wazua Tue, Feb 4, 2025

The tribal debate
#1 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2012 5:26:39 PM

I found this on the nation page and to me it sounded very interesting:

My father is luo, mother is Luhya, i was born whn my father was a pastor in Ndaragua Nyandarua and he gave me a Kikuyu name, when i turned 18 i picked my ID from makadara and registered my home to be in isinya Ngong since my parents decided to settle there. What is my tribe? Am I a Kikuyu Luo or Luhya? Should names be the basis of jobs or my expertise?

What should happen if this guy is to look for a job in the public service
#2 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2012 7:53:25 PM

I was thinking that tribalism has more to do with mindsets than with names?
#3 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2012 8:36:43 PM

My father is luo, mother is Luhya, i was born whn my father was a pastor in Ndaragua Nyandarua and he gave me a Kikuyu name, when i turned 18 i picked my ID from makadara and registered my home to be in isinya Ngong since my parents decided to settle there. What is my tribe? Am I a Kikuyu Luo or Luhya? Should names be the basis of jobs or my expertise?

Mkate lazima iwe nusu-nusu as far as the katiba you voted for is concerned.
smile Sad

#4 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2012 9:08:52 PM

If this dude is to apply for the Inspector General position his name will be crossed off in no time
#5 Posted : Wednesday, May 16, 2012 8:07:43 AM

Maybe not. Remember the dilemma of married women aspirants? Where to put as their home districts? If he puts his home district consistent with his name, then he will have to relinquish his chance to his more consistent tribesman.
#6 Posted : Wednesday, May 16, 2012 8:16:15 AM

I find that hard to believe, unless you are talking hypothetical...most men would like their sons to have their name...
otienosmall
#7 Posted : Wednesday, May 16, 2012 1:59:08 PM

I find that hard to believe, unless you are talking hypothetical...most men would like their sons to have their name...

Not trueShame on you Shame on you Shame on you ….My neighbour’s son is called Mandela after the mzee of down south, there are Kaundas and many others not necessary named after someone in the family. Some give names after the local pastor or even after that fellow who sells me precious Jeremiah waters
Bettertry
#8 Posted : Wednesday, May 16, 2012 2:48:11 PM

"A rose by any other name still smell's sweet" - WILLIAM SHAKESPEARE. Si semi kitu... huyo mjamaa ashasema yote.
We Will Either Find a Way or Create One - HANNIBAL
#9 Posted : Wednesday, May 16, 2012 6:50:10 PM

I live in South B and there is a Kisii woman who sells veges to me. She has a son called Kibaki, born in 2002 when Baks got the presidency. A neighbor called his son Osama, when the boy was born and named in Pumwani...the midwifes run thru the corridors calling each other to come see Osama