted : Tuesday, May 22, 2012 4:02:19 PM

@redondo, just a thought; why don't you wait for the completion of the Langata-Bomas dual, then see if you'll be spending less time on the road to Ongata Rongai?
#34 Posted : Tuesday, May 22, 2012 4:06:10 PM

chemos wrote:
redondo wrote:
wilyum wrote:
bwenyenye wrote
wilyum wrote:

@madondo,

Go for it.. wachana na pang'ang'a za wazua.. if u rent out ur house in rongai and use the deficit to offset ur rent karibu CBD ni sawa.. plus the savings ul make from reduced KM na pia hizo mwezi zote kwa jam...

try looking for a main house in south B or C with an SQ. the price might be over 40k rent but u recover abit by renting out the SQ.. adjusting from living in a massionate to living in a flat juu ya hewa sio mchezo..makelele ya pinetrees crashing into airports etc..

#35 Posted : Thursday, April 16, 2015 2:37:50 PM

@Madondo, how are you faring?