Market
Pennywise
Iridium spark plugs
There is a very big sign pasted on the engine of my 'prombox' that says that i should only use iridium plugs. Now, I have done servicing 4 times i.e. 20,000km and none of the service stations has been having these iridium plugs and therefore have been using the same plugs that the 'prombox' had when shipped from japan since i fear replacing them with normal plugs.
Where can I get these iridium plugs and how much do they cost? Can I use normal plugs? The engine is a 2000cc Toyota D4 vvti.
jaggernaut wrote:There is a very big sign pasted on the engine of my 'prombox' that says that i should only use iridium plugs. Now, I have done servicing 4 times i.e. 20,000km and none of the service stations has been having these iridium plugs and therefore have been using the same plugs that the 'prombox' had when shipped from japan since i fear replacing them with normal plugs.
Where can I get these iridium plugs and how much do they cost? Can I use normal plugs? The engine is a 2000cc Toyota D4 vvti. have you checked with Toyota Kenya?
jamplu wrote:jaggernaut wrote:There is a very big sign pasted on the engine of my 'prombox' that says that i should only use iridium plugs. Now, I have done servicing 4 times i.e. 20,000km and none of the service stations has been having these iridium plugs and therefore have been using the same plugs that the 'prombox' had when shipped from japan since i fear replacing them with normal plugs.
Where can I get these iridium plugs and how much do they cost? Can I use normal plugs? The engine is a 2000cc Toyota D4 vvti. have you checked with Toyota Kenya? Sasa, sisi watu ya 'prombox' never go to toyota Kenya for spare parts. Any alternatives?
jaggernaut wrote:jamplu wrote:jaggernaut wrote:There is a very big sign pasted on the engine of my 'prombox' that says that i should only use iridium plugs. Now, I have done servicing 4 times i.e. 20,000km and none of the service stations has been having these iridium plugs and therefore have been using the same plugs that the 'prombox' had when shipped from japan since i fear replacing them with normal plugs.
Where can I get these iridium plugs and how much do they cost? Can I use normal plugs? The engine is a 2000cc Toyota D4 vvti. have you checked with Toyota Kenya? Sasa, sisi watu ya 'prombox' never go to toyota Kenya for spare parts. Any alternatives? kwani hio prombox yako sio toyota... anyway try CMS industrial area lakini the only place you are guaranteed to get them ni Toyota Kenya but pesa nayo...
Go to Greenlight Auto along Dar-es-Salaam Road in Industrial Area. I usually get mine there @1800 a plug with a mileage of 20,000km.
Rank: Member Joined: 11/21/2006 Posts: 608 Location: Ruiru
tegadwa wrote:Go to Greenlight Auto along Dar-es-Salaam Road in Industrial Area. I usually get mine there @1800 a plug with a mileage of 20,000km. What @1800 a plug! That's robbery! "..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
GGK wrote:tegadwa wrote:Go to Greenlight Auto along Dar-es-Salaam Road in Industrial Area. I usually get mine there @1800 a plug with a mileage of 20,000km. What @1800 a plug! That's robbery! Genuine parts are really expensive.
Sometime back i could swear by this plugs and would religiously source them from some muhindi who was a player in the performance cars in Nai...until one time i couldn't find him and ended up at CMC (the one opposite the land-rover showroom) only to discover that the price there was HALF what it was in all those 'deal' shops....Dont just assume that the main dealer is more expe... Quote:Buy when there's blood in the streets, even if the blood is your own...
Which YOM is your car? The engines are different 3S-FSE(older) or 1AZ-FSE(newer until 2008). for 3S-FSE - http://www.toyodiy.com/p...A_ST210-AEPGH_1901.html
The plugs to use are: DENSO -> PK20GR8 - cost me about 1250/- each about 2 years ago at Commercial Motor Spares (www.cms.co.ke). Haven't replaced yet. or NGK -> BKR6EPA-8 - not sure how much, but that joint where @iKenya mentions should be an NGK outlet. I prefer the DENSOs For the 1AZ-FSE - http://www.toyodiy.com/p..._AZT240-AEXGH_1901.html
The plugs to use are: DENSO -> SK20BGR11 - not sure of the price but I suspect would be around the figures quoted previously. This would be useful (not just for Toyota): Denso Plugs List (Ex Japan): http://www.denso.co.jp/c...;filename=maker6jpn.csv
- Side note - using the wrong plugs especially on a D4 is *not* a good idea. Genuine parts may be more expensive but you won't need to replace them often.
tuvok wrote:Which YOM is your car? The engines are different 3S-FSE(older) or 1AZ-FSE(newer until 2008). for 3S-FSE - http://www.toyodiy.com/p...A_ST210-AEPGH_1901.html
The plugs to use are: DENSO -> PK20GR8 - cost me about 1250/- each about 2 years ago at Commercial Motor Spares (www.cms.co.ke). Haven't replaced yet. or NGK -> BKR6EPA-8 - not sure how much, but that joint where @iKenya mentions should be an NGK outlet. I prefer the DENSOs For the 1AZ-FSE - http://www.toyodiy.com/p..._AZT240-AEXGH_1901.html
The plugs to use are: DENSO -> SK20BGR11 - not sure of the price but I suspect would be around the figures quoted previously. This would be useful (not just for Toyota): Denso Plugs List (Ex Japan): http://www.denso.co.jp/c...;filename=maker6jpn.csv
- Side note - using the wrong plugs especially on a D4 is *not* a good idea. Genuine parts may be more expensive but you won't need to replace them often. Thanks. The car is a 2003 model with the 1AZ-FSE engine. I contacted CMS and they said they go for 1,800. One other thing, am very surprised after seeing on the Denso Website that their iridium plugs are supposed to run for 30,000miles (50,000km). They also say that newer toyota models come with plugs that run for 120,000miles (200,000km).
GGK wrote:tegadwa wrote:Go to Greenlight Auto along Dar-es-Salaam Road in Industrial Area. I usually get mine there @1800 a plug with a mileage of 20,000km. What @1800 a plug! That's robbery! They are genuine and you would't need to change them for 20,000kms. Depending on your driving, that could be a year of no changing plugs (as opposed to the cheaper plugs which cost 1500 a set and you have to change every 5000km). Genuine parts aren't cheap. But they increase your car's life and performance.
tegadwa wrote:GGK wrote:tegadwa wrote:Go to Greenlight Auto along Dar-es-Salaam Road in Industrial Area. I usually get mine there @1800 a plug with a mileage of 20,000km. What @1800 a plug! That's robbery! They are genuine and you would't need to change them for 20,000kms. Depending on your driving, that could be a year of no changing plugs (as opposed to the cheaper plugs which cost 1500 a set and you have to change every 5000km). Genuine parts aren't cheap. But they increase your car's life and performance. 1800*4 = 7200/= 1500*4 = 6000/= ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
@McReggae ditto. Very few people understands the basics of economy.They have been hoodwinked to think that "genuine" is cheaper in the long run...Na hiyo balance ya 1200 ni kama chupa 10 za phombe at any rocol.... Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
McReggae wrote:tegadwa wrote:GGK wrote:tegadwa wrote:Go to Greenlight Auto along Dar-es-Salaam Road in Industrial Area. I usually get mine there @1800 a plug with a mileage of 20,000km. What @1800 a plug! That's robbery! They are genuine and you would't need to change them for 20,000kms. Depending on your driving, that could be a year of no changing plugs (as opposed to the cheaper plugs which cost 1500 a set and you have to change every 5000km). Genuine parts aren't cheap. But they increase your car's life and performance. 1800*4 = 7200/= 1500*4 = 6000/= 1500 for a set not a piece..
chemos wrote:McReggae wrote:tegadwa wrote:GGK wrote:tegadwa wrote:Go to Greenlight Auto along Dar-es-Salaam Road in Industrial Area. I usually get mine there @1800 a plug with a mileage of 20,000km. What @1800 a plug! That's robbery! They are genuine and you would't need to change them for 20,000kms. Depending on your driving, that could be a year of no changing plugs (as opposed to the cheaper plugs which cost 1500 a set and you have to change every 5000km). Genuine parts aren't cheap. But they increase your car's life and performance. 1800*4 = 7200/= 1500*4 = 6000/= 1500 for a set not a piece.. @chemos you don't underastand my calculation then it seems: Genuine: You spend 7200/= for 20,000 kms 'Fake' that works, you spend 6000/= for 20,000 kms!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
McReggae wrote:chemos wrote:McReggae wrote:tegadwa wrote:GGK wrote:tegadwa wrote:Go to Greenlight Auto along Dar-es-Salaam Road in Industrial Area. I usually get mine there @1800 a plug with a mileage of 20,000km. What @1800 a plug! That's robbery! They are genuine and you would't need to change them for 20,000kms. Depending on your driving, that could be a year of no changing plugs (as opposed to the cheaper plugs which cost 1500 a set and you have to change every 5000km). Genuine parts aren't cheap. But they increase your car's life and performance. 1800*4 = 7200/= 1500*4 = 6000/= 1500 for a set not a piece.. @chemos you don't underastand my calculation then it seems: Genuine: You spend 7200/= for 20,000 kms 'Fake' that works, you spend 6000/= for 20,000 kms!!! Financial training should be made mandatory in our schools and middle level colleges. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
if you use fake parts in your car how much are you really saving in the long run... its amazing how we always think short-term
jamplu wrote:if you use fake parts in your car how much are you really saving in the long run... its amazing how we always think short-term How much fuel in %age do u save by using "original" plugs viz-a-vis "za jamii"? U will be surprised the %age is less than unity.Then u need to drive your car like a decade for you to save like 2K.And this saving is eaten by buying a singo plug at Kes.1800 (jeez, kwani ya rocket???) @McReggae gave us figures to ponder, you too can do better by providing figures here sio mambo na pang'ang'a tu. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Member You have been a member since:: 7/17/2006 Posts: 133
Got service parts @ toyota kenya n the rates have come down mostly by 40%. Probably to carter 4 more clients n salvage from buying counterfeits.e.g
Sparks- 360 bob each Oil filter- approx. 1300
I got mine from Impala (Tom Mboya st.)for 950 each does it mean they r fake that was in Aug 2010 i still use them & they still look good.Does it mean they are fake? LiVE sIMpLE thiNk BiG
Market
Pennywise
Iridium spark plugs