wazua Mon, Dec 30, 2024

future of old mutual fund managers
rayee
#1 Posted : Friday, July 25, 2008 11:35:00 AM

GUYS ....PLEASE WHAT IS HAPPENING TO OLD MUTUAL AND ITS TRUE ABOUT THE STAFF AM HEARING.......AV INVESTED OVER KSH...3MILLION IN THE EQUITY FUND....?

financial planinig manager

“To avoid having all your eggs in the wrong basket at the wrong time,every investor should diversify. If you search worldwide,you will find more bargains and better bargains than by studying one nation. You also gain the safety of diversification”
mtaalam
#2 Posted : Friday, July 25, 2008 11:40:00 AM

And what might you be hearing?

The best time to plant a tree is twenty years ago. The second best time is now.
#3 Posted : Friday, July 25, 2008 1:34:00 PM

@rayee... take your money out. Hopefully,you have made some little profit.

Then either manage it for yourself or take it to another fund manager.
mtaalam
#4 Posted : Friday, July 25, 2008 2:02:00 PM

They really pissed me off also. They introduced 'direct debit' and advised us to stop standing orders as they are costly although I had absolutely no probs with standing orders but I didn't mind saving the order cost. Come this month,after 4 months and they tell me after I called them to ask for my statement that my bank refused to accept their direct debit.
They need to find workable solutions!!!

The best time to plant a tree is twenty years ago. The second best time is now.
redice
#5 Posted : Friday, July 25, 2008 2:18:00 PM

I had just started putting money here.... and have run into personal problems and cannot put in the same monthly contribution.. I asked to reduce the amount i am being told that they (Old Mutual) will charge me for that. I asked to pull out completely I was given a charge that made me fall off my seat,the charge was 70% of my contribution so far.

DO NOT GET INTO THESE FUNDS/EQUITIES
IF YOU ARE IN IT.. PULL OUT FAST.
jokes
#6 Posted : Friday, July 25, 2008 2:44:00 PM

get out,get out, get out.

Mzee Kobe Alimushinda Sungura.
kunda
#7 Posted : Friday, July 25, 2008 3:42:00 PM

All the best,experience is the best teacher

kunder
jerry
#8 Posted : Friday, July 25, 2008 5:18:00 PM

Investment clubs or Saccos the answer?

Ecs 11.2 Give portions to seven,yes to eight,for you do not know what disaster may come upon the land.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
GHADDAFI
#9 Posted : Friday, July 25, 2008 5:28:00 PM

The claims that are being sighted are factual truth,.Firstly i would appreciate if this evidence is collected enough and be published in the local media,and if we can get the mandated Govern Body to report on this matter to the public.This Insurance cum investment programs are just blind folds to the mwananchi who is able to research well and get appropriate financial advise,.since they promise lucrative returns to woo your money BUT never give you fine details of the contract.There is another one called the MAVUNO-LINK by C.I.C.,which is the same as the OLD MUTUAL.Its a disgrace to there highly held reputation.kindly leave at the earliest opportunity!!!!!!!!!!

NEVER INVEST IN AN IDEA U CANNOT ILLUSTRATE WITH A CRAYON
tom_boy
#10 Posted : Saturday, July 26, 2008 5:08:00 AM

Get out,out,out. Thiese insurance cum investment things are a rip off. They should be declared illegal. On another note,i find the way insurance is sold in Kenya to be very weird. At the time of paying the first premium,the only information you have concerning the product is the insuarance agents explanations which are by word of mouth. They send you the policy document later ...... it took 3 months for me. 3 months of paying for a policy that you are not quite sure about the fine print.

Is there no other way of doing this. I feel the reason people get duped is because there is no way of getting complete written information on the product before jumping in. I have tried to get written info with UAP,CFC LIFE,CIC and the answer is always the same ..... ' buy the product,wait for the policy document and if you dont like it then you can reject it within 30 days and you get a full refund' this is a load of CRAP!!!!
They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
uwanja
#11 Posted : Saturday, July 26, 2008 6:53:00 AM

am in serious trouble,i got my contract after paying for more than 1 year was told that it was delayed in SA ......... speechless

Be careful to leave your sons well instructed rather than rich,for the hopes of the instructed are better than the wealth of the ignorant.'
• Epictetus (AD 55?-135?)
tmatekwa
#12 Posted : Saturday, July 26, 2008 7:32:00 AM

I have an idea. Let us all send them emails.then maybe they may freak out and review their act.

Osama bin Laden
#13 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 10:10:00 PM