Investor
Stocks
Total Kenya profit falls by 96%
Rank: Chief Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 6,779 Location: Black Africa
cnn wrote:youcan'tstopusnow wrote:cnn, could we term that a peril of operating in multiple markets, or do you think KK could be doing much better on that front regardless? I think they did mention despite fluctuations across the markets ,it is the Kenyan one that hit them really hard,the same one that Total operates in...but i trust the management to know and do better going forward,the competition has shown there is a way. And then this: holycow wrote: The effect of Realised Loss started in the month of December 2011 and spilled over into the subsequent Financial Year, of which effect, can be seen in Statement of Comprehensive income."[/i] The above is an excerpt from KK 2011 annual report pp 4. Saw on Twitter the following. @oleturana#STOCKWATCH #KenolKobil H1 earnings "under pressure” after maturing hedging contracts led to FX losses #JacobSegman via @Bloomberg #STOCKWATCH #KenolKobil "Sales have gone up significantly in Q1, but suffering FX loss on forward contracts" #JacobSegman via @Bloomberg #STOCKWATCH #KenolKobil currency loss rose to KES1.2Bn ($14.5M) in 2011 vs KES573M in 2010 #JacobSegman via @Bloomberg Just hope KK will come out strong. But the journey was never going to be ''smooth all the way''... GOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
dunkang wrote:Aguytrying wrote:I once said that the share prices of KK and TOTAL will switch. It's going to happen. now total at 13.20 would you believe? I also can't believe it! Especially knowing that Total has 23% Kenyan market share (kk definitely has lesser share even NOW!) and kk has almost 8.5 times more floated shares than total (1,471,760,000 compared to 175,060,000)! Seriously, if KK is rightfully worth 12/-, Total should be at least 50 something/-. My friend where have you been. KK overtook TOTAL in market share mid last yr 2011. it stands at around 25% now. The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
Aguytrying wrote:dunkang wrote:Aguytrying wrote:I once said that the share prices of KK and TOTAL will switch. It's going to happen. now total at 13.20 would you believe? I also can't believe it! Especially knowing that Total has 23% Kenyan market share (kk definitely has lesser share even NOW!) and kk has almost 8.5 times more floated shares than total (1,471,760,000 compared to 175,060,000)! Seriously, if KK is rightfully worth 12/-, Total should be at least 50 something/-. My friend where have you been. KK overtook TOTAL in market share mid last yr 2011. it stands at around 25% now. Plus market share doesn't mean jack if you're not churning out the profits. KK is minting billions. GOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:Aguytrying wrote:dunkang wrote:Aguytrying wrote:I once said that the share prices of KK and TOTAL will switch. It's going to happen. now total at 13.20 would you believe? I also can't believe it! Especially knowing that Total has 23% Kenyan market share (kk definitely has lesser share even NOW!) and kk has almost 8.5 times more floated shares than total (1,471,760,000 compared to 175,060,000)! Seriously, if KK is rightfully worth 12/-, Total should be at least 50 something/-. My friend where have you been. KK overtook TOTAL in market share mid last yr 2011. it stands at around 25% now. Plus market share doesn't mean jack if you're not churning out the profits. KK is minting billions. Exactly. And when you are trading on a negative eps, the market has the right to do with you what it wants. @ycant, don't you think it's ironical that whenever KK share starts rallying, theres always some bad news that crops up. The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/2/2011 Posts: 4,818 Location: -1.2107, 36.8831
These Total guys must be jokers. I say Total = [(KQ x Eveready)x (KQ x Eveready)]+[Mumias*Express] Receive with simplicity everything that happens to you.” ― Rashi
dunkang wrote:These Total guys must be jokers.
I say Total = [(KQ x Eveready)x (KQ x Eveready)]+[Mumias*Express] Wait for Total for 2yrs! The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
Aguytrying wrote:youcan'tstopusnow wrote:Aguytrying wrote:dunkang wrote:Aguytrying wrote:I once said that the share prices of KK and TOTAL will switch. It's going to happen. now total at 13.20 would you believe? I also can't believe it! Especially knowing that Total has 23% Kenyan market share (kk definitely has lesser share even NOW!) and kk has almost 8.5 times more floated shares than total (1,471,760,000 compared to 175,060,000)! Seriously, if KK is rightfully worth 12/-, Total should be at least 50 something/-. My friend where have you been. KK overtook TOTAL in market share mid last yr 2011. it stands at around 25% now. Plus market share doesn't mean jack if you're not churning out the profits. KK is minting billions. Exactly. And when you are trading on a negative eps, the market has the right to do with you what it wants. @ycant, don't you think it's ironical that whenever KK share starts rallying, theres always some bad news that crops up. *Sigh* Seems they may have got it terribly wrong on the hedges. I guess it's times like this that you wish KK released quarterly financials. I just hope we'll see some profit growth, however minimal. On the upside though, "Sales have gone up significantly in Q1'' That's gotta be nice to hear GOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
Whats the material announcement on Total any idea?
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,129 Location: Nairobi
Jamani wrote:Whats the material announcement on Total any idea? That they have thrown in the towel... and sold out to KK? Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
VituVingiSana wrote:Jamani wrote:Whats the material announcement on Total any idea? That they have thrown in the towel... and sold out to KK? good one
Jamani wrote:http://www.total.co.ke/os/oskenya.nsf/VS_SWIPSA/13A047025695C83EC12574F4003CC5A6?OpenDocument&UNI=C1256F8E00532BAEC1256F1E005A5915&LG=EN& Its Totals turn for a brush with the law The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
3 shares traded @ 211 bob. How is that possible?
Rank: Member Joined: 7/21/2010 Posts: 249 Location: nairobi
Jamani wrote:Whats the material announcement on Total any idea? http://www.businessdaily...8/-/aqce1m/-/index.html
Total Kenya posts Sh88m Q1 loss, cites high financing costs ..desire to succeed is always fighting with fear of failure..
mkeiyd wrote:3 shares traded @ 211 bob. How is that possible? wacha wewe!!!...... its 3 deals at a total of +112K BIDS 16,200Quantity Price Splits Time 6,100 15.00 1 12:20:14 2,000 14.75 1 12:20:14 3,600 14.60 2 12:20:14 3,000 13.00 1 12:20:14 1,500 12.00 1 12:20:14 ASKS 67,700Quantity Price Splits Time 28,600 16.00 6 12:20:14 1,000 16.50 1 12:20:14 10,000 17.65 1 12:20:14 28,100 32.00 1 12:20:14 - - - - TRADESQuantity Price Time 2,000 15.00 12:20:13 4,000 15.00 12:15:34 1,500 15.00 09:33:50 - - - - - -
Those 3 bob dividends seem eons ago. But the high financing costs will affect KK as well not to mention the hedging issue... GOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:Those 3 bob dividends seem eons ago. But the high financing costs will affect KK as well not to mention the hedging issue... Take-over will have taken place in Keke...
I hope the bad news tsunami on total (TKL) will continue for the rest of the year. At 10/- and below it will get interesting Btw I'm looking forward to other firms reporting their Q1 results esp non-financials. Those funding costs will mostly have shot up by margins above 40%. The liquidity squeeze effect thanks to CBK... $15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Jamani wrote:mkeiyd wrote:3 shares traded @ 211 bob. How is that possible? wacha wewe!!!...... its 3 deals at a total of +112K BIDS 16,200Quantity Price Splits Time 6,100 15.00 1 12:20:14 2,000 14.75 1 12:20:14 3,600 14.60 2 12:20:14 3,000 13.00 1 12:20:14 1,500 12.00 1 12:20:14 ASKS 67,700Quantity Price Splits Time 28,600 16.00 6 12:20:14 1,000 16.50 1 12:20:14 10,000 17.65 1 12:20:14 28,100 32.00 1 12:20:14 - - - - TRADESQuantity Price Time 2,000 15.00 12:20:13 4,000 15.00 12:15:34 1,500 15.00 09:33:50 - - - - - - The damn price of 211 for 3 shares was on rich live, both normal and expert boards. It got my heart jumping.
Investor
Stocks
Total Kenya profit falls by 96%